Um, so…I Went On a Little Shopping Spree…

Today I got out of bed bright and early and headed down to the Chanel counter to check out the new spring 2013 collection, which just arrived yesterday.  And…um.  I bought a few things.

Chanel

O_o

This is what happens every single time I try to keep my spending way down.  I lose my shit and buy everything in sight.  Haven’t I learned this lesson already!?!?

…anyway.  Yeah.  Chanel spree.  I’m, uh…I’m probably good for a while.

Here’s a sneak peek at the first installment (yes…there is a second.  On it’s way to me next week.  More on that in a minute, though):

Chanel Spree

I really mixed it up with all my purchases – I have a piece from the current Printemps Precieux spring collection, the Poudre Signée de Chanel; a polish from the 2009 Côte D’Azur summer collection, Orange Fizz; and a re-released eyeshadow quad from the Sophisticated Eye collection, 08 Vanités, which came out in summer 2011.  BOOM!  Clearly, I was not messing around to-day.  Since I was up so damn early, I managed to get home and get swatches of everything before the sunlight ran away from me – however, I still haven’t had a chance to play with everything yet, so reviews on all will be forthcoming.  First thoughts?  Z.O.M.G.

Chanel Spree (3)

Here’s where it gets even more crazy (and um…long-winded.  So get comfy!).  Yesterday around lunchtime, the S.A. at the Chanel counter called me to let me know the spring collection had finally arrived.  I was in training outside the city, and wouldn’t be anywhere near the counter for the rest of the day.  She let me know she couldn’t hold the illuminating powder for me, as it’s limited edition, and truth be told, I had already half-convinced myself that I wasn’t going to get it anyway.  Often I determine my purchases by how much value you guys will get of swatches/reviews of a product, and the powder has been done to death – nothing new for anyone!  So I told her not to worry about it, and I’d be in sometime over the next week.

Chanel Spree (2)

But it nagged at me.  And as it happens, I was on Twitter on my lunchbreak and came across Best Thing in Beauty’s review of the Mouche de Beauté Illuminating Powder that’s part of the Versailles de Chanel Cruise 2012/13 collection, and was exclusively designed for the show (along with a pink Ombre Essentielle eyeshadow in Rose Favorite)Another gorgeous highlighting powder with a fantabulous design.  THIS could be an item my readers would want to see, right?  And I hadn’t even heard of it ’till then, so it would be a relatively exciting review.  Since I’ve been driving myself crazy looking and looking and looking at pretty things, but not really buying, I got the major impulse to call up a Chanel boutique (I chose T.O.’s Bloor St location) and order one of the powders.  The SA was with a client, so I left my number for her to call me back.

Chanel Mouche de Beaute Illuminating Powder

End of day on Friday – no return call.  I had heard a rumor that Chanel boutiques will sometimes not sell products to you via phone unless you are already a client there, and I wondered if that was happening in my case.  I was pretty pissed, to be honest – how do you become a client if you can’t buy your first item from them?  So, when I woke up bright and early this AM, I decided to appease myself by heading down to my local counter to see what was left of the powders from the spring collection.

Chanel Ombre-Essentielle-Rose-Favorite

BINGO.  Turns out, there were still 6 powders of the 14 she had received, and when I touched it – dudes, this shiz is SOFT.  Baby’s butt soft.  It’s crazy!  So I clearly snapped one up; clearly it was meant to be.  However, I didn’t stop there.  I wasn’t sold on the spring nail shades – while Fracas is GORGEOUS, it’s so close to Deb Lippmann’s Daytripper (which is more of a jelly formula, but shade-wise very similar), and Accessoire is too close to Zoya’s Anja for my liking.  Emprise is nice but not really my thing.  What I wanted, was a pretty peachy-toned shade, and Orange Fizz just called to me.  It’s sort of a mid-tone coral-orange, but it look like spring in a bottle to me!  Also, because in discovering the gaps in my makeup collection, I realized I lacked a lilac shade, I had previously decided to buy the Vanités quad at some point, and well…I was on a roll, so I bought it right then.

…DAMN.  At least I had a $25 gift card :S

I get home and I’m totally enamoured with my pretties, when I get a call – from the Chanel boutique in Toronto.  “Just getting back to you about the Mouche de Beauté powder, what’s your address?”  Umm….

…Yea, I gave it to her.  I also gave in to her when I asked if they had any bottles of Malice left (STILL TRYING!), and while she said they didn’t, apparently there’s a new shade they’ve received as part of the Hong Kong collection, Western Light, which is a ‘deep chocolate with a hint of pearly red’ (there’s also another polish, Eastern Light, which is a white shade).  WTF?!  My wallet isn’t merely crying right now, it’s running out the door and living at La Maison de Chanel.  Jeez louise.

