Do Not Pass Go, Do Not Collect $200 (or more makeup)

I was inspired by Liz’s post on the type of products she no longer uses, to do a sort of spin-off post in which I detail the products I won’t be buying for awhile – not because I no longer have use for them, but because I really want to try and use up what I’ve got. I’m still aiming for that lofty goal in which my collection is modest enough that I can purchase new items guilt-free, because owning less will inevitably enable me to use up what I have more regularly. Probably an impossibility, but I want to at least put more effort into enjoying what I already have instead of being madly in love for about 3 days, then promptly moving on to lust after the next hot new item. END THE CONSUMERISM CYCLE, dammit.

So, having given you my usual long-winded explanation as to why I do what I do, let’s get to the good stuff. A LIST (of products that are on a purchasing hiatus):

1) Base products (includes primers/concealers/tinted moisturizers/foundations/powders)

IMG_1406All 5 of my concealers, my liquid foundations/tinted moisturizers, and a few of my primers (the rest plus my powders are in my makeup drawer).

I have enough of all of these things; not an overly excessive amount (IMO), but enough that adding any more will just probably mean that some of them will go bad before I finish them all. I don’t usually go crazy over these kinds of items anyway (all but one of my primers and most of my foundations are PR samples or gratis items) except for concealers…still trying to find the holy grail of under eye concealers, but I need to give it a rest for now, as I currently have 5 on rotation, and for me that’s too much. I’ve also been on a mini powder kick, and I have 2 loose and 1 pressed, so I feel I am set for quite a while.

2) Antiperspirant

IMG_1407Clearly I have no allegiance to one brand…

Would you be disgusted to know that I’ve been using the same antiperspirant since Elena was in the NICU? Sooo that’s like…5 months? And haven’t had to replace it yet (eeks!)? I swear I use it {most days} but it seems to be lasting forever. I thought it was near the end so I bought a new one to replace it – twice – and then I discovered I already had ANOTHER backup waiting in the wings already. Plus another oldie that’s been kicking around for ages that I stopped using for whatever reason. So now I have 5 kicking around, which is making me feel far too much like my mother (who used to have hoards of them all around the house; I think she bought a new one every time she went to the drugstore – always finding a new scent or brand that she liked). So yea. I think I’m set for a while.

3) Nail polish

IMG_1422My ‘snazzy’ nail polish, displayed on my bedroom dresser.

IMG_1415The rest of my nail polish collection, housed in a shoebox in Ryan’s closet (there’s no room in mine! lol).

I have been doggedly riffling through my nail polish collection weekly in an effort to pare it down to a more manageable level; to me, if I can’t wear every shade I own more than once a year, then there is a problem. I’m hovering just slightly above 80 shades, and I’d like to cull it down more still to about 75 (in an ideal world, I’d have no more than 50, but there are too many shades I like to reach that goal). So, to keep things in check, I’m adhering strictly to a one in, one out policy. Though I love polish, I find this fairly easy to do, as I feel like I have every shade imaginable anyway. The hardest part is receiving shades for review – I’ve been getting most of the OPI collections lately, and I have to be really ruthless about which ones I keep. I give the ones I don’t absolutely love away shortly after I’ve done my swatches and post so I can’t change my mind, and that’s been working pretty well.

4) Color cosmetics

IMG_1409These are all the color cosmetics in my collection now (save for a Z palette with about 20 eyeshadows in it) – streamlined down to just one drawer, not bad eh?

Ok, this one is going to be a toughie, and I know if I get too serious in limiting myself it’ll only end in disaster (remember this?), so I am giving myself permission to buy color cosmetics that are Limited Edition – but only once a month. Additional exceptions (aren’t there always?): a) I am allowing myself to buy one non-LE item per month as well, b) the Sephora VIB sale is free game (if there is anything left at Sephora, after all the craziness – and also, in keeping with my previous guidelines which dictate that I only pick up one of each type of product), and c) all bets are off during our trip to Cali at the end of December.

After that last rule, it’s clear that basically nothing about my collection will change. LOL!

IMG_3402OH MOM.

My name is Latoya and I’m a makeup-aholic.

Are you on any sort of no- or low-buy? How do you justify your purchasing habits (or do you even bother)?

,

  1. #1 by 1reddiva83 on July 10, 2015 - 2:19 pm

    Hi Latoya. I am makeup addict as well , you have a beautiful collection.

    • #2 by Latoya on July 11, 2015 - 6:21 am

      Thank you!!! I’m pretty happy with it now – at least, I love everything I own, but I’d still like to use some up (perverse gratification). >

  2. #3 by Sarah @ Paths & Errands on July 11, 2015 - 2:09 am

    Wait wait wait how often are we supposed to be replacing deodorant? I’m not even going to tell you how long I’ve been using mine if five months is bad LOL. Yikes.

    I like this plan. I especially like the exception clause. Will you be in LA at all?

    • #4 by Latoya on July 11, 2015 - 6:20 am

      We land in L.A. and I hope to spend a couple days there! Except, we’re currently trying to buy a house and we haven’t actually sold the condo, so Ryan thinks we should kibosh the trip :S I’m going to try and convince him otherwise. Are you in L.A.?

      And re: deodorant – I usually go through it every 3-4 months I think lol…but maybe I just can’t remember, pre-baby life seems like a million years ago now, ha. >

      • #5 by Sarah @ Paths & Errands on July 11, 2015 - 7:33 pm

        I’m pretty sure mine is something like two years old >.< moving on.

        Yes, I am! Do let me know if you're able to make it out here. Good luck with the house hunt!

  3. #6 by Maggie (@asimplehedonist) on July 11, 2015 - 5:06 pm

    Holy cow, I’m super impressed that the color cosmetics drawer is, well…a drawer!

    • #7 by Latoya on July 20, 2015 - 8:55 am

      Hehe thanks Maggie!! I’m kind of impressed too, though I’m still overwhelmed a bit by my collection, especially my eyeshadows.

  4. #8 by Liz (@Reductionista) on July 12, 2015 - 5:51 pm

    Ooooh, I hope you and Sarah meet up! 😀

    LOLing at the “oh mom” Elena face. CUTIE PIE. Bring her here so I can smoosh her.

    Although you may have been inspired by my post, you are doing SO MUCH BETTER than I am. I thought of doing something like this but couldn’t commit because I waffle like crazy at unexpected moments. Your box of downsized nail polishes give me so much second-hand pleasure it’s insane. I gave away so much nail polish but they still take up so much room, I don’t know how to organize them in a functional yet pleasing manner.

    • #9 by Latoya on August 6, 2015 - 9:51 am

      I find my polishes to be the hardest part of my beauty stash to whittle down – it seems to be taking so long!! It doesn’t help that I keep getting samples from OPI all the time now – but honestly, I give most of them away. I’m coming to grips with it slowly that what I have and keep is what I like so if it means my stash is bigger than so be it. It doesn’t make sense to get rid of things I like! >

  1. Recent Purchases, Part V: The base/face prodz | Beauty Obsessed
  2. Wordless Wednesday: Summer empties | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

