Review: Laura Mercier Full-Blown Volume Mascara

I can remember a time not too long ago, that I wasn’t too fussed with mascaras – I wanted to find one that gave me what I need, which is volume and length, but I really wasn’t too concerned about ‘the hunt.’ Well, like a lot of other things that have changed since starting this blog (like the number of nail polish I have…or the new-found obsession with blush), my approach to mascara has altered over time, and I feel like I’m going through a new one on a regular basis, and still not feeling satisfied. The only mascaras that I ever use that I like are Clinique’s (I’ve mentioned this before), but I think part of that is due to the fact that I have low expectations for a brand which prides itself on natural beauty. While I’m all for looking like a version of your best self, when it comes to mascara, I want big and bold – but not flaky or clumpy. As many can attest, this is often a tall order, and the search for ‘the one’ can go on for pretty much a lifetime!Today I bring you another one of my mascara experiments: Laura Mercier’s Full-Blown Volume Mascara in Black ($30CAD).  I had read some good reviews about the product, and since volume is what I’m gunning for, I thought this just might be the ticket. The brush is on the small side, with the typical spiral-type bristles which are sort of short for a mascara that’s supposed to be volumizing.  The color is not an inky black but leans a bit charcoal – though you can’t really tell on my very dark lashes.  The formula is not so wet that it goes on too thinly, but not so dry that it’s hard to use – application is fairly good with minimal clumping.The problem with Full-Blown Volume is that, while it might make the lashes fluffy, and therefore look volumized, it takes multiple coats to build up any kind of length.  Because the formula is wet enough that it doesn’t dry too quickly, and the brush bristles are short, adding multiple coats actually is quite painless, but more of an irritation to have to do at all (I do about three coats per eye).  Even then, my lashes are a fraction of the length than when I use other mascaras (eg. Clinique’s High Lengths).  To me, this mascara offers some volume but overall is more of a day mascara, with very little drama to speak of.If you’re a timid wearer of mascara and are looking to bump up for va-va-voom, this is probably an excellent option – it brush is easy to wield and you’ll get an extra oomph without going over the top (or even coming near it).  If you’re looking for notice-me-lashes, I suggest you keep looking, as Laura Mercier’s Full-Blown Volume really won’t have what you’re looking for.

Have you tried Laura Mercier’s Full-Blown Volume Mascara?  What are you looking for when  you’re in the market for a new mascara??

, , , ,

  1. #1 by BeautyReflections (@BeautyReflectTS) on April 23, 2012 - 9:10 pm

    See, for me this is one of my favourites! I love the wet formula and I can build it up to get loads of volume and length. I’d go as far to say it’s my HG. It’s funny how mascaras can work so differently on everyone-really amazes me.

    • #2 by Latoya on April 24, 2012 - 8:42 am

      I find it endlessly interesting too, Tracy – mascara is very particular for each individual. Its the trickiest thing to take recommendations of (though I still do b/c you guys are the experts!). So, I guess I’ll have to experiment a bit more with this one to see if maybe I’m not letting it reach its max potential!! 🙂

  2. #3 by makeupmorsels on April 23, 2012 - 11:04 pm

    The mascara hunt! It can really drive you insane if you’re not careful o.O I’ve never had much luck with Clinique mascaras as they tend to smudge like crazy on me. Everything smudges one me though. The LM mascara makes your eyelashes look really nice (although I get the feeling your lashes look amazing to begin with), although I agree that three coats…not worth it for that effect. If you’re willing to spend that amount of money, my favorite is the djv Beautenizer Volume Lash mascara which you can get at Sephora.

    • #4 by Latoya on April 24, 2012 - 8:19 am

      Yes, I remember you mentioing this mascara before MM! Except you totally jaded me when you also said you can get it for a fraction of the price in Asia LOL! Still, I may give it a look – I love getting recommendations and my ‘to try’ list just keeps getting bigger! 😛

      I liked the way the LM mascara looked – absolutely no clumps – but it was more like my lashes but better, and not ‘WOW!’ Which is what I’m going for. I’ll find my HG yet!

