30 Days of Decluttering

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I’ve been talking for ages about trying to pare down my makeup collection, by both using things up as well as slowing down my purchasing of new products (and may I just say – I have only bought ONE color makeup item over the past three months [the YSL Golden Gloss] – that deserves an award!), but now it’s time to get serious. I’ve decided to embark on a 30 day decluttering project, in which I have to get rid of a beauty item a day for 30 days. This could mean using up an item; giving away a shade I never wear but keep hanging on to for no good reason; tossing old, expired products; etc. It includes both makeup, skin/hair care, and nail polish – basically any beauty cosmetics I own.

IMG_0227

To start off with a bang, these are a handful of products that I’m going to dedicate time to finishing – they’re nearly done already, and were the inspiration to start this challenge. Beginning something like this with a few products already ‘ready’ to go is a bit of a cheat, but eh – the results are still the same really, and it gives me an extra incentive to really use these up!

IMG_0230

IMG_0233

IMG_0231

I’m beginning the challenge tomorrow – Friday, January 30th – and ending it on February 28th. I plan to track my progress on Instagram daily, so you can keep up with me there – or better yet, join me! #30daydeclutter

I’m excited to get cracking on this! Skincare is easy, as I usually only have just my current rotation of products with not much duplication (eg. only a couple cleansers, moisturizers, oils, treatments etc. at a time). Makeup, on the other hand, is much harder to part with – even if it’s a shade or formulation that doesn’t really work for me. I have been slowly pulling items from my collection and really scrutinizing whether they should be there or not – no point keeping stuff that I don’t love/wear – but it’s still hard to part with products that were purchased with my hard-earned cash. I just keep telling myself that the more I let go that just doesn’t DO it for me, the more new products I can buy that do!

IMG_0229

Time to get ruthless….wish me luck!!

Anyone else in the process of decluttering / reducing their beauty stash?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Dorkchops on January 29, 2015 - 9:05 pm

    Such a great idea, I should do this! 🙂 I have a lot of products I forget about and need to use up! 😀

  2. #2 by Eugenia on January 29, 2015 - 10:42 pm

    While I may not be ready to commit to a plan like this, I’ve begun my own version of decluttering as well – mainly because I don’t even know what I have any more, lol! Wishing you luck, Toya!

    • #3 by Latoya on February 2, 2015 - 11:25 am

      And to you, Eugenia! I hope you do a bunch of posts where we get to see your fabulous collection once it’s all organized!!!! 🙂 >

  3. #4 by supernovamakeup on January 30, 2015 - 12:50 am

    What a great idea, I might try this eventually. That MAC lipstick looks gorgeous, it shouldn’t be too difficult to finish it 😛 Good luck!

  4. #5 by hannahrosebeautyxo on January 30, 2015 - 6:06 am

    Great post – this is such a good idea!! I am currently on my own ‘beauty ban’ – I’m trying to finish 10-15 beauty products before allowing myself to make any more purchases! 🙂

    http://hannahrosebeautyxo.com/

  5. #6 by Wonderlusting Lynda on February 5, 2015 - 6:36 am

    1 item in 3 months – high 5! I totally need to do a declutter….heading over to IG for inspiration.

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

