Going Green: Use It Up, Wear It Out, Make It Do, or Do Without

I’m in a mood guys.  Or rather, a mode – a research mode.  I have spent that past several days doing MUCHO investigation into different ‘green’ brands and the products they offer, trying to weed through them all (they all sound FABULOUS) to find the right ones for my skin needs and type.  In doing so, I realized a few things: 1) I don’t make enough money to fund this new-found obsession, and 2) I better start using up what I currently have that doesn’t ‘fit the bill’ so to speak, before I go all shopaholic and buy every last amazing organic product out there.  Thankfully, as mentioned before, that pile is not TOO large.  Let’s take a look!

IMG_0299

CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser: This cleanser is really lovely – non-foaming (which also means non-stripping) and gentle and leaves me skin feeling soft and supple due to the ceramides and hyaluronic acid.  I don’t feel too bad about using this as it doesn’t cause any issues for me and its a relatively basic product.  I’m in no hurry to finish it.  Note to oily gals that I used this in the summer every AM and found it entirely effective – I really believe that trying to dry out the skin in an effort to ‘reduce oiliness’ is NOT the way to go; my skin has been better behaved and less greasy when I keep it hydrated the right way.  Just sayin’.

IMG_0285

Neutrogena Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Cream Night:  I’ve used this off and on for several years, and I always find it quite effective and keeping my skin clear, soft, and smooth.  As you can see its on it’s last legs, and I won’t be repurchasing as I’m hoping my Pai Rosehip BioRegenerate Oil will be it’s replacement, but if you’re looking for a cost-effective anti-aging/anti-acne moisturizer with retinol, this is a good bet for most all skintypes (I find it quite moisturizing, but it isn’t greasy).

IMG_0293

Clinique Acne Solutions Oil-Control Clearing Masque, and Clinique Even Better Clinical Dark Spot Corrector: Good ol’ free Clinique products.  The clay-based masque is pretty decent, it helps to deep clean the skin but doesn’t leave me feeling completely sucked dry of moisture afterward.  The serum is really kinda useless to me, as I don’t have any dark spots, but it has antioxidants so I’m using it up just for that.  I also get the occasionally pimple scar (which are dark on me) so it helps with that too.  Needless to say, when these are done I’ll be moving on to other, organic replacements (Stark’s Green Tea Detox Mask, as well as about a BILLION other oil/serum-type products, come to mind).

IMG_0290

La Roche-Posay Anthelios Ultra-Fluid Lotion SPF60, Clinique Super City Block SPF40, Shiseido Ultra Sun Protection Cream for Face SPF50: I ended up not using the LRP sunscreen as much as I thought I would, as I found it didn’t play well with other skincare products unless I had the time to let them really sink in and absorb first (time which I rarely leave myself).  The Clinique was my go-to, and is nearing the end – I have used the City Block products more times than I can count now, and I will turn to it again if I can’t find a suitable organic replacement.  The Shiseido I received as a 500 pt perk at Sephora, and oddly enough I’ve deemed it my ‘running’ sunscreen – I think because it has quite a strong scent, and I worry about wearing it for very long.  Since I shower after my runs, I can throw this on and then wash it off no more than an hour or two later.  Then it gets used and not wasted!  Bizarre possibly, but effective 🙂

IMG_0291

Avene Cicalfate and First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream: These are my two ’emergency’ products for when my eczema gets wacky.  The Avene is more of a protectant so if I’m really rashy, its like a barrier to the outside world so my skin gets a chance to heal.  It’s also very soothing.   The F.A.B. product on the other hand, is fickle – sometimes its just what my skin needs, other times it actually makes my skin burn and itch – so bizarre!  Due to that aspect, I don’t use it much.  I may relegate it to a hand cream or something just to use it up.  Neither product I would repurchase – even though the Avene is somewhat helpful, it gets used relatively infrequently.

