New Formula X for Sephora Polishes Are Kinda Rocking My World!

My nail polish addiction has waned somewhat over the past year – partially due to over-saturation, in the market and in my ‘polish closet’ (Yes, I have one.  Yes it’s awesome!), where repeat shades are easily to come across.  However, last week I was taking a browse through Sephora and came across the new nail bar with their brand new polish offering – Formula X for Sephora.  Let me tell you – if you’re in a nail polish rut, this baby has everything you ever wanted and never knew you NEEDED.  I may be in love.

Obviously, a few shades came home with me then and there 🙂

IMG_0452

First off we have Center of My Universe ($15CAD), a gorgeous rose shade with silver and gold sparkle (part of the Celestials range).  This is a full on glitter polish that also has almost full coverage in one coat – love it!  As I’m not great with layering, I far prefer an opaque glitter as opposed to a more sheer formula.  You could *almost* get away with one coat, but I use two for good measure.  Even better, removal is a cinch!  I went in fully expecting to have to use some elbow grease to remove these swatches, as par for the course with glitters.  Not so!  Holding a cotton pad soaked in polish to the nail for a mere 10 seconds or so each was all I needed to do to wipe them clean 🙂  I wore (and am still wearing, with nary a chip – another pro, as I find glitters can chip more easily) this as my pedicure shade to the wedding I attended on the weekend, and it was absolutely perfect – glamorous and added a great hit of sparkle, as opposed to the typical red or vampy polish I tend to wear on toes in the cooler months.

Formula X for Sephora Center of My Universe swatchFormula X for Sephora Center of My Universe swatch

As gorgeous as this polish is, it is a SERIOUS eater of topcoat – in the photo below (sorry it’s a bit blurry), you can see best how it looks with no top coat (index finger, far left), one coat (middle finger), and two coats (ring finger, far right).  You can see that one coat barely made a difference, whereas two is starting to get somewhere.  I’d probably opt for three if I were wearing this on my fingernails – I want maximum shine, but that’s just a personal preference.  It’s still sparkly and lovely without it at all 🙂

Formula X for Sephora Center of My Universe swatch

The next polish I’m going to show you isn’t typically up my alley.  You probably all know that cremes are my JAM, with a sprinkling of good fine shimmer polishes thrown in for good measure.  Though Center of My Universe isn’t normally my thing either, it’s just so darn pretty and sparkly I couldn’t resist.  I must have been on a roll with glitter polishes that day, because I also picked up this: Chaotic ($15CAD) a black and white confetti glitter – part of the Xplosives Top Coat range of the Formula X polishes.  Below, I wore it over a shimmering navy blue, a glowing berry (which is what I had on when I swatched it in store), a pastel for contrast, and over a bare nail.

IMG_0456IMG_0462

And with flash:

IMG_0459

I adore this polish!  I love love love how it looks good over every single shade here, and even on the bare nail!  It’s just so damn COOL looking.  I am SO not a gal for layering glitter over my polishes, but for this one I will gladly make an exception.  I can’t wait to try out different combinations!  I will mention that the removal of this polish is much more of a pain than Center of My Universe – the different sizes particles get stuck here and there and it’s a little annoying, but it’s totally worth the hassle for the effect!  And application was a cinch, so it’s not all bad 🙂

If any of you have been to Sephora’s new nail bar with rows and rows and rows of these polishes, you’ll know what I mean when I say it’s like the most wonderful playground!  I never purchase one single Sephora for OPI polish – they just didn’t do it for me as a whole – but I was instantly drawn to these new Formula X shades and the variety of finishes they have.  I spent a good 30 minutes playing, and I plan on going back for a second round!  They totally *nailed* it this time around 😛

Have you checked out the new Formula X polishes?  What are your thoughts?

 

 

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by BurbBeauty on October 16, 2013 - 9:20 am

    Toya! Your swatches are awesome! I love Center of My Universe on you. The Celestials is their textured line, so that’s probably why the glitter was so thirsty.

    • #2 by Latoya on October 16, 2013 - 9:36 am

      Ohhhh I wasn’t even thinking about them being textured! Silly me. I’ll have to try it out again without top coat and see how I feel – I’ve been meaning to try these textured polishes but haven’t given them a shot yet. I’m glad you like the swatches!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. #3 by Denise on November 4, 2013 - 10:04 am

    I was super-intrigued by the Formula X line when it came out a few weeks ago, but when I went to look at the shades, I remember thinking that they were beautiful but I already had EXACT dupes of almost ALL of them. (I do have 300+ nail polishes, lol.) Love the rose gold shade, though — looks amazing against your skintone!

    • #4 by Latoya on November 4, 2013 - 4:47 pm

      Thanks Denise!! That’s the problem with owning a lot of makeup/polish shades, it all starts to get repetitive after awhile ~sobs~ I do love this hade though!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

