Girl’s Night: Mani/Pedi Fun!

Being a beauty junkie is ridiculously fun.  Every day we get to revel and delight in every new shade, formulation, and skincare discovery we come across, and some of us even blog about it.  However, as we all know, often a really good thing comes at a cost.  While we frolic and play in the beauty world, we’re also painfully aware that all of these products we amass over time will RARELY be entirely used.  It’s just not possible.  To even conceive of completely using a whole blush, or finishing a bottle of nail polish, is a crazy notion that would only happen in (some of) our dreams.  In my case, thinking about this fact gives me a li’l anxiety, I gotta tell ya.  I deal with it – because OBVIOUSLY I’m gonna buy more stuff! – but sometimes I wish it weren’t so.  Thankfully, my wonderful boyfriend had a terrifically simple idea that only boy brains can come up with.

“Why don’t you start painting all of your friends nails?”

Heck yes!

So, this past Thursday, I brought my shoe box full of nail polish (I haven’t got enough yet to buy a specific storage system for them yet, but there are far too many to display on my dresser top any longer) over to my friends’ place with the announcement that I was going to do manicures on everyone.  The idea was well-received:

OPI DS Extravagance

My cute li’l preggers friend who’s due in less than two weeks!  Might as well have her look as spiffy as possible before the big day 🙂  I showed you this shade before here.

OPI Not Like the Movies

OPI Not Like the Movies

Another friend has beautiful long, strong nails – I don’t know how they don’t break!  And this shade looks MUCH better on her paler skin than mine.

American Apparel Neon Violet

American Apparel Neon Violet

One of my close friends is going as Mrs. PacMan for Halloween, and wanted something that looked kinda 80’s to go with her outfit.  Neon is always a great choice!  I finally managed to photograph this shade more accurately (the first photo) with its more violet tones, rather than hot pink (second photo), which it looked more like when I swatched it previously here.

Chanel Peridot

Chanel Peridot

I wore this out recently and my friend loved it, so she finally got a chance to wear it herself!  I think it looks positively smashing (but of course!  This IS the polish of the season, in my opinion).

Rescue Beauty Lounge Poco a Poco

Rescue Beauty Lounge Poco a Poco

I really love this shade too, and it was nice for me to see how it would look on a different skin tone than mine.  I am very much enjoying how it looks very neutral on her skin but not at all boring – so pretty and feminine!  She paired it with Zoya’s Neeka on her toes and I think that was a great color combo!

This li’l experiment was super fun for me, for two reasons: 1) I was able to use up a little more polish than I would have before – making this a somewhat regular occurrence will be an infinite help in reducing my stash over time; and 2) I love all things beauty!  Any chance I get to incorporate cosmetics in any capacity into my life is a great day to me 🙂

Now I’m off to get ready for some Halloween shenanigans!!!  And I will be posting a bunch of fun Halloween stuff in the next couple of days that I hope you enjoy 🙂  ‘Till then – have a great weekend!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on October 30, 2011 - 10:38 am

    This is a great idea! I’ve often thought of doing such a thing but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Love all the pics and colours everyone/you chose. 🙂

    • #2 by Latoya on October 30, 2011 - 9:26 pm

      The ladies all chose their own shades – they did a great job, didn’t they!? It was a lot of fun, part of the reason I paint my nails so much is I really like the actual task of doing it, so it was partially selfish (but benefited others too – the best kind of selfish :P).

  2. #3 by Eugenia on October 30, 2011 - 5:30 pm

    What a great idea, Toya! But you know what? I think you did an absolutely killer job on everyone’s nails…seriously! Have you considered perhaps doing THAT for a living? With your precision application plus your great eye for colour, you could be sitting on a goldmine here! I’m just sayin’!!!

    • #4 by Latoya on October 30, 2011 - 9:28 pm

      Thank you, Eugenia!! That’s so kind of you to say! 🙂 I really loved doing it, I could definitely see myself doing this as a side job, it’s right up my alley! Playing with cosmetics and making people feel pretty is one of my favorite things. So fun!!

  3. #5 by Mama on October 30, 2011 - 9:19 pm

    OK Little Rosie

    This is your Mama……….Is this a full Pedi Mani you are offering?? Hee hee Because if it is sign me up!!!!!! Not sure if I can handle the neon green but the leg and foot massage are callin’ my name (: See you at bookclub on Thursday night. Keep up the great posts…not only are they entertaining but keeps me posted on what you are up to!!!!! Love ya darlin!

    Mama
    xoxo

    • #6 by Latoya on October 30, 2011 - 9:29 pm

      LOL This reminds me of when you first got Facebook and would write on your own wall LMAO! Silly Mama.

      I actually told the girls when I was doing their nails that you’d be coming after me to do yours too once you found out 😛 How right I was! I will certainly hook you up, you know I’d do it any time you’d like! xoxo

  4. #7 by Terra on October 31, 2011 - 11:45 am

    I had so much fun that night! Thanks for doing my toes for me since I can’t reach anymore! lol They look fabulous!

    • #8 by Latoya on November 1, 2011 - 10:11 pm

      I’m so glad you had fun and like it Terra! I’m available anytime 🙂

  5. #9 by Margaret on October 31, 2011 - 8:37 pm

    I love Neon!! And my mani’s still going strong (other than a thumb I ruined, oops!). Thanks again, so fun! 🙂

    • #10 by Latoya on November 1, 2011 - 10:13 pm

      No problemo, my dear! I had lots of fun and am game to do it any time 🙂

  6. #11 by kat on November 4, 2011 - 3:36 am

    Those American Apparel polishes look great! Love how bright they are! 🙂

    • #12 by Latoya on November 4, 2011 - 11:16 pm

      Oh, Neon Violet is SO fun Kat, and not so neon that it’s aggressive or too in-your-face. And reasonably priced, too!

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)