IMG_0295

Aveda Botanical Kinetics Toning Mist, Indeed Labs Hydraluon, Boscia Oil-Free Daily Hydration SPF15, derma-e Hydrating Mask w/Hyaluronic Acid: These are the suspect ‘green’ products in my arsenal, that aren’t really organic but contain more basic, ‘natural’ ingredients.  I don’t trust ’em.  The Aveda toner has a horrible spray mechanism which requires me to use a cotton pad to apply – for that reason alone I can’t wait ’till this is gone.  The Hydraluron only contains one ingredient so on principle its very basic, but it’s really to be used with other hydrators that contain water – which many organic products do not have.  So once it’s gone, despite the fact that it’s fairly effective, I won’t repurchase.  The Boscia moisturizer is actually really nice.  It balances my skin to make it less oily during the day, and the sunscreens are physical so they don’t irritate my skin.  I’m tempted to buy this again in the summertime when I won’t want to be layering a bunch of moisturizers and sunscreen…we’ll see how it goes.  At least there is no preservatives!  The derma-e mask is a puzzling beast.  It hydrates, softens and smooths my skin like a charm, but OMFG the scent on this thing is outrageous!!  It’s floral and uber-strong, even though the scent is natural and is the last ingredient.  It’s unreal.  I will find some kind of replacement for this, because when it’s done, I WILL BE SO HAPPY.

IMG_0274

Clinique Dramatically Different Lotion +, Clinique Repairwear Laser Focus, Clinique Moisture Surge Intense, Murad Instant Radiance Eye Cream, Clinique Repairwear Laser Focus Eye Cream, Bobbi Brown Hydrating Eye Cream, Clinique Take the Day Off, Boscia Oil-Free Daily Hydration SPF15, Kate Somerville Ret-Asphere 2-in-1 Retinol Nigh Cream, La Roche-Posay Derm AOX Multi-Corrective Day Care, NUDE ProGenius Treatment Oil: Samples!  Please excuse the Boscia in here again, I changed my mind about where it should be afterward.  I feel like I’m never going to get through those eye creams – they are generous samples that will probably last forever!!! ~sigh~  The rest shouldn’t be too hard to finish up – the Moisture Surge and the TTDO are nearly done, and the others for the most part will just be a few uses.  I’ll be glad to see the end of them all.

IMG_0283

…and more samples!  I won’t list ’em – suffice to say, these gotta go.  I’ll probably use one a week just so my skin doesn’t totally freak out.  None of these nor the ones above really intrigue me now that I know I won’t be repurchasing any, anyway.  But I’ll soldier through nonetheless 🙂

IMG_0280

The last of the samples.  Kniepp is a sneaky brand that kind of portrays themselves like they are natural and ‘green’, but they contain synthetic fragrance in heavy doses in all of their products.  I won a basket full of ’em from my spa last year, and have hardly used a thing.  I tried to use some bath salts and my skin paid a dear price for it.  I should just give ’em all away…

Ok, so there you have it.  All the skincare I gotta use up before going whole-hog and buying all the pretty organic beauties out there!  Some of these will be easy, and some not so much (the masques in particular will take a while).  Its helpful to have these all laid out though to see where I stand and keep my trigger finger from pushing the ‘order now!’ button… it’s tough though.  Especially because I’ve really found that my skin has changed even in the past week or so from altering my routine.  My pores are significantly smaller, and my skin hasn’t felt itchy, irritated or inflamed once – and I committed a cardinal sin and started all three of my Pai products in one day! (I usually try to incorporate new products in slowly so as to minimize any potential flare-ups)  But, you guys know me and excess – stresses me out too much, so I’m determined to employ a hard one-in, one-out rule here until I’ve literally *cleaned up my act*  Lets hope the process moves quickly, huh?

IMG_0298My organic super-team plus a few extras and samples to try!

Do you have any organic / grean beauty products you just love and can recommend?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Liz (@Reductionista) on October 7, 2013 - 9:31 pm

    You totally sold me on the Derma E Hydrating Mask, lmao. Got to the fragrance part and was like, “WOOHOO!”

    I’m dying to give Pai a try but am long ways away. Can’t wait for you to slug through this stuff and get to the new goodies.

