Strengthen nails with new shades of OPI Nail Envy

More polish you say? No problem! I have a constant backlog of OPI polishes to swatch and review, which means I always have more polish comin’ at ya.

OPI Nail Envy polish shades

The original OPI Nail Envy is a translucent, maximum strength nail strengthener & fortifier that you can use on it’s own or as a base coat to help nails grow faster and stronger. The new Nail Envy polish shades are formulated with the same hydrolyzed wheat protein and calcium complex to help nails resist peeling, cracking and splitting, and come in 4 delicate OPI shades – 3 existing favorites (Bubble Bath, Samoan Sand and Hawaiian Orchid) and 1 new Nail Envy exclusive shade (Pink to Envy).

IMG_1251Left to right: Bubble Bath, Samoan Sand, Hawaiian Orchid and Pink to Envy

Bubble Bath is a sheer, feminine pink that makes nails look polished and clean (due to it’s blue-leaning tones). While I like those qualities in a sheer polish, it was somewhat streaky (often a problem with sheers) so you need careful application with this one. Thin coats and a quick hand, plus ample time to dry between coats is a must.

OPI Bubble Bath swatch

Bubble Bath isn’t a terribly unique shade, and I found a few similar polishes to compare it to: Essie Muchi Muchi, which is also streak-prone; OPI Put It In Neutral, which is a touch less pink; and Dior Incognito, which isn’t really very close as it’s opaque and more of a beige-pink.

OPI Nail Envy Bubble Bath comparison swatches OPI Nail Envy Bubble Bath comparison swatchesLeft to right: Essie Muchi Muchi, OPI Bubble Bath, OPI Put It In Neutral, OPI Do You Take Lei Away?

Samoan Sand is a polish that’s been on my radar for years, as I’m a sucker for a good nude and I read somewhere this is a great option for deeper skin tones like mine. Happily, it did not disappoint – this went on easily in two smooth coats, and was quite flattering with my skin tone, though I’d be curious to see if it’s still that way once my summer tan has faded (I prefer my nudes lighter than my skin tone, not matching like mannequin hands). In the swatch below I had been wearing it for several days, so please excuse the tip wear!

OPI Samoan Sand swatch

Being a collector of shades like these, I thought I might have a few dupes in my stash, but I actually didn’t (huzzah!). Dior Sunkissed is more peach, and Tom Ford Toasted Sugar (another fave nude -> which I realize I haven’t shown you guys yet! Shame on me) is darker.

OPI Nail Envy Samoan Sand comparison swatches OPI Nail Envy Samoan Sand comparison swatchesLeft to right: Dior Sunkissed, OPI Samoan Sand, Tom Ford Toasted Sugar

Finally, we have Hawaiian Orchid, a pretty dusty mauve-pink which I normally would never look at. It’s still not entirely my cup of tea, but there’s something about it that I like – could be its smooth, creamy shine! I think this would look great on more fair skin than mine thought – which is why I might try it out again once my tan has faded (for SCIENCE).

OPI Hawaiian Orchid swatch

Naturally, I didn’t have any really similar shades in my collection, but I pulled anything close just for the hell of it (continuity, ya know). RBL Poco a Poco has that same dusty quality, but it’s much more purple; RBL Oh Slap! is much lighter and a bit brighter but is in a similar color family; and Dior Incognito is once again more beige-y than pink.

OPI Nail Envy Hawaiian Orchid comparison swatches OPI Nail Envy Hawaiian Orchid comparison swatchesLeft to Right: RBL Poco a Poco, RBL Oh Slap!, OPI Hawaiian Orchid, Dior Incognito

I didn’t swatch Pink to Envy, because though it’s got that pink tint to it, for all intents and purposes it’s a clear polish – I didn’t even find that it gave my nails a brightening effect like the Dior Nail Glow polish. Not a big deal, just – no reason to add to the massive amount of swatches I need to do these days!

OPI Nail Envy polish shades

Do you use the original Nail Envy? Do you like when polishes have a treatment in them? What are your thoughts on neutral polishes?

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by valentina smoothie on August 6, 2015 - 9:32 am

    Samoah sand looks great I just wish it was a little more on the opaque side with the benefits of the original OPI envy .. Great post .. wasn’t aware this ones were out on the market!

    • #2 by Latoya on August 6, 2015 - 9:34 am

      Yea, I think it’s a good move as they’re all fan favourites but now just amped up a little 😉 And it may not look like it in swatches, but Samoan Sand is actually opaque – I think it just has a touch of a jelly finish (which I love), which may be why it doesn’t look opaque.

      >

  2. #3 by Liz (@Reductionista) on August 8, 2015 - 7:23 pm

    I may have to pick one or two up if they make good base layer for pale polishes! I hate three coater NPs now and all the pretty, delicate, pale shades are of that variety.

    • #4 by Latoya on August 9, 2015 - 6:15 am

      I know! So annoying. I love the lol of a good nude/neutral but I’m hard pressed to ever get away with just two coats, so I often don’t bother.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. #5 by Fanny on September 18, 2015 - 12:07 pm

    I just discovered your blog but already like it 😊! So iM gonna keep on reading i just stopped by to say Hello 👋🏽

    • #6 by Latoya on September 28, 2015 - 10:35 am

      Thank you!! And welcome 🙂 🙂 🙂

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)