Arbonne Mascara? It’s a Long Story

…Well, not really. But that’s the name of the Vanity Fair-approved mascara from the brand: It’s a Long Story! Kinda cute, eh? Last month I was sent a sample to try out, and I was eager to see how it would perform. Like many people, I’m fussy with my mascaras, and am always on the look-out for the best of the best.

Arbonne It's a Long Story mascara

Arbonne’s It’s a Long Story mascara ($40CAD) boasts a flexible, uniform bristle brush, designed to create perfect lash definition with a high-gloss look. The vegan formula contains polypeptides to promote the appearance of longer lashes, bamboo and pea (?) extracts,  and pro-vitamins B5, C and E to nurture the lashes.

Arbonne It's a Long Story mascara

Initially I was a bit let-down by the mascara, as I was expecting super-long lashes for some reason – but after using it a few times, my opinion changed. For starters, it really does separate and define the lashes beautifully. Though I tend to prefer full, voluminous lashes, I find that defined lashes during the day is appropriate and quite pretty. Additionally, the formula is exceptionally buildable – I can apply several coats without it becoming clumpy, crunchy or flaky. Combing through each coat is a breeze. In my experience, there are few mascaras that will allow this, so I was quite impressed.

Arbonne It's a Long Story mascara (one coat)One coat

Arbonne It's a Long Story mascara (two coats)Two coats

Ingredients: Aqua, Iron Oxides, Glyceryl Stearate, Glycerin, C18-36 Acid Triglyceride, Synthetic Beeswax, Cera Carnauba, Stearic Acid, Silica, VP/VA Copolymer, Acacia Senegal Gum, Butylene Glycol, Polyglyceryl-10 Diisostearate, PEG-40 Hydrogentated Castor Oil, Pisum Sativum (Pea) Extract, Bambusa Vulgaris (Bamboo) Leaf/Stem Extract, Xanthan Gum, Caprylyl Glycol, Glyceryl Caprylate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Panthenol (Vitamin B5), Ethylhexylglycerin, PPG-26-Buteth-26, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17 (Polypeptide), Biotinoyl Tripeptide-1 (Polypeptide), Oleanolic Acid, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Apigenin, Aminomethyl Propanol, Phenethyl Alcohol, Glucosamine HCI.

I’m glad I gave this mascara another shot, because it really is quite good for daytime looks. I find myself reaching for it most days because it just seems to do the job well. I will say I find the $40 price tag quite high, but as Arbonne is a more ‘natural’ brand, I’m not entirely surprised. But otherwise, this is a lovely mascara that is well worth a look!

Do you prefer length, volume, or definition when it comes to mascara? What is your mascara price cap?

*Product was provided by the PR company/brand for my unbiased consideration.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Larie on April 28, 2014 - 1:32 pm

    $40 for mascara? Holy moly. I’m good with Clinique right now, but I do have to say – your lashes are killer, Toya!

    • #2 by Latoya on April 28, 2014 - 7:08 pm

      I know, when I read the price I was in sticker-shock. I think only Guerlain is more expensive! And THANK YOU for the compliment, Larie! 🙂

  2. #3 by Leticia (@CosmAficionado) on April 28, 2014 - 4:44 pm

    Your lashes look great, but the price yikes!

    • #4 by Latoya on April 28, 2014 - 7:07 pm

      Yea, I know, it’s pretty steep eh?? More than YSL, etc etc!

  3. #5 by Tracy@Beauty Reflections on April 29, 2014 - 1:15 pm

    I wasn’t keen on this one until a few weeks in myself. Now I really like it! But that price KILLS me, which is why I haven’t reviewed it yet. There’s no way it’s worth that much.

    • #6 by Latoya on May 3, 2014 - 5:55 pm

      It’s ridiculous, it’s true. It’s not Guerlain! (Which incidentally I would also never splurge for). But I’m have to have it, nonetheless 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Apr 29, 2014, at 2:15 PM, Beauty Obsessed wrote:

      WordPress.com

  4. #7 by Amy on April 29, 2014 - 1:54 pm

    I love how this looks––I gravitate towards a more natural look, and this is so pretty––but the price! Eegads, man.

    • #8 by Latoya on May 5, 2014 - 7:07 am

      Ah, I know – so prohibitive. It’s a shame really 😦

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Apr 29, 2014, at 2:54 PM, Beauty Obsessed wrote:

      WordPress.com

  5. #9 by Liz (@Reductionista) on April 29, 2014 - 5:26 pm

    Bazing! Love how it looks with two coats. This probably isn’t at all for me, and especially not at $40. But for anyone looking for a natural brand and decent payoff, it’s nice that the option exists!

    • #10 by Latoya on May 5, 2014 - 7:01 am

      Yea, for sure. From what I can tell, a lot of natural mascaras are really natural LOOKING too, which isn’t my thing. This isn’t too crazy, but at least you can build it up for more effect 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Apr 29, 2014, at 6:26 PM, Beauty Obsessed wrote:

      WordPress.com

  6. #11 by Maggie (@MaggiesMakeup) on May 1, 2014 - 10:45 am

    I want to try some Arbonne, but the couple of people I know who are reps are So. Damn. Pushy. It completely turns me off the brand. :/

    • #12 by Latoya on May 5, 2014 - 6:59 am

      Ugh yea, I’ve had that experience a few times as well. It’s like a cult! It’s really a shame, because the few products I’ve tried have been pretty good…

      Sent from my iPhone

      On May 1, 2014, at 11:45 AM, Beauty Obsessed wrote:

      WordPress.com

  7. #13 by Denise on May 12, 2014 - 10:17 pm

    I prefer INTENSE VOLUME in my mascara, which is why I love MAC’s Haute & Naughty. Dior’s DiorShow Blackout comes in second for me. I have really long eyelashes but they are super thin, so I am forever on the lookout for mascaras with a lot of volume with just the right amount of clumping…

    That having been said, your lashes do look phenomenal here. I think it works really well if you’re doing a minimal make-up look! But I agree, $40 is realllllly steep for a mascara. A YSL mascara is probably the biggest splurge I’d make in the mascara world, and it’s $36. 😛

    • #14 by Latoya on June 1, 2014 - 1:07 pm

      Exactly! It’s a bit OTT in price. I do prefer a fairly good impact from a mascara, but I think my challenge is the opposite of yours – I need more length.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On May 12, 2014, at 11:17 PM, Beauty Obsessed wrote:

      WordPress.com

  8. #15 by Nicole O. on May 22, 2014 - 4:01 am

    i’m picky with mascara since i have long , stubbornly straight lashes .

    it’s hard to find a mascara with a formula that’s not too wet , if that makes sense , because if it’s too wet , it weighs my lashes down .

    mufe’s aqua smoky lash is still my holy grail & i’ve yet to find a more affordable version of it .

    this arbonne mascara looks great , but the price deters me .

    • #16 by Latoya on May 28, 2014 - 7:05 am

      Completely understandable! I know just what you mean about wet mascaras too, I don’t want ’em dry but I don’t want them too wet either. Tricky business! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      On May 22, 2014, at 5:02 AM, Beauty Obsessed wrote:

      WordPress.com

  9. #17 by Malin on November 24, 2015 - 3:16 pm

    I love Arbonne products and it’s a shame any of you guys are put off by price or pushy “reps”!!! I’m a consultant and a good one should only help and advice you on the products and show you how you can purchase the products you want with or without a discount!

  1. Makeup Roundup: Purchases in 2014 | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)