Illamasqua’s Unrequited Powder Blusher – I *Might* Never Buy Another Blush

A disclaimer before I begin: the absolute awesomeness of what I’m about to show you is no longer available for purchase. *ducks hurtling objects* I know, I know!!!  I normally don’t like to do this, especially when I’m well-aware that the product has been discontinued.  However, I really can’t hold back on my excitement and I just really want to share with you, is that ok??  Please don’t hold it against me!!!

Alright.  So, once upon a time, about a year ago, there was a girl who owned 8 blush (give or take a few).  She really had no interest in accruing any more; blush was kind of a ‘must’ due to no natural flush of her own, but nothing that really sparked her interest.  Then, she began seeing swatch upon swatch of HG blushes: shimmery, matte, warm, cool, highlighting, contouring – and suddenly she became intrigued.  The word ‘blush fiend’ was thrown around a lot, and somehow a phrase that was supposed to imply something negative, started to sound kind of…fabulous.  Time passed, and suddenly the girl woke up to find herself with 3 times the blush she had before, and a MAJOR hankering for many more.  It seemed that none could satisfy her lust completely (though she managed to snag a TON of pretties along the way).

Until.

Illamasqua Unrequited

One day, said girl came across a blush that at first, seemed to be just like any other.  But, being the blush fiend that she had proudly become, she nevertheless forged ahead and tried it on…..and just like that, she fell hard for THE ONE.

(Ok guys, I can’t write in third person any more, it’s too hard on my head – and to top it off, I’m watching episodes of the discontinued ‘Lipstick Jungle’ series and drinking wine.  So yea.)

Unrequited is my fourth Illamasqua powder blusher – I also own Tweak, Hussy, and Lover – and while all of those shades bring joy to my blush loving heart, they do not blow my mind like Unrequited.

Natural light

Flash

Sunlight

The shade of this blush is utter perfection on my skintone – like my ultimate natural flush.  It’s soft and demure without being too subtle, and the pink tones compliment my skin – and pretty much any makeup look – in the best way possible.

Artifical light

Sunlight

I just can’t get enough of this shade, I want to wear it every day (and have been)!!  It is more powdery than my other Illamasqua blushes, and kicks up a fair bit, but it doesn’t look powdery on the face, and this one small drawback does NOT decrease how much I love this shade even one iota.  I suspect that the lighter the color, the more ‘fluffy’ it will be – a similar shade I own (though not as lovely), theBalm Down Boy, has similar issues.

Speaking of Down Boy, here is a comparison, along with Illamasqua’s Hussy:

Left to right: theBalm Down Boy, Illamasqua Unrequited, Illamasqua Hussy (natural light)

Left to right: theBalm Down Boy, Illamasqua Unrequited, Illamasqua Hussy (flash)

Left to right: theBalm Down Boy, Illamasqua Unrequited, Illamasqua Hussy (sunlight)

You can see that Unrequited has a touch of warmth and is a bit deeper than Down Boy, which makes all the difference – truly, this is the ultimate pink blush.  I’m always surprized by shades like these, because they look so light on my skin in swatches, but then turn out beautifully on the skin.

If you own Unrequited – good for you!  May you use it in good health for the rest of your days (I know I will be)!  If you don’t….truly, I’m  sorry to rave about this, but it literally *just* was discontinued, and I just can’t get past how much I love it to NOT show it to you!  My advice is to find it somewhere, somehow – on eBay, or Makeup Alley – or possibly better yet, find a dupe!  And if you do, please let me know, as I’d love to put a note about the shade on this post, I’d feel so much better about my total awfulness.

Do you own Unrequited (please say yes!)?  What is your ultimate shade of blush for your skin?

*Product was provided by the Brand’s PR for my unbiased consideration.

, , ,

  1. #1 by judit1661 on July 18, 2012 - 6:56 pm

    so pretty, I see why you wear it everyday. You can send me your other Illamasqua blushes if you need to find them a loving home. Ha!
    Xoxo
    — Judi

    • #2 by Latoya on July 30, 2012 - 12:41 pm

      LOL!!! Ok, I’ll be sure to do so, Judi 😉 Glad you like it!!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. #3 by projectswatch on July 18, 2012 - 6:57 pm

    Hmm, looks like my comment didn’t post? If it did, sorry about the double.

