YSL La Laque Carmin D’Or: Christmas in a bottle

You know you’re a beauty junkie when you buy things and forget about them. During the Sephora sale, I kept thinking I should buy something festive from one of the holiday collections, since I didn’t pick anything up from any of them….OH WAIT, YES I DID – the YSL Carmin D’Or polish from the ‘Kiss & Love‘ holiday collection, a gor-ge-ous scarlet with fiery golden shimmer throughout. Oops. I forgot. (I also bought Dior’s insanely beautiful Gris-Or from the ‘State of Gold’ holiday collection, which I ALSO forgot about….eeks. Review to come!) Right. But! Now it’s December, and it’s time to wear all my pretty festive nail polishes! So, we’re starting with this beauty:

YSL Carmin D'Or polish swatchNatural light

YSL Carmin D'Or polish swatch YSL Carmin D'Or polish swatchArtificial light

It’s actually got a significant blue lean that I had a hard time capturing on camera – meaning it’s not a true red at all but more of a pink-red. I didn’t realize that when I swatched it in store, but I kind of like that because it makes it different than your standard golden red polish. The shimmer is incredible, it absolutely GLOWS no matter what light you’re in (although my outdoor pic doesn’t show that). The formula is also wonderful, with a thin-to-medium viscosity to allow easy application – two coats to full opacity, no fuss. This is my second YSL polish and so far I’m very impressed. It hurts to pay $27CAD (although it pleases me that it’s the same price in the US) but the upside to buying less polish overall is that when you do, you don’t feel so bad spending the big $$ on a shade you love. And that squared off bottle? SEX-AY.

I just received the OPI Starlight Collection yesterday so I have a bunch of holiday polish shades coming your way. I may do a countdown with a different shade each day…I’ll try my best! I’m in a major holiday spirit, we put up our lights on the house last night and it looks fab! I’m working on the inside now – we went to Homes for the Holidays here in Halifax on the weekend and looking at all the decorations makes me feel so festive! And also brings out my inner Martha. Check out this wreath I made!:

IMG_2975

Yahooooooo!! Let the holiday season truly begin! 🙂

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by mrsdamn on December 1, 2015 - 5:37 pm

    Your nails just always look so impeccable!
    Looking forward to the OPI swatches as that range is out in store now here in Australia but with no swatches!

    • #2 by Latoya on December 2, 2015 - 8:31 am

      Aw, thank you! I am excited to share the OPI collection, so I’ll get on it!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. #3 by Sarah @ Paths & Errands on December 13, 2015 - 12:35 am

    LOLLLL @ “oh wait yes I did!” Beautiful pick though, and your nail painting skillz are insane. Teach me your ways.

    • #4 by Latoya on December 13, 2015 - 12:24 pm

      Thanks Sarah 😉 It’s called ‘compulsively painting your nails every few days’ lol…you get REAL good then haha

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)