If you’re interested in throwing your money at Chanel too, here are some pictures and links with info about the two collections:

Versailles de Chanel Cruise 2012/13 Collection

Sandra’s Closet (product info and looks from the runway)

BE.com (in French; product photos)

Hong Kong Collection

When A Door Closes… (product info and photos)

The Blonde Salad (Le Vernis bottle shots)

So yea.  I think that’s just about all the makeup shopping I’m going to be doing for the next few months LOL.  I feel sort of half-sick to my stomach, but also *finally* satiated, and I’d rather buy a couple really wonderful products, than a mass pile of just more items that are probably repeats in my stash – happily, everything I bought has no comparable mate out of all the makeup I own, so there’s that.  I have been meaning to buy a powder illuminator for some time (I really don’t have one, somehow!); now, I’ll have two so I am PRETTY MUCH SET FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE.  Wicked.

Chanel Spree (4)

As mentioned, reviews and swatches will be coming soon.  In the meantime, how have you been indulging in your consumerism side lately??

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Liz (@Reductionista) on January 26, 2013 - 6:44 pm

    Holy smokes! My eyes grew bigger and bigger as the post kept going and going! O__O

    Well, I know all too well how this feels. Might as well go big or go home, right? You were on pretty tight control for a while so it looks like a worthy splurge was long overdue! Congratulations and enjoy! Those highlighters are TO DIE FOR. I hope they treat you well. And I think Orange Fizz would look awesome on you. 🙂 I like the look of Fracas and don’t have anything like that, but I’m off nail polish for a while.

    I’ve been pretty good lately, just picking up one thing here or there that aren’t too similar to things I already have. If I continue to be good, I’m going to do something really bad at the Burberry counter on my birthday in March. >:D

    • #2 by Latoya on January 28, 2013 - 8:53 am

      YESSSSSS. Birthday Burberry treats should be mandatory 😉 I think the way you’re approaching things is how I need to handle myself, not *thinking* so restrictively and just buying a piece here and there and choosing items of which I have nothing similar. You’re being smart – well done you!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. #3 by Amy on January 26, 2013 - 7:45 pm

    OH MAN, Toya, this is such an awesome haul. Holy shlamoly at both of those highlighting powders––I can’t wait to hear what you think of them! And that nail polish is so pretty––or, I guess, both of those polishes, including the Hong Kong one!

    I totally know what you mean about going crazy with shopping; there are times that my restraint just leaves me entirely, and I end up ordering 30 new perfume samples (my brain still has some “don’t buy things that cost more than $5 apiece without considering it seriously beforehand”, but that has no effect when it comes to perfume samples or nail polish). Or when I’m trying to do stats and feeling frustrated and finally figure it out and think, hey, you know what that deserves?! Something pretty! Like an Armani lipstick, or Burberry eyeshadow, or Chanel blush…I’ve managed to restrain myself so far, but there’s still 7 weeks left in the term. Why are there so many pretties?!

    • #4 by Latoya on January 28, 2013 - 8:12 am

      HONESTLY!! It’s just unfair. I want one of everything, it feels like somedays. I’m glad you can get where I’m coming from, when you lose restraint. I think I’m just too restrained for my own good (in blogger terms, anyway – to ‘normal’ people, I’m still crazy lol). I need to find a balance, somehow.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. #5 by BeautyReflections (@BeautyReflectTS) on January 26, 2013 - 8:23 pm

    HAHAHA wow! You did GOOD. HAHAHA.
    See, I think all the restraint finally drives us crazy! I bought something too after not buying anything since November. 🙂

    • #6 by Latoya on January 28, 2013 - 8:07 am

      Damn it Tracy! Why does that happen?? Though you did better than I, I still bought stuff in December – not even a month ago lol. I’m so weak! ~sobs~

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. #7 by M (crumbsncashmere) on January 26, 2013 - 8:42 pm

    I understand your plight and it is ok. You did good! And what gorgeous colors. Who could resist that packaging and all those beautiful tamped designs. I would buy just to look at them!

    • #8 by Latoya on January 26, 2013 - 10:32 pm

      I KNOW, right? It’s not my fault! LOL I’m glad you get where I’m coming from Maura, I think everyone has been there at least once! I’m just hoping I love every inch of each piece I bought! :S

  5. #9 by Sarah on January 26, 2013 - 11:52 pm

    Wow! Those are beautiful. That powder is insane. I hope you enjoy all of your gorgeous new purchases!

    • #10 by Latoya on January 28, 2013 - 8:05 am

      Thank you!! The powder is lovely, the illuminating effect is just perfect, Sarah. I love the polish as well. I’m not sold on the eyeshadow palette but I’m going to play with it this week and see how it fares ~fingers crossed~

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. #11 by Denise on January 27, 2013 - 3:05 am

    LOL, your shopping spree was AMAZING. I have to live vicariously through you because I’m saving my money for MAC’s upcoming Betty & Veronica collection and can’t be throwing it at Chanel right now. 😛 On that note, though, Chanel hasn’t come out with anything recently that’s made me go “I HAVE TO HAVE THAT.” I feel like a lot of the new things they’re releasing, while gorgeous, are nothing really new. That highlighting powder is stunning, though. So tempting… but I feel like I have maybe 40 highlighting powders just sitting in my drawer right now, so… NO I CAN’T!!!