  3. #5 by Barb on April 24, 2012 - 7:28 am

    I recently took the plunge to a Sephora mascara and am loving it… it’s new and called Outrageous Volume Mascara ITEM # 1357813 (and bonus!! it’s $18.00)

    A lot of product comes out on the brush aka to quote them “Use the brush’s reservoirs to intensify lashes from root to tip, separate lashes with the “spiked” areas, or achieve a curved effect by pressing the brush lightly against the tips of the upper lashes.”

    Every time I wear it I get compliments and inquiries on it. For the price… worth a try especially if you’re looking for a creamy volumizing formula! Truly as you say “notice me lashes”!!

    • #6 by Latoya on April 24, 2012 - 8:03 am

      Oh, THANK YOU Barb for the recommendation!! I’ve seen a bit of promo for this mascara but didn’t give it much thought. I’ll be looking at this for sure now! And its always great to hear that you’re even getting compliments on it too. Thanks a ton my dear!! 🙂

  4. #7 by Larie on April 24, 2012 - 11:42 am

    All mascaras smudge on me, too, or have parabens. *shakes fist* I used to love Clinique’s High Impact; that still smudged, but not as drastically as the ones I’ve tried recently. Tarte’s Lights, Camera Lashes was one of my more recent favorites, but I don’t wear mascara often enough to be a true judge. I was also thinking of trying the new Sephora Volume one – it looks good and has gotten good reviews. Do you still have the box for the LM one, Toya? I wanted to know if it was paraben-free. The volume is impressive! I’m a volume girl, too; not so much concerned about length, although I do like a curl here and there, haha. I’ve recently been looking into mascara a bit more, and the next ones on the list are the Sephora Volume one, Estee Lauder’s (I think it’s Sumptuous something?) and the NARS Volume one. Have you tried any of those?

    • #8 by Latoya on April 24, 2012 - 11:52 am

      I still have the box Larie so I’ll check it when I’m home tonight and see if there are any parabens! As for the ones you suggested, I’ve just picked up a sample of the Lauder Sumptuous, as I was going to try that next. It reminds me a lot of Clinique’s Lash Doubling – similar brush and gives good volume, though not as much length as I’d like.

      If you’re talking about the Sephora Outrageous Volume, I haven’t tried but it sounds like I should! And the NARS Larger Than Life one that has also been on my radar! Sounds like we have similar tastes, Larie! We’ll have to update one another if any blow our socks off 🙂
      Sent on the TELUS Mobility network with BlackBerry

  5. #9 by Eugenia on April 25, 2012 - 12:35 pm

    The hunt for the perfect mascara can so quickly becoming a consuming obsession, lol! While I’ve tried several over the years (decades), I’ve rarely stayed loyal to any one brand for too long; for a while, Dior’s Diorshow was my HG, then it was Givenchy’s latest (totally love how precise the little ball-head is), and lately I’ve been loving my Armani Eyes to Kill Excess, but I am ALWAYS on the lookout for something even better. I also look for volume (if length is thrown in, that’s a bonus) and while I believe in the LM brand, I’ve had varying success with some of their products – all of which makes me hesitant to try this, especially since I didn’t see any va-va-voom-iness happening here, lol! Thanks so much for this fab review, Toya!

    • #10 by Latoya on April 25, 2012 - 3:38 pm

      That’s the perfect way to describe this Eugenia, no va-va-voominess!! lol. Good, but not great. Likely I’m going to have to buy two separate products – one that gives major volume and one for length; I suspect my dream mascara is just that, a dream! Oh well. The hunt is still kinda fun, right!?

  1. Beauty Obsessed
  2. Kevyn Aucoin: A ‘Making Faces’ FOTD Tribute « Beauty Obsessed
  3. Summer Looks, 3 Ways: Cheeks, Lips or Eyes « Beauty Obsessed
  4. Beauty Low-Buy Update: Month Seven (You’ll Never Believe What I Finished… x 2!!!) « Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)