    Anyway, great post! The swatch looks a bit too pink and too light to work on me – and like it’s a bit light to work on you – but then applied, it looks just lovely on you, I can see why you love it!

    • #4 by Latoya on August 7, 2012 - 6:08 pm

      Ahh it’s soo good, Emi! I’m finally learning that shades that ~look~ too light aren’t necessarily so! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. #5 by Tara on July 18, 2012 - 7:27 pm

    oh wow. I am on a mission!

    • #6 by Latoya on July 30, 2012 - 12:42 pm

      Haha go Tara! I truly hope you succeed, the effort will be so worth it, I PROMISE!! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. #7 by BeautyReflections (@BeautyReflectTS) on July 18, 2012 - 9:13 pm

    Your perfect blush for sure Latoya! It’s gorgeously perfect for you!

    • #8 by Latoya on July 30, 2012 - 12:44 pm

      Aw, thank you Tracy! I wish you all could see it in person, it looks barely noticeable here, but in real-life – gah!!! It’s fantastic!

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. #9 by Eugenia on July 18, 2012 - 9:46 pm

    You’re so right; this really does look so pretty on you! I have a very similar shade from NARS – ‘Gaiety’, and while in general cool-toned pinks like this don’t suit me at all, that one does because of it’s incredibly fine “melt-into-your-skin” texture. Glad you found your “one” ! I’m too fickle to settle…for now!

    • #10 by Latoya on August 7, 2012 - 6:12 pm

      Haha, well you know I won’t be put off forever Eugenia! 🙂 But for the time being I’m quite pleased! I’ve never tried Gaiety, but you’re making me think I should!

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. #11 by Maggie (@MaggiesMakeup) on July 18, 2012 - 10:42 pm

    Very pretty! Oh Illamasqua. Why do you hate Canada? Why will you not let Sephora share you with us?

    And dude, you should never shy away from showing something that is no longer available. The way I see it, your “job” as a beauty blogger isn’t just to swatch things so people can decide whether to buy them or not – it’s to share your passion within a like-minded community of beauty lovers.

    • #12 by Latoya on August 7, 2012 - 6:15 pm

      Aw, THANK YOU Maggie, that was exactly why I posted it, because I love makeup and beauty and was so darn excited I couldn’t hold back 🙂 You totally get it! (hence why you have a girl-cave I’m dying to see!).

      And agreed about Illamasqua coming to Canada, it’s frickin’ time already!

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. #13 by Liz (@Reductionista) on July 18, 2012 - 11:33 pm

    I was prepared to hate you if I fell in love with this blush but luckily I don’t hate you nor feel a lemming despite its beauty! Just happy that you found THE ONE. 😀 Can you please tell Illamasqua to hurry up and get their full range into Canada? WE ARE IMPATIENT!!! lol

    • #14 by Latoya on August 7, 2012 - 6:21 pm

      Frig, I know!!! I did mention it to the PR rep and they agreed it needs to happen. It’s ridiculous!! We love Illamasqua here! Dang.

      I’m glad you don’t hate me for posting this, and I’m alright with not giving you a lemming to add to the list – but I’m concerned that I didn’t showcase it properly if these things are the case lol!

      Sent from my iPhone

  8. #15 by makeupmorsels on July 19, 2012 - 12:08 am

    You gorgeous girl, you! This shade is perfect on you, which surprised me because it looks so different in your arm swatch. Unrequited, good name hahah 😛

    So, Lipstick Jungle. Worth watching?

    • #16 by Latoya on August 7, 2012 - 6:26 pm

      Well you know, as I was watching it (only 2 seasons, easy-peasy!), I thought it was kinda lame, but when I finished it, I was bummed it was over! LOL So, not too bad – and there’s one mighty fine dude who I enjoyed looking at immensely 😉

      This blush – tricksy in the swatch, yeah? But lovely on! I’m learning never to judge a shade too quickly, you just never know!

