A Silver Polish I Actually Like – Revlon’s Sterling

This is going to be a super-quick post (no…really) as apparently this party-girl is still going despite the fact that technically Christmas is over.  Over the past week I’ve been burning the candle at both ends every single night except Christmas night…funny, that.  Anywho, while I wait for my drive to take me to my next party (despite the fact that I work tomorrow, as I did today…ugh), I figured I would post quick pics of a great silver polish I found on the cheap – $2.99CAD on sale at Lawtons drugstore.  Woot!  I am NOT a fan of silver in most forms of cosmetics (on my skintone), but this somehow works.

Behold Revlon’s Top Speed Nail Enamel in Sterling:

Revlon SterlingArtificial light

Revlon Sterling (3)With flash

Revlon Sterling (2)With flash

It’s kinda of blinding, no?  Quite eye-catching without being gaudy, and even though it’s more of a blue-based silver than I normally go for, I think it looks quite nice on me.  Maybe my issue is that I’ve been choosing the wrong silver tones all this time!  I’m finding more and more that shades I had once written off actually aren’t so bad.  I’m starting to think that for some colors, wearing clashing tones (as in, if your skin leans warm, wear cooler shades and vice versa), actually looks better.  The verdict is still out on whether or not my skin is cool or warm (some days I suspect I am just plain neutral) – I always thought I was a warmer skintone, but there are a lot of indications that point to that assumption being incorrect.  I tend to favor silver jewelry over gold, for example.  In any case…I’m starting to ramble and not make sense.  THIS is what happens when you write a post under an uber-short timeframe!

To the point.  This is a great silver that looks good on me (I think?  Thoughts?) and it applied very easily without any trouble (this is two coats).  I had previously forgone any more Revlon polishes but I think the fast-dry versions are much better than their regular counterparts.  And perhaps the new Revlon polishes are just fine.  Ahh, rambling again!  All I want to say is – if you see this around, give it a look.  Even at full price, which is something like $6CAD, it’s worth a shot and a great shade to wear for the holidays/New Years Eve!

Do you wear shades that ‘clash’ with your skintone?  Do you know if you’re warm or cool?  What was the determining factor?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Annick on December 27, 2012 - 9:42 pm

    I totally agree that the polish looks great on you! It’s so hard to find a flattering silver polish – so glad you found yours!

    • #2 by Latoya on December 30, 2012 - 12:25 pm

      Thanks Annick!! Silver is such a tricky shade I find, and there are so many tonal differences to pay attention to – I just lucked out with this one 🙂

  2. #3 by refinedandpolished on December 27, 2012 - 9:52 pm

    I don’t typically like silver polish either, but this one looks good on you.

    • #4 by Latoya on January 2, 2013 - 4:59 pm

      Thanks Lakeisha! I was surprised but it got me thinking to try other ‘not me’ shades now too! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. #5 by Eugenia on December 27, 2012 - 10:36 pm

    I totally have a “thing” for silver – nail polish, makeup, jewelry, clothing – you name it! Blame it on the fact that as a Cancerian, our metal is silver and we naturally gravitate towards it! Personally, my 2 experiences with Revlon nail polish were far from good, and so I’ve basically snubbed this brand ever since, but I must say that the finish on this shade is fabulous! Will definitely be checking it out.
    PS: I don’t know why you got it into your head that silver doesn’t suit you; I think it looks amazing on you! Have fun, be careful and don’t burn out!

    • #6 by Latoya on January 2, 2013 - 5:01 pm

      Oy! I’m not fully burnt out – could probably squeeze a bit more life outta me yet – but I’m definitely worn down to say the least lol. But MAN was it a fun holiday! 🙂

      As for silver – this definitely changed my mind, I’m going to have to re-think a handful of shades now and see what else I can discover!

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. #7 by makeupmorsels on December 29, 2012 - 12:52 am

    woohooo you go party Toya 🙂 Parties are in short supply for me now that I’m not in school, so I’m being mellow this holiday season. But if I were, I think I’d be wearing something like this too. It looks fantastic on you! I love the finish. I’m pretty sure I’m neutral…I really have no idea though hahaha

    • #8 by Latoya on January 2, 2013 - 4:57 pm

      It’s tricky to figure out I find. I think I’m olive which is weird b/c I’m brown too lol. Maybe more like Eva Mendes coloring or something? Frig I dunno haha. In any case, this taught me to try different shades out that I’d normally skip – I might find a gem in the meantime! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. #9 by BurbBeauty on December 29, 2012 - 2:09 pm

    Looks awesome on you! Pop some glitter over that, and you have the perfect NYE mani. 🙂

    • #10 by Latoya on January 2, 2013 - 4:56 pm

      I need more glitters in my life I think Lola, I don’t even have anything that would have worked! For shame…it would’ve been spectacular! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. #11 by Liz (@Reductionista) on December 30, 2012 - 9:07 pm

    I tend to steer towards gold more than silver lately but I always did associate extra shiny blingy silver with New Year’s. You rock them out and enjoy! $2.99 is an awesome find. 🙂

    • #12 by Latoya on January 2, 2013 - 4:54 pm

      Right? I was pretty pumped. I’m more of a gold gal in makeup and a silver one in jewelry (confused, much?), but maybe I’ll switch that up in the New Year, try something different 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. #13 by Larie on December 30, 2012 - 11:48 pm

    It does look awesome on you! I like gold and silver equally, and on nails I think I usually prefer silver. My favorite silver is Zoya Trixie!

    • #14 by Latoya on January 2, 2013 - 4:48 pm

      I’ve heard a lot of great feedback about Trixie – I adore how it looks in general but I’m not sure I’d like it on me. However, seems I am not fully up to speed with the shades that work on my skin tone, so I’ll have to give it a closer look sometime!

      Sent from my iPhone

  8. #15 by hannah on November 6, 2015 - 6:49 pm

    hi! do you find it goes on better with a base coat? also, do you use a top coat? thanks!

    • #16 by Latoya on November 10, 2015 - 10:58 am

      I always use a base coat for any polish, but a top coat with this particular shade isn’t necessary – I find metallics like this don’t really take on that glossy shine much unless you use a really thick top coat, just kind of gets lost and it’s an extra step that doesn’t give much payoff.

  1. The Ever-Helpful Filler Post: A FOTD, Polish, and Nail Art! | Beauty Obsessed
  2. Hurry up, spring! My nail polish picks for spring 2014 | Beauty Obsessed
  3. OPI Two to Celebrate Coca-Cola Polish Set {Review & Swatches} | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

