Clinique Cheek Pops in Berry Pop and Peach Pop {a delayed review}

Though I’ve worked for Clinique since 2005 (almost 10 years, crazy!), I’ve never been head over heels for their makeup – it’s always been a bit too mundane for me, a bit too soft. Ever since they re-launched and re-vamped the super-popular Chubby Sticks (we used to have them back in the day, did you know?), Clinique has been upping their makeup game, and I’ve been taking notice. In my last gratis from Clinique back in early spring, I ordered two Cheek Pops ($24CAD) to try as I had read so many great reviews on them, and since I was getting them for free – hey, why not? Being a *wee bit* into blush, I was excited to try these out.

IMG_1908 IMG_1905Left – Peach Pop; Right – Berry Pop. This is what they looked like when I first bought them…

IMG_3749…and what they look like now!

The two shades I went with were Peach Pop, a peachy-orange, and Berry Pop, a fuchsia-berry shade. As I discovered a while ago, fuchsia is kind of my JAM, and so I was unsurprized to find that Berry Pop looked lovely on my skin. Interestingly, the shade isn’t comparable to anything else I own – all my other fuchsia shades were MUCH cooler, whereas Berry Pop is, well – more berry!

IMG_3752Clinique Berry Pop

IMG_2018Clinique Berry Pop (natural light)

Orange-y tones however, are not often flattering on my skin tone, and Peach Pop initially seemed like a poor choice, as I found it looked kind of dull and blah. I stuck it in my train case (where all my ‘extra’ makeup is stored) and forgot about it throughout the rest of spring and summer months.

IMG_3751Clinique Peach Pop

IMG_2019Clinique Peach Pop (natural light)

When September hit, I did my annual rotation of makeup products – which I tend to do every season, and sometimes more if I’m feeling bored – and I decided to give Peach Pop another go, as I felt it’s soft peachy tones would work well with earthy, fall-appropriate shades, as well as not compete with any bold eye or lip looks I tend to favour during this season. Surprizingly, for whatever reason, I fell madly in love with the shade this time around, and find myself reaching for it the most out of my edited collection of ‘fall’ blushes. It gives a wonderful ‘fresh’ glow to my skin and wears equally well with heavier makeup as with very simple, basic looks. I should have known better, in truth – Peach Pop is very similar to Chanel’s Blush Creme in Revelation, which I love and wear the heck out of when my tan has faded (it’s too soft to wear otherwise).

IMG_1209 IMG_1208Left – heavy and buffed swatches of Peach Pop; right – heavy and buffed swatches of Berry Pop (in sunlight)

I must attribute some of this new-found love to my friend Larie, who recently discovered peach herself. She always gets me thinking outside the box!

IMG_1218Wearing Clinique Peach Pop…sorry for the less than stellar photo, it has been overcast for the past few days, and late afternoon sun can by tricky! But FYI – this photo was taken with my new iPhone 6! Not a bad shot when you think of it that way, eh? The camera on it is pretty sweet 🙂

Though I haven’t worn Berry Pop too often (to me it’s a more winter/spring shade), I suspect I will enjoy it just as much as Peach Pop when the time comes. These blushes are fool-proof to apply, going on softly and subtly if you so desire, but building up to a beautiful bold color if that’s your preference instead. I adore the satin finish that imparts a soft glow to the skin without any shimmer whatsoever (this is my favorite blush formula), and they blend out like a dream. And as much as I’m not a ‘cute-sy’ person when it comes to packaging, I think these little pots are adorable! Love the clear glass packaging, bypassing anything tacky or twee-looking, and the flower pattern inside is intricate and sweet without being saccharine.

IMG_1211

I probably should have written about these a long time ago, eh!?

What was the last product you bought that ended up being a sleeper hit for you?

