Finish Five: Fall Edition

So predictable. After all that hauling I did in spring  as evidenced in my purchase posts (see Parts I, II, III, IV, and V), of course I started to feel like I need to do a little purging to balance things out. I’ve been on a slow purge of products for quite a while now, and I set myself back a little by going a bit crazy after Elena was born. Thankfully I got a handle on it fairly quickly before I did too much damage! If you follow me on Instagram, you’d have seen several rounds of decluttering which helped restore the balance – however, there are still products that are ‘weighing me down’ so to speak, but I feel a compulsion to finish these rather than give or throw them away.

IMG_2682

I’m going to go into more detail regarding my decluttering/streamlining journey in a future post, but I wanted to get the ball rolling on this new series now (as I actually began the post idea back in the summer, oops). Every season I’m going to choose 5 products to dedicate time to using up – these are products that are either near completion / well on their way to becoming so, or have been in my collection for awhile and are probably coming very close to be being unusable (either from being dried up or well past expiry, etc.).

This month, I’m expanding on a few products I’ve been diligently working at using, as well as adding in a few seasonally appropriate shades that need to get more love before I send them to makeup heaven.

IMG_2680

Too Faced Sun Bunny Natural Bronzer – DUUUUUUDES, I’ve been working on this one since Elena was born, especially since the end of spring, and I just wanna hit pan already!!! Gah. At least, it’s kind of a great bronzer – maybe just a touch warmer than I’d like (things easily go orange on my skin though), but it gives an amazing bronzed glow to the skin that is truly a glow, not shimmer. It hasn’t been a real hardship wearing this every day, by any means.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Suspect (depotted) – When I first bought the UD Book of Shadows III palette way back when, this shade got major love – but after a while I forgot about it (all the new shiny pretty things!), which is a shame because it’s a great subtle taupe shadow on me, and taupes and I don’t always get along. I’ve been wearing this a lot lately and I’m having a renewed love for this pretty, wearable shade!

Clinique Airbrushed Concealer in 03 Medium – I got this in a gratis order ages and ages ago, and I do use this with some frequency, but its like the never-ending product! I like it a lot for minimal makeup days for a quick hit of brightening and concealing under the eye, so I’m not rushing to finish it too badly, but I am keen to try Urban Decay’s Naked concealer and I really need to use a few up before I can justify that purchase. SO…yea, I guess I do kind of want to finish this soon.

MAC Mattene Lipstick in Bing – OMG I feel like I keep throwing this shade out there every fall and talking about how I’m going to WERK IT, and then I don’t and here it is STILL in my makeup collection since I bought it in like…2008, or something? GAH. This year I at least am making the right moves toward using this and bought a dark lipliner to wear with it so that it looks better on me (hopefully). Let me make a grand statement now though that if I don’t wear this at all THIS year, it’s absolutely GOTTA GO.

Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Shadow in Sandy Gold – I really like to use this cream shadow as a base or even on it’s own, as it’s nicely brightening to the eye area, but I forget to use it a lot…and then unfortunately I started to see that it’s drying up on me! You can see it a bit in the picture below, how it’s pulling away from the sides…ugh. So that means I have to start getting my money’s worth with this, I definitely haven’t used it enough to feel I have yet!

IMG_2679

Are there any products you’ve been trying to finish lately?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sandie on October 1, 2015 - 5:39 am

    I tried a finsih 5 by fall challenge, I didn’t really finish anything but I did learn why I had ‘forgotten’ some things in the drawer! I have never tried a Bobbi Brown shadow, how do you like them?

    • #2 by Latoya on November 10, 2015 - 11:00 am

      The cream Bobbi shadow seems nice and goes on well, but I feel like it’s drying out faster than I’d like! And I haven’t finished anything yet either, ugh. But you’re right, it’s a good exercise to remember forgotten products nonetheless!

  2. #3 by annie's beauty... on October 1, 2015 - 7:00 am

    I also have a Mattene that I bust out every Autumn/Winter!
    And yeah! All bronzers do that! LOL Especially when one has more bronzers than should be legal! *hint: Me*😅😅😅
    xx, Annie | Annie’s Beauty

    • #4 by Latoya on November 10, 2015 - 10:59 am

      Gah! Drives me nuts! I just want to at least hit pan already O_o

  3. #6 by Larie on October 2, 2015 - 12:56 pm

    Dude, those vampy lip shades are just about ATTITUDE. ROCK IT, GIRL. I wanna see a selfie on Instagram,ya hear?

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

