Spring Lemmings!

Though it is very much still winter here in Atlantic Canada – 15-20cms of snow was dumped on Saturday night/Sunday morning – I’m starting to think about all the pretty spring collections coming out, and what shades and products I’d like to pick up for the oncoming season.  I’m pretty much ‘meh’ with respect to most of the collections that have come out, but as far as the color palette goes – girly pinks, black liner worn a multitude of ways, emerald green everything – it’ll be easy enough to adapt using either products I already own, or picking up a couple extras that are already existing within different brands.  As my wishlist continues to grow to epic proportions, I’m slowly conquering my lemmings by choosing five products per season that fit the bill (as well as fit my goal of filling any gaps).  Here’s what’s on the list this month!:

Spring Lemmings

1. Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Shadow Stick in Sand Dune $33CAD – Lately I’ve been leaning toward wearing bold lips or cheeks and keeping my eyes quite neutral.  I’m looking for a natural-looking shadow that will melt into my skin but brighten the eye area (sans shimmer) and even it out.  From looking at swatches of this shade, this one fits the bill perfectly!

2. butter London Jasper $17CAD – I really want to own a pretty yellow polish for spring, but the color can be a tricky one and tends to be streaky.  I’ve heard alternate views on this shade, but there’s no denying it’s absolutely spring in a bottle!

3. Giorgio Armani Waterproof Eye Pencil in 1 Granite Black $28 (via Neiman Marcus) – I’ve already mentioned that I’m picking this up soon, as my black liners are at the very nubs – and I want to replace them with what’s supposed to be a fabulous product!

4. YSL Rouge Volupte lipstick in #25 Soft Beige $39CAD – Lacking from my personal stash is a natural nude pink lippie.  I tried on another shade of the Rouge Volupte a couple weeks back and was totally hooked by the creamy, gorgeous texture.  Not so much a fan of the price, but it’ll be a shade I’ll wear often.

5. Becca Mineral Blush in Sweet Pea $38CAD / MAC Sheertone Shimmer in Blushbaby $24CAD – After going through my blush collection last month, I realized I also lack a basic neutral blush shade (seems I don’t like neutrals, huh).  I wont’ be able to try on the Becca color in person, so I’m tempted to play it safe with MAC – but I’ve been meaning to try Becca as a brand for a while.  We’ll see which one takes the honours!

What’s on your wishlist these days?

View from my deck...I actually kinda like it :D

View from my deck…I actually kinda like it 😀

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Annick on February 4, 2013 - 4:50 pm

    I’m in Atlantic Canada too and we’re lucky we didn’t get it that bad here. But it’s so windy right now, it’s ridiculous!

    I’m totally lemming for the YSL Rouge Volupt Shine as well! I kind of want a soft pretty pink. And that Butter London polish looks amazing!

    • #2 by Latoya on February 4, 2013 - 8:43 pm

      I know, TOO pretty Annick! I like the Shine lippies but it bugs me that the wear is short for such a price (like the Chanel Coco Rouge).

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. #3 by Larie on February 4, 2013 - 5:21 pm

    I want a nice neutral cream shadow, too! Not sure which I want. And that yellow Butter London is totally lemming-worthy! I’ve also been eyeing it.

    • #4 by Latoya on February 4, 2013 - 8:42 pm

      It’s gorgeous, right? I’ve seen a few others that are cheaper that I may go for…but it’s the kind of polish that can be tricky, so I might hold off and get ‘the real deal’ haha. And, a good neutral shadow can be tough in the right shade – I hope you find a good one Larie!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. #5 by Linda on February 4, 2013 - 10:41 pm

    Nice choice on the MAC blush.I recently bought Mocha, which I may return.It seems very chalky in texture.I will now go use your blush collection as research!I don’t know how much it will help me as I am the palest person I know,but it will be fun anyway!

    • #6 by Latoya on February 5, 2013 - 7:56 am

      Well you’d be surprised Linda – some of the shades I have I thought would never work for me because I thought they’d be too light!! I find with blush that almost any shade will work across most ski tones, it’s the one makeup item I try not to judge until I try, I’m so often surprised by them. Good luck I’m your hunt!! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. #7 by Makeup Morsels on February 5, 2013 - 2:06 am

    I love the sound of Sand Dune…I’m always enticed by ‘one-step’ products, that’s just me being lazy as usual. And Jasper is such a sunny shade, but I’ve pretty much given up on yellow polishes at this point, let me know if that one turns out to have an amazing formula! Spring wish list….all of the L’oreal Shine Stains (but actually, I want all of them. SUCH A PROBLEM)

    • #8 by Latoya on February 5, 2013 - 7:54 am

      Well, after how good it looked on you MM, it’s no damn surprise you want ’em all!! I even want them now too lol.

      I’m kinda lazy too I think, I always appreciate a one-and-done application like the BB Cream Sticks…lets hope it’s good!

      And I’ll keep ya posted on the yellow polish 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. #9 by Sarah P. on February 5, 2013 - 10:51 am

    I’ve never tried BB products but I’ve heard nothing but good things. I don’t often wear eye shadow because I’m lazy, and these look like a good solution to that.

    Also I love the look of that Becca blush. I really wish the Sephora near me had a better in-store Becca selection

    • #10 by Latoya on February 16, 2013 - 8:47 pm

      Ooh, there is actually Becca AT the Ottawa store?? We don’t have it here at all except for the paired Beach Tint samples. I’d love to be able to see the products in real life because I hate always having to decide from online pics and swatches.

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. #11 by BeautyReflections (@BeautyReflectTS) on February 6, 2013 - 1:35 am

    Nice lemmings Toya! I’d love to try a Becca Mineral blush too as everyone loves them! But Blushbaby is a great shade-it’s a staple blush I think you need for sure!

    • #12 by Latoya on February 16, 2013 - 8:44 pm

      Yes, I think so too, Tracy. I hope it’s not so sheer that it doesn’t show up on me though. I would be totally happy to have both, in an ideal world 😀

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. #13 by Becca @ The Beauty Sample on February 6, 2013 - 4:18 am

    You NEED Becca’s Sweet Pea, Toya! It’s soo so gorgeous!! I have been wanting another neutral blush though but more pink than Sweet Pea–either Blushbaby or the ever-popular Exposed or even Nars Douceur

    • #14 by Latoya on February 16, 2013 - 8:43 pm

      All of those look awesome to me, Becca! I would be pleased with ’em all – except unfortunately Exposed has mega-lanolin, which is such a bummer. I really want Sweet Pea!

      Sent from my iPhone

  8. #15 by Liz (@Reductionista) on February 9, 2013 - 1:28 am

    Everyone’s making a list but I can’t because I’d rather pin and there’s no limit there, lol.

    Blushbaby was my first MAC and maybe like my third blush purchase ever. I pulled it out today for old time’s sake and it’s still nice. 🙂

    Heard great things about all of the above-mentioned! I hope you can eventually get a few of them, if not all!

    • #16 by Latoya on February 16, 2013 - 10:57 am

      Me too, Liz. So far I’m 0 for 5 😦 Hopefully that’ll change soon! Gotta get my hands on some new goodies, stat!

      Sent from my iPhone

  9. #17 by Amy on February 9, 2013 - 10:52 pm

    Oooh, Blushbaby! I want. And I’ve heard such good things about Becca’s blushes. Can’t wait to see what you end up picking up!

    • #18 by Latoya on February 16, 2013 - 10:22 am

      So far I’ve picked up…nothing. LOL! I’m so thrifty right now! This always happens, I make these lists and then either change my mind or hold out. ~sigh~

      Sent from my iPhone

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