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by jinelleloves on October 6, 2014 - 6:36 pm

    Thanks for the swatches. I’ve been curious about these. I worked for Clinique 10 years ago so the gratis was especially helpful in discovering their makeup line. Foundations were always too pink and pale for me but I loved their blushes, eye shadows, eye liners, and brow powder. I kind of want to go back for a part time gig. 🙂

    http://www.jinelleloves.com

    • #2 by Latoya on October 22, 2014 - 3:59 pm

      You should! It’s been an awesome way to stay connected with the brand, and they’re really upping their game lately 🙂

  2. #3 by Tracy@Beauty Reflections on October 6, 2014 - 11:13 pm

    I love these blushes! I think they’re great! Some of my faves this year for sure. I can’t think of anything that was a sleeper hit for me though-I usually love it right away or I just don’t.

    • #4 by Latoya on October 15, 2014 - 3:49 pm

      And I’m the opposite! It’s like I’m hard to win over or something lol – I often start out with high expectations – probably because whatever I buy I make sure I REALLY want – and then am often just ‘meh’. Then later il the product grows on me and I end up loving it!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. #5 by ALEXIS on October 7, 2014 - 12:43 am

    Well I know what you mean when you say cliniques colors are rather faint ! But it the rum eyeshadow was my absolute favorite and I can’t even find it on eBay ! Cliniques colors should go well with your skin cause your fair they must stand out on you a bit more . Mixing helps too 🙂

    • #6 by Latoya on October 15, 2014 - 3:50 pm

      I hope you do find Rum Spice eventually, Alexis! There are some shades that work well and some that don’t show up at all. Thankfully these blushes are totally workable!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  4. #7 by frontdoorbeauty on October 7, 2014 - 10:25 am

    I did the same thing with the maybelline color tattoo shadows. The first time I tried them I hated it but I tried again a few months later and now I’m hooked 🙂

    • #8 by Latoya on October 21, 2014 - 8:36 pm

      Funny how that happens, eh?? 🙂

  5. #9 by Larie on October 7, 2014 - 11:54 am

    Thanks for the shoutout, Toya 😉 I didn’t pick any of these up and I still don’t think they appeal to me, for some reason, but that peach one is gorgeous on you!

    • #10 by Latoya on October 15, 2014 - 4:57 pm

      Thanks Larie! I wasn’t too interested in these either so I get it – but I’m pleased to have them now! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  6. #11 by Liz (@Reductionista) on October 8, 2014 - 1:36 pm

    I was kind of let down by Peach Pop. It’s been sitting in my vault untouched for months now, but I’ve been waiting to see if it does something more magical when I’m paler. It’s a good product, especially for Clinique, but I guess my expectations were set too high.

    • #12 by Latoya on October 15, 2014 - 5:00 pm

      I know what you mean, Liz. I would give it another shot though, I was the same – too tanned to really appreciate it – but now I enjoy the soft glowing look it gives. I’m terrible for wearing bold colors all the time which sometimes can be too much, so it’s nice to wear subtle options here and there.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  7. #13 by Lola on October 11, 2014 - 9:18 am

    Peach Pop was made for you, Toya! I wanted to love these (they are just too cute), but none of the shades worked on me. I guess I’ll just have to live vicariously through you. 🙂

    • #14 by Latoya on October 15, 2014 - 5:01 pm

      Haha ok, I’ll do my best Lola! I’m sorry these didn’t work, but frig – there are SOOO many gorgeous blushes to try, I always feel kind of relieved when one doesn’t float my boat – it shortens the massive list! lol

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  8. #15 by Rae // theNotice on October 16, 2014 - 8:52 pm

    Oh, wow — you make these look absolutely beautiful, Toya! The Cheek Pops are one of the few Clinique makeup products I haven’t tried (what? I DON’T HAVE A PROBLEM and I definitely don’t own almost twenty Chubby Sticks, nope, no, definitely not me), but… you’re kind of making me re-think that decision.

    They just always look so glittery when I swatch them in-store! I don’t understand how they can look so perfectly glowing on you!

    • #16 by Latoya on October 17, 2014 - 6:11 pm

      Haha I love your Clinique obsession, Rae 🙂 I would really give these a solid look, given that fact and also because they’re really lovely and NOT sparkly at all, I promise. Just glowy goodness!!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  1. Makeup Roundup: Purchases in 2014 | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

