Favorite Product of the Month: MAC #138 Brush

For some reason lately, I’m finding it difficult to come up with actual products for my favorites each month, I think because I’ve been buying so much new stuff I haven’t been giving anything a long enough period to become a ‘favorite.’  However, there are items on the peripheral that are actually pretty integral to my ‘beauty’ so to speak (LOL), and this month I’m going to showcase a tool that does a lot – my MAC #138 brush ($62.50CAD).

The #138 is a ‘tapered face brush’ designed to sculpt and shape the planes of the face.  This means contouring, and applying and blending blush, highlighter, or face powder.  It has a domed shape with super-soft, natural fibres.  Due to the cost, this was an investment brush that I wanted to make sure had multiple uses to get the most out of it.  When I went to Jamaica, this was the only face brush I brought, and it did it all.

The main purpose I use this brush for is to apply face powder – I really wanted to be able to dust the powder on specific areas of my face, particularly the contours around my nose, as I prefer a dewier look and didn’t want powder all over.  Lately, now that I’m getting more into contouring, I’ve begun using it’s slightly pointed tip to place powder in the hollow under my cheek – because the bristles are so soft, it gives a subtle application without looking too harsh or noticeable.  I currently don’t have any powder highlighters (huh?  That’s bizarre…probably should rectify that quick-fast), but I can imagine the smaller tip would work well for that too.  And in a pinch, this also works for blush application, though I have a separate blush brush I generally use.

Overall, I’m supremely satisfied with this blush and feel that my $60+ dollars was very well spent.  I’d rather spend more money on a multipurpose brush, than have a huge collection of brushes that may or may not get used all the time.  I think I have almost all the day-to-day brushes I need now (though I’d sure love to get my hands on the NARS Yachiyo brush!!!!)  😉

What’s your absolute favorite brush? 

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Eugenia on April 28, 2012 - 4:12 pm

    Several years ago, I threw out all my “cheap” and sub-par brushes and vowed to only buy the best I could afford, even if that meant waiting to save up for that one special brush — and I’ve never looked back! If there’s one piece of advice I would give to anyone who loves makeup, it’s to NEVER stint on your brushes as that cam make all the difference between a mediocre look and a great one. This brush is one I haven’t invested in yet, although about 2 years ago or so, MAC released a smaller but limited edition version (I believe it’s #135, but it’s hard to tell as the ink has rubbed off somewhat) and I love that one for how versatile it is – it’s amazing for adding powdered highlighter to specific smaller areas of the face, and totally amazing for contouring as its small size helps it apply the powder without going overboard. As to the Yachiyo brush, I picked this one up a few months back and so totally LOVE it! Is this nuts, loving brushes?!

    • #2 by Latoya on April 29, 2012 - 2:45 pm

      Haha, no crazier than anything else we lust over, right? 🙂 I think nice brushes are definitely a must – my mom has some crappy ones that feel like steel wool on my face – yuk! If we’re going to invest in beautiful products, then beautiful brushes are a given, no? I only have a few more to add to the collection and then I think I’m set!
      Sent on the TELUS Mobility network with BlackBerry

  2. #3 by Liz (@Reductionista) on April 28, 2012 - 8:48 pm

    This actually reminds me of that NARS one!

    I wanted to upgrade at least the blush brush since I’m such a blush fiend now, but for time being I think the four I have (plus my fingers :)) will have to do. Glad you found your go-to tool, though! I’ve yet to splurge on a MAC brush but they seem to be well worth it.

    • #4 by Latoya on April 29, 2012 - 3:47 pm

      I don’t know that the MAC brushes are better than any other higher-end brands, but they do have a huge selection, which is appealing. And at a decent price point compared to some lines!

      Definitely we need some good blush tools accompany our ‘healthy’ blush stashes Liz 😛

  3. #5 by Amy on April 29, 2012 - 12:00 am

    Oooh, sounds lovely! Brushes are one product I haven’t yet started splurging on, though I have a feeling that once the cheapo ones I have fall apart, I’ll be looking to something more quality to replace them. This brush looks awesome! Gotta love multi-tasking products.

    • #6 by Latoya on April 29, 2012 - 2:37 pm

      Definitely! Especially things that aren’t too cheap 🙂 I think its a good plan to replace your brushes as they start to get worn out – no need to toss perfectly good brushes, but you’ll sure appreciate nice ones when it comes time Amy! 🙂

  4. #7 by BeautyReflections (@BeautyReflectTS) on April 30, 2012 - 1:25 pm

    I love this brush too!!! It’s one of my faves and I use it every day to contour with.

    • #8 by Latoya on April 30, 2012 - 2:25 pm

      Cool! I wasn’t sure if I should *really* be using it for contour, so that makes me feel better that you are too, Tracy! 😛 It is a lovely brush, isn’t it?

  5. #9 by ayuthianet on December 15, 2015 - 12:42 pm

    I’ve just bought this brush and I am loving it!! One of the best faces brushes I’ve come across in all my makeup years!

  1. Recent Purchases, Part IV: The tools | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