    • #2 by Latoya on October 16, 2013 - 12:20 pm

      I’m getting there, Liz! For the most part, all the things I’ve bought so far were replacements so I’m able to enjoy the new stuff now. But I want MOAR, of course 😉

      And by all means – go for the masque lol. It’s cost-effective and works, so if you want the scent too, you will love. Haha

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. #3 by BeautyReflections (@BeautyReflectTS) on October 8, 2013 - 1:06 am

    I have a Hydraluron and it does NOTHING for me. I need to slug through it so I can get rid of it haha. Hope the new organic route goes well for you! I’d love to try some Tata Harper some day-when I FINALLY use up everything LOL.

    • #4 by Latoya on October 16, 2013 - 12:22 pm

      Gah, I know what you mean Tracy! I’m pretty good with streamlining skincare, but with makeup it’s like ‘damn won’t this foundation ever end??’ lol. I want you to check out Tata Harper too! Get some samples from Fresh Faced! They provide samples of everything they sell for 75 cents 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. #5 by Larie on October 8, 2013 - 1:45 pm

    I’ve slowly been switching my skincare over to more “natural” types, as well, and for the most part I’m pretty happy. I like Weleda’s Almond Oil and most Argan Oils for the face.

    • #6 by Latoya on October 16, 2013 - 12:24 pm

      I really didn’t like Josie Maran’s Argan Oil so it’s turned me off the oil, but I think I’m gonna give it a shot again soon. I liked the Weleda Almond Lotion but of course, I’m always on to the next thing! Haha

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. #7 by BurbBeauty on October 8, 2013 - 7:50 pm

    It’s awesome that you’ve found a routine that works for your skin! I admire your resolve to use all this stuff up. I should be more like you, lol.

    • #8 by Latoya on October 16, 2013 - 12:26 pm

      Well now, I’m not like this with everything! Makeup obviously I have an over-abundance of lol, and I could stand to use some of it before buying more!! 😛

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. #9 by Makeup Morsels on October 13, 2013 - 6:29 pm

    Yessss to that organic superteam! Good luck finishing those eye creams, those are always the trickiest. Sometimes I just lose patience and started using them as face creams when my cheeks get dry in the winter (I’m bad).

    Organic loves…you know I’ve totally hopped on the bandwagon lately. May Lindstrom and Osmia Organics are probably my favorite that I’ve tried, but everyone RAVES about Tata Harper so I figure that’s got to be good as well.

    • #10 by Latoya on October 19, 2013 - 11:32 am

      Yea, I’ve heard a ton about Tata Harper & May Lindstrom, MM…and more recently Osmia. I ordered a few samples of May’s from Fresh Faced, and my views so far are mixed – I was pleased The Clean Dirt wasn’t too harsh for my skin, but am underwhelmed by The Youth Dew. Which is kinda great since it was the most expensive thing on my wish list lol.

      Overall I’m having more fun with my skincare routine than I ever have in my life. I love that I rarely worry about potential irritation – my skin is gobbling these organic products up! I look forward to doing it every morning and night, which is kinda half the goal, right? 😉

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. #11 by Maggie (@MaggiesMakeup) on November 3, 2013 - 6:17 pm

    I’m kinda half-and-half when it comes to green lines – I like the idea of an all-natural skincare regime, and I gave it a good try a few years ago. Started oil cleansing, used all-natural soaps, even tried no-poo. A few things stuck, like oil cleansing – but that’s because I found that it made my skin look and feel better. A lot of other stuff didn’t. At the end of the day, I want stuff that works for my skin, regardless of green factor.

    • #12 by Latoya on November 4, 2013 - 4:59 pm

      I think that’s the wisest way to approach things Maggie – don’t rule anything out. I’ve just got so many funny allergies that the organic route has been much easier to manoeuvre through – there are still ingredients that don’t agree with me, but they’re easy to spot and easy to avoid 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  1. Final Empties Post of 2013! | Beauty Obsessed
  2. These are {13} of my favourite things (of 2013) | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

