YSL La Laque Bleu Majorelle vs Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Pacific Blue

About a year ago, I finally decided that bright, bold, cobalt blue nails WERE, in fact, as fabulous (about 3 years after the trend surfaced), but as I wasn’t sure if the shade would suit me, I dipped a toe in by picking up Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Nail Polish in Pacific Blue for $2.99. If it didn’t work out, no harm no foul at that price. As it turned out, while I liked the shade I wasn’t over the moon about it, and I promptly put it away never to wear it again.

Sally Hansen Pacific Blue

Still, the color haunted me. I wasn’t satisfied for some reason, and onto my wishlist went YSL’s Bleu Majorelle, one of the most iconic iterations of the shade (I believe Nails Inc. Baker Street was the first of it’s kind). The high $27CAD price tag deterred me however, and I kept holding off, until one day I came to notice that my local Sephora stopped stocking the YSL polishes altogether. At that point, of COURSE then I had to have it ASAP. Conveniently, my observation occurred during the Sephora ‘Love Notes’ spring sale, so into my online basket it went.

YSL Bleu Majorelle

There are NO regrets, people. THIS is what I was really looking for. Though Pacific Blue is a close contender and would do in a pinch if you’re looking to get on the cobalt blue bandwagon on the cheap, Bleu Majorelle has a richness and brightness that the Sally Hansen shade lacks, and it truly makes all the difference (to me anyway).  On top of that, the formula is TOP NOTCH – along with a ridiculously smooth and easy 2-coat application, note that these photos were taken 5 days into my manicure with not a chip in sight. This rarely happens for me – no matter what the brand, I almost always have chips by day 3. For once, I feel like the higher price tag is (nearly) justified.

YSL Bleu Majorelle vs Sally Hansen Pacific Blue

YSL Bleu Majorelle vs Sally Hansen Pacific Blue comparison swatchesYSL Bleu Majorelle vs Sally Hansen Pacific Blue comparison swatchesLeft: Sally Hansen Pacific Blue; Right: YSL Bleu Majorelle

YSL Bleu Majorelle swatch

These are the kind of polish purchases I enjoy now: one in, one out – I have no need for SH’s version so it will be passed on for someone else to enjoy. I should have known better, really, because I always prefer the ‘real thing’ and any time I try to make substitutions (with almost anything in life – food, makeup, etc.) I end up feeling unsatisfied and filling that void until I go ahead and get the real thing in the end. In this instance it wasn’t a big deal/loss, but something I really try and adhere to.

YSL Bleu Majorelle swatch

On a final note…bonus points for anyone who notices what is different in the picture above 😉

Did you get on the cobalt blue trend when it began? Are you content with ‘dupes’ or do you need the ‘real deal’?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Tara Wood on May 10, 2015 - 12:53 pm

    OOOOO CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    • #2 by Latoya on May 10, 2015 - 11:15 pm

      Thanks Tara!! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. #3 by Tracy@Beauty Reflections on May 10, 2015 - 5:50 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS TOYA!!! WHAT that’s so awesome!
    And yes I’m the same way. I always am disappointed with subs. This looks fantastic on your nails!

    • #4 by Latoya on May 10, 2015 - 11:16 pm

      Thanks, Tracy!! And yea – I’m LOVING this shade!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. #5 by Amy on May 10, 2015 - 9:40 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS TOYA!!! It looks stunning with those nails 🙂

    • #6 by Latoya on May 10, 2015 - 11:16 pm

      I think so too!! Thanks Amy 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  4. #7 by Sacha-Bea on May 11, 2015 - 7:10 am

    Again, congratulations to you, lady!! So happy for you!! 🙂

    • #8 by Latoya on May 11, 2015 - 7:13 am

      Merci beaucoup, Sacha-Bea!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 >

  5. #9 by ClassicMaggie on May 11, 2015 - 10:47 am

    Gorgeous color!

    • #10 by Latoya on May 20, 2015 - 7:08 am

      Oh man, I love it so much!!!

  6. #11 by Liz (@Reductionista) on May 11, 2015 - 1:03 pm

    I’m such a dumdumhead – completely missed the ring until I saw all the congratulations in comments, lol! CONGRATS, GIRL. So many excitements this year! Love blues like this and the mani looks aaaaaamazing!

  1. OPI Brights summer 2015 collection {swatches & review} | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