      Sent from my iPhone

  9. #17 by callitbeautyblog on July 19, 2012 - 12:36 am

    Such a pretty shade! I can’t believe I *still* don’t have ANYTHING from Illamasqua! What is wrong with me? O_o

    • #18 by Latoya on August 1, 2012 - 3:48 pm

      Whaaaaat?? Well actually…I forgive you, I only picked up things when they had promos, shipping isn’t cheap nor are the products 😛 But you should definitely check out the line soon Dani, it’s wonderful! I haven’t tried a disappointing product yet.

      Sent from my iPhone

  10. #19 by Becca @ The Beauty Sample on July 19, 2012 - 3:47 am

    Is it okay if I say I hate you?….just a little bit?!?

    All kidding aside, this is a GORGEOUS looking pink and it really looks so subtle on you yet really pops against your skin tone. You chose a good blush to make you “HG”, though don’t come crying to any one of us when you run out!! 😛

    • #20 by Latoya on July 31, 2012 - 3:51 pm

      Haha, fair enough, Becca 🙂 I’m excited to see what this will look like once my tan fades – I suspect even better! It’s totally gorg, but from looking at swatches it seems close to Chanel’s Rose Initiale, which has SHIMMER, so you clearly win, my dear 😀

      Sent from my iPhone

  11. #21 by Larie on July 19, 2012 - 1:36 pm

    So pretty! That’s a gorgeous HG 😉 I can’t wear Illamasqua’s powder blushes but their cream blushes are fine, which is weird to me. But I do like their cream blushes! I need to pick up another one. I don’t know if I have a go-to color…hm.

  12. #22 by Denise on July 19, 2012 - 10:03 pm

    OH GOD IT IS SO PRETTY!!! I only have three Illamasqua blushes, so I think I need more in my life… Of course, now that this is unavailable, do you know any good dupes?!?!

    My favourite blush right now is TheBalm’s Hot Mama. 🙂 There are so many peachy pink blushes out there, but this one has the best texture… Of course, my favourites change about once a week. 😛

    • #23 by Latoya on July 28, 2012 - 11:45 pm

      Haha I know what you’re saying Denise!! Hot Mama is lovely, on my skin it’s pretty subdued but fab nonetheless. You know, I think Chanel’s new Rose Initiale is VERY close to Unrequited, except with a golden shimmer. However, I don’t have it to compare – just an observation! If I discover any other dupes, I’ll be sure to share – it IS so pretty!! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  13. #24 by My Lucite Dreams on July 22, 2012 - 9:35 pm

    I was actually swatching these today at Sephora.. I was naughty.. It looks gorgeous on your lovely face :-). I hope you don’t let the Rouge Bunny fall wayside, I did adore it as well.
    xx

    • #25 by Latoya on July 25, 2012 - 12:09 pm

      Oh no, Florita will never be forgotten! I think I’m going to get serious use out of it once Fall arrives 🙂 I need to slow down on my blush accumulation though, to make sure I give them all the love they deserve!

      Sent from my iPhone

  14. #26 by Amy on July 28, 2012 - 11:42 pm

    Alright, this is gorgeous. Why did they discontinue it?!?! On the upside, I guess that will keep me from buying it…though now I shall have to search for a dupe! Really lovely, and I’m glad you were able to get it before it went away!

    • #27 by Latoya on July 30, 2012 - 6:32 am

      Me too, Amy! It’s so great! If I were smarter I would have searched for dupes before showing this, oops! I hope you find one – and if you do, please let me know ok!? Good luck 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  15. #28 by Hachi on November 28, 2012 - 9:56 pm

    Good news, Unrequited seems to be back in stock on Illamasqua’s website! Thank goodness they brought it back, because I really like that colour!

    • #29 by Latoya on December 16, 2012 - 10:04 pm

      That IS good news, thanks for the heads up – its probably in my top 3 fave blushes! So pretty 🙂

  1. The Colours of Love: Pinks & Reds | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)