Ho Hum: My *exciting* Sephora VIB sale haul

It feels like for the past year I’ve been really responsible with my beauty purchases. It’s been quite boring actually, but I feel a lot better about my collection – less overwhelmed, and I use the products I have with regularity since I’m not constantly adding new ones to the mix. Over the past couple months however, I had grand ideas about really going all out for the Sephora VIB sale – I’d been a good girl and it was time to reward myself with a splurge.

Well…I splurged. But before you get excited, take a look at what I bought and see if you think I *really* went crazy:

IMG_3931

Sure, I bought a fair number of things – 9 items, which is more than I probably buy in a month, lately. But do you see any REALLY frivolous things there? I think for all my scheming and plotting, I managed to be sort of responsible, yet again! It’s like ingrained in me, you guys. DAMMIT ALL TO HELL.

Probably the most ‘reckless’ thing I bought was a YSL Gloss Volupte (in the shade ‘1 Gold’) – I got it in my head a couple days before the sale that I NEEDED a gold gloss, and this was the one that came home with me. The L’Artisan Perfumer perfume sample box was a whim purchase too, the lemming created by Liz (surprise, surprise) as I was reading her post en route to the store. But the rest of these items were all products on my list and all ‘necessities’ in my mind. I use this term loosely of course, because who ‘needs’ all this stuff, but for a beauty junkie, there are real needs, no? I ‘needed’ a new concealer as my NARS Radiant Concealer is on it’s last legs, and the Lancome Effacernes Waterproof Under Eye Concealer seemed like a good replacement. I ‘needed’ a leave-in treatment for my hair (Phyto Phyto 7 Hydrating Day Cream) because I had ran out of my previous one. I ‘needed’ the First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads because I’d used up my previous jar and had been patiently waiting to replenish them for weeks. I ‘needed’ an eye cream with SPF, like the Boscia All-In-One BB Eye Brightener SPF 20, because I don’t have one and I gotta hold off those wrinkles, yo. I also ‘need’ a couple new facial masques – both a hydrating one and an exfoliating one (gotta cover all the bases!) – and this little sample kit of three Peter Thomas Roth masks seemed to be the perfect opportunity. Finally, I ‘needed’ a new serum, as all the ones I have are oil-based and are a bit heavy for day. The Boscia Cool Blue Hydration Essence lured me in with it’s calming aesthetic and it’s promise to boost hydration in my skin to the max, a must for the oncoming winter season. I suppose I didn’t ‘need’ a new black liquid eyeliner – I own a black gel liner that works a treat – but the ease of use of the Kat Von D Ink Liner over my gel liner couldn’t be ignored (the lines are SO crisp!).

So there you have it. I clearly ‘needed’ almost every item I picked up, and my intent to go WILD and pick up some really fun products (like a Givenchy Le Rouge lipstick…a Dolce & Gabbana blush…or a Dior mascara) was once again squashed by my IRRITATINGLY sensible brain. ~le sigh!~  Maybe someday…

IMG_3926

PS: The two other items I didn’t mention were samples I received during my shopping ‘spree’ – Dior’s Diorshow Iconic Overcurl mascara, and Fresh’s Sugar Face Polish. A bit more exciting, but they were free so I can’t take credit 😦

What did you buy during the VIB sale?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by jdhartil on November 12, 2014 - 8:03 am

    A great haul!!

    • #2 by Latoya on November 29, 2014 - 5:49 pm

      I think so too 🙂

  2. #3 by Larie on November 12, 2014 - 6:33 pm

    Haha, so long as you’re satisfied, I think that’s what counts! It’s still a fabulous haul – all kinds of new goodies 🙂

    • #4 by Latoya on November 13, 2014 - 7:21 am

      It’s so much fun playing with everything every day! I haven’t had this much new stuff in ages 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. #5 by wtmontana on November 12, 2014 - 8:46 pm

    I didn’t buy anything at the VIB sale due to Sephora not opening in Oz for a few more weeks. However, I shopped in its honor at Mecca Maxima & David Jones. Laura Mercier Caviar Eye Sticks mini set, NARS Translucent Crystal Pressed Setting Powder, Kevyn Aucoin lash curler, Stila In the Know eyeshadow palette, and NARS Niagara lipstick… to name a few.

    • #6 by Latoya on November 13, 2014 - 7:22 am

      Haha you did good 🙂 I’m excited for Sephora to open where you are!! You’ll have to have another splurge!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  4. #7 by Eugenia on November 12, 2014 - 11:01 pm

    WAIT! Dolce & Gabbana? Your Sephora has D&G? And for that matter, why didn’t I know that Sephora carries the D&G range now (just saw a bunch of stuff online that I totally would have gone for, had I known).

    As to measly hauls, want to know what I picked up? A NARS eye primer (my fave) and a NARS blush. That’s it. Couldn’t bring myself to add anything else. Crazy, huh?!

    Oh yeah, that YSL Gold gloss you picked up? It’s amazing and one of my faves! Enjoy your purchases, my dear!

    • #8 by Latoya on November 13, 2014 - 7:24 am

      Good restraint, Eugenia, I’m impressed 🙂 We don’t have D&G in store here, to be clear (I wish!) – I would have bought it online (and it’s been online for several years, BTW!). And that YSL gloss is awesome, you’re right!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  5. #9 by Liz (@Reductionista) on November 16, 2014 - 4:56 pm

    This is a completely reasonable haul, and I bet you feel quite satisfied! It has great skin care necessities as well as something just for fun. I think that in the future that’s the way to go. Too much of the fun stuff all at once means feeling overwhelmed. We’ll always be picking up a goodie here and there throughout the year to cheer us up on those blah days anyway.

    • #10 by Latoya on November 25, 2014 - 5:08 pm

      You got ‘er, Liz! That’s been my M.O. lately, anyway. I feel a lot less guilt buying ‘fun’ stuff here and there. These things I bought get used regularly and that’s the way I like it!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  6. #11 by Maggie (@MaggiesMakeup) on November 16, 2014 - 7:51 pm

    That’s a great haul! It’s not flashy, but it’s super substantial and satisfying. I have to be honest, I’m getting a little burnt out on the massive palettes and sets, even if they are a good deal, and I ended up passing on more than I thought I would this year.

    (But I did get a few Givenchy lippies because they are too gorgeous.)

    • #12 by Latoya on November 25, 2014 - 5:12 pm

      Haha I don’t blame you one bit, Maggie! We don’t have them in store here so I was going to buy a shade or two sight unseen, but I really hate doing that so I didn’t, in the end. But then I went to Ottawa after the sale and tried a few in store to get an idea for the next time 😉

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  7. #13 by ATaleOfBeauty on November 19, 2014 - 7:16 pm

    They look great, enjoy using them! ❤
    ~xo, Carina

    • #14 by Latoya on November 29, 2014 - 5:49 pm

      Thanks Carina, so far, so good! 🙂

  8. #15 by Sarah @ Paths & Errands on November 26, 2014 - 11:55 pm

    Your brain is just way too sensible Toya! But P.S. have you checked out the Classic Cream lipsticks from D&G? For next time LOL!

    Gotta see that YSL gloss on you, and loving the L’Artisan set.

    • #16 by Latoya on November 29, 2014 - 5:51 pm

      I have one on my Sephora ‘loves’ list, I really want to pick up some D&G stuff next time!!!! And yes, I am stupidly sensible lately, SO BORING. But all the things I bought I’m enjoying so far, so I guess I made good picks anyway 😛

  1. Makeup Roundup: Purchases in 2014 | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

