Summer Polish Combo: Red & White

So…probably should have worn/posted this combo sooner, as it would have been perfectly apt for Canada Day (or with a dash of blue, Independence Day) – oops!  Anyhoo, I didn’t, so…idea for next year?  Yeah, that’s it 😉

I attended yet another wedding this past weekend, and had my outfit planned for weeks – a pretty, floaty, white patterned dress I scored for less than $30 at Forever21 when I was in Ottawa in May.  Since the dress was a bit busy, I wanted to keep my mani/pedi fairly basic.  I settled on a classic combination of red (American Apparel’s Downtown LA) on toes and a soft white (China Glaze Dandy Lyin’ Around) on fingers, which both looked classy and event-appropriate.  Have a look:

Summer Polish Combo - Red and White Summer Polish Combo - Red and White (2)

Red generally isn’t my first choice of polish color, but in this instance I liked the way it looked a lot. Dandy Lyin’ Around is a great white for darker skintones, but it is a bit fussy, admittedly.  However, it served its purpose!

Now…aside from the polishes, I must point out something else – THESE SHOES.  DUDES.  I bought them from Aldo to wear with my dress, but they didn’t really suit it at all.  However, I couldn’t bear to return them, because they were on sale and they are just MARVELOUS.  Revel:

Summer Polish Combo - Red and White (5)

Oh YEA.  Sexy, sexy, sexy.  I need to find a time/place to wear these, stat.  As it stands now, they just sit in my closet looking tantalizingly fabulous…they’re taunting me, and I’ve only had them for like, five days.  But I’m attending a bachelorette party this weekend (yeah…another wedding.  Does anyone else have this many in life, or am I an anomaly?) so I think I will have to bust ’em out then.  Amazingly they don’t seem to be uncomfortable at all (though I’ll get back to you after I wear them dancing for hours…).

Aldo sandalsLook at the sparklies 🙂

Oh yeah.  Those babies are getting worn ASAP!

What awesome purchases have you made lately that rocked your world?

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by BeautyReflections (@BeautyReflectTS) on July 9, 2013 - 9:49 pm

    Love the combo! And DANG those shoes are shmexxxxxxxy!
    I have NO weddings this year-oh wait-I have one later this year! ACCCKKKK!

    • #2 by Latoya on July 10, 2013 - 4:53 pm

      Haha, I do love weddings Tracy, but they never seem to end for me! lol.

      And yea…shmexxxxxxy is right!!! 😀

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. #3 by mzmm on July 10, 2013 - 9:50 am

    beautiful color combo and HOT bling shoes!

    • #4 by Latoya on July 17, 2013 - 6:27 pm

      Well THANK YOU my dear! 🙂

  3. #5 by Sarah on July 10, 2013 - 9:59 am

    How patriotic! I quite like your shoes, too!

    • #6 by Latoya on July 10, 2013 - 4:50 pm

      Awww yea 😉 Thanks Sarah!!

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. #7 by Larie on July 11, 2013 - 12:46 am

    Those shoes are HOT.

    • #8 by Latoya on July 11, 2013 - 3:49 pm

      Uh huh. Yup. They damn well are.

      😀

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. #9 by Arianne/Glitter Geek (@TheGlitterGeek) on July 11, 2013 - 12:02 pm

    The shoes are HAWT!

    I’m really loving the look of white nails on your tanned skin. I have to give it a whirl. 🙂

    • #10 by Latoya on July 11, 2013 - 3:48 pm

      Ohh yes, do it up Arianne! I think you’d pull it off beautifully 🙂

      And the shoes. Oh yea, baby. I’m taking them out on their first run this weekend – can’t wait!!

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. #11 by Liz (@Reductionista) on July 14, 2013 - 12:39 am

    It’s fun to see you get excited about fashion. 🙂 You’re probably dancing your heart out in those shoes at this very moment and hope you’re having the time of your life!

    • #12 by Latoya on July 16, 2013 - 4:10 pm

      Thanks Liz! 🙂 It was a pretty lowkey bachelorette so no dancing with the heels but they felt fab to wear out nonetheless!

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. #13 by Denise on July 17, 2013 - 1:19 am

    Looooove the red/white combo. It’s the Canadian in me. 🙂 For some reason, I’ve been drawn to red nail polish recently. I used to think it was kinda boring, but now I can’t get enough. I’ve been wearing Joe Fresh’s Tomato a lot recently, which is weird because as we know, I rarely wear a nail shade more than once or twice. 😛

    Hot shoes, too! Loving everything about this post, lol.

    • #14 by Latoya on July 21, 2013 - 6:23 am

      Haha thanks Denise! The shoes are great 🙂 And I’ll have to check out that Joe Fresh polish – I agree red normally doesn’t excite me, but if you’ve been wearing it repeatedly it must be worth a look!

      Sent from my iPhone

  8. #15 by Maggie (@MaggiesMakeup) on July 20, 2013 - 10:29 pm

    Those are some exceptionally fine shoes. And damn, woman! How is it that you are making me jealous of your TOENAILS?!?!

    • #16 by Latoya on July 21, 2013 - 6:19 am

      LMAO thanks Maggie! Haha. It’s the shoes I tell ya! Makes EVERYTHING look good 😀

      Sent from my iPhone

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