    • #12 by Latoya on January 28, 2013 - 8:04 am

      Haha, stay strong Denise!! Chanel doesn’t normally tempt me all that much – I don’t tend to go for ‘muted’ makeup and the shades are generally tailored to lighter skin tones. But the highlighter totally snuck up on me!!! And I do ❤ the polishes. I dunno, I think I had a weak moment is all haha.

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. #13 by Larie on January 27, 2013 - 1:35 pm

    HAHAHAHA good job, Toya! Like Liz, as the post kept going I was like o_O But you deserve it! And I know the feeling after a splurge…upset about all the money, but then thrilled with the purchases. Ah, well. Such is life! At least you’ll enjoy them! I know you will!

    • #14 by Latoya on January 28, 2013 - 8:02 am

      I hope so Larie lol. Right now I’m still feeling that mixture of guilt and euphoria lol. What I need to do is learn my lesson about restricting myself too much – always ends in disaster!

      Sent from my iPhone

  8. #15 by nawi on January 27, 2013 - 3:15 pm

    LOL what a recognizable artikel I know what you mean I was not planning on getting much from the Chanel spring collection ending up going back to get more three times this week and know I am still thinking about getting the Frivole blush. Oh well some buy lots of clothes or shoes and i buy make up. Cannot wait to read more reviews.

    • #16 by Latoya on January 28, 2013 - 8:00 am

      Thanks Nawi! I’m glad you can understand where I’m coming from 😛 Chanel can be SO hard to resist!

      Sent from my iPhone

  9. #17 by Emi at Project Swatch on January 27, 2013 - 9:29 pm

    So many pretties, and so PRETTY! I have a giant-enormous wishlist right now too (though none Chanel) and I’m trying to resist!

    • #18 by Latoya on January 28, 2013 - 7:59 am

      Ugh, it’s so hard Emi!!! I want everything, and it’s even harder when I really *can’t* buy whatever I want. Then I lose all control. I suggest you spoil yourself at least occasionally, so you don’t make my mistake!

      Sent from my iPhone

  10. #19 by Leticia - Cosmetics Aficionado on January 28, 2013 - 12:10 am

    Amazing haul! I love getting Chanel goodies. 🙂 I want that highlighter.

    • #20 by Latoya on January 28, 2013 - 7:58 am

      Haha which one? It was a ‘good’ haul but a little crazy!!!

      Sent from my iPhone

  11. #21 by makeupmorsels on January 29, 2013 - 9:10 pm

    Ah, Chanel! I have this all-consuming need for Mouche de Beauté Illuminating Powder that I am going to determinedly ignore until they stop selling it so if it could please sell out ASAP that would be great. I can’t wait to see your reviews on these, I hope you love em because they definitely look like worthy picks 🙂 I picked up an Infallible Eyeshadow and Shine Stain from L’oreal the other day. I love them both, and am thinking about going back for more of the stains. That’s the trouble with having coupons, it makes it so tempting to buy more than you should!

  12. #22 by My Lucite Dreams on January 30, 2013 - 6:30 pm

    I little shopping spree!? Well you did well. The highlighting powder is just so beautiful, I love the gold in it and that design! I have also wanted to get my hands on Orange Fizz it such a classic, I can see it looking georgeous on your skintone. Looking forward to some more photos! Weeee

  13. #23 by Ava on February 1, 2013 - 4:10 pm

    Thanks for the link love, Latoya! I can’t wait to get and swatch the Hong Kong palette and the “Western Lights nail polish.” I decided to pass on the white “Eastern Lights;” there’s got to be a dupe, right? (Of course, I’ve been known to regret uttering those words when it comes to Chanel polishes!) Mouche de Beauté Illuminating Powder is winging its ways to me too. I’m thinking seriously of putting myself on a beauty budget. I gather that you are on a perpetual concealer search – have you found “the one?” I’ve a few good ones, but not the perfect one.

    • #24 by Latoya on February 2, 2013 - 10:21 am

      I definitely haven’t found ‘the one’ yet, unfortunately Ava! I think my next effort will be OCC’s SKIN: Conceal one…I’ve read good things. What ones have you found?

      I think that passing on Eastern Lights is probably OK – I mean, a white polish, no matter how lovely, is still…white. I don’t think it’s ever REALLY gonna take the world by storm lol. The Beaute powder still haunts me, I wish I could get my hands on it without spending an arm and a leg on shipping!! It’s just too much to justify…look forward to your post on it though (and living vicariously :P)!

  1. Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

