Score a Lit-From-Within Glow with Clinique’s Uplighting Liquid Illuminator in Bronze

Ever since the end of last month, when I decided I was going to make an effort to use every single makeup item in my stash over the next month (or two…I’ve got a fair bit to go through!), I’ve been rediscovering some real gems that I forgot I even had in my possession.  It’s been a great exercise in recognizing just how much I have, and lessening the urge to buy anything new of which I don’t already have a reasonable fascimile.  It also has helped me weed out items I no longer want, and give some love to my long-forgotten products!  It’s an all around good time 😀

Clinique Uplighting in Bronze

One product in particular that has actually been on my radar for months, but I just couldn’t be bothered to use, is Clinique’s Up-Lighting Liquid Illuminator in Bronze ($32CAD/$25US), described as a sheer bronze with gold shimmer.   For some reason, I couldn’t get on board with this product, and I kept pulling it out to use only to bypass it and choose something else.  Finally, in my new dedication to using everything, I tried it once more – and DAMN!  What was I waiting for!?  This stuff is GOLD (well – bronze really, but you know what I mean ;)).

Clinique Uplighting in Bronze swatchesArtificial light

Clinique Uplighting in Bronze swatches (2) Clinique Uplighting in Bronze swatches (3)With flash

Dispensed via a pump mechanism, you only need a very small drop of liquid for each cheek – the size of a pinhead.  Without natural light, it’s hard to show you the beautiful effect this illuminator has on the skin in a swatch.  It looks metallic and just kinda…blech.  But!  Never fear my fellow makeup fiends, because this baby shows up FABULOUSLY on the face in photos – which is kinda the whole deal, right?  It’s always good to have an arsenal of photo-friendly products in your back pocket!  Bask in the glory:

Glowing Look

You can see my pores a bit here, but it’s not truly due to the product (sadly), and you can only see them in this kind of very up-close view.

Glowing Look  (2)

I remember once going out for an event, and a few photos were taken that were later posted on Facebook.  A friend at the time wrote a comment and said ‘Whatever makeup you’re using to give you that glow, I WANT IT.’  Stupidly, even though I remember this and remember how GREAT I looked in that photo, I stopped using this for a few years!  What the what!?!

Glowing Look  (3)

Like my cute feathered headband??  I bought this a few years ago when feathers in your hair were a big thing.  I still think this works because it’s not obnoxious, and it really dresses up my hair if I’m lazy and pull it back 🙂

Glowing Look  (4)

I find when I’m wearing this, which has been a lot lately, I hardly need any other makeup, because it just makes me look so damn HEALTHY.  And it’s terribly easy to use, at least on my skintone – I just dab a touch on each cheek and then pat it along my cheekbones with either my finger or a stippling brush.  It gives a hint of color, but mostly the illuminating effect speaks for itself without anything else needed.  I will give a note of caution however – on a lighter skintone, you’ll need to apply this more carefully, as it could look a touch muddy if applied with a heavy hand.  Or, even better – head out and grab yourself the ‘Natural‘ shade, which is a soft neutral beige with gold shimmer, and blends into almost any skintone (and is great to use an a inner eye corner or brow highlight too!).  There’s also a ‘Blush‘ option – a sheer pink with white shimmer – but I’ve never tried it or used it on any of my clients, so I can’t comment on it.  Sephora doesn’t seem to carry the Natural shade online, and currently the Bronze shade is sold out, but you can get all three on the Clinique websites (Canada & the US).

Glowing Look  (5)

Basically, you absolutely need this if you’re in the market for a liquid highlighter/illuminator – or even if you’re not.  It’s just so freakin’ great!  The wear time if you can believe is exceptional too – all day without any touch-ups required, which I think is quite a feat for a liquid product that I’m not layering or powdering.  And I’ll admit, some Clinique makeup doesn’t seem to last that long in general – but this sure does!  The only issue I have at all is that the pump sometimes gets a bit clogged so if you’re not careful, too much will come out if you push the pump too hard.  But it’s such a slight inconvenience for the awesomeness you get that I don’t care one iota about it.  A small price to pay to look like you just came back from a run on the beach in Hawaii or something.  It reminds me of that fabulous glow you get in the evenings when your down South and it’s still warm but you’re not sweating at all – LOVE IT!

So – liquid illuminator, check.  Now I just need a powder illuminator – any suggestions?  Do you prefer liquid, cream or powder highlighters?  Or none at all?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Larie on December 17, 2012 - 9:07 pm

    I really loved this stuff, too! Do they still make it? I wanted the opal-colored one…still do, actually.

    • #2 by Latoya on December 17, 2012 - 9:12 pm

      Yep, that the Natural shade. Still make it, and I see its being promoted on the website so sounds like its not going anywhere Larie! Scoop one up! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. #3 by Becca @ The Beauty Sample on December 17, 2012 - 9:13 pm

    Oh wow–this is SO so gorgeous on you, Toya!! It almost looks like a rosy-bronze–so beautiful! I hadn’t heard of these, for some reason, but I am definitely curious now! I’m going to the mall tomorrow so will definitely be swatching!

    As far as your mission to use everything in your stash, I have decided that I NEED to do this (….after I buy just a couple of things from the Spring 2013 collections, perhaps :P). I was digging around my makeup last night and realized that my beautiful Burberry blush in Cameo has been sitting virtually untouched for MONTHS. I’ve probably only worn it once or twice. :/ Also, Chanel’s Troublant was a gloss I went crazy for when I first bought it but then tucked it away and forgot about it, where it’s been for about 5 months now. Eeps! I put it on last night and fell in love all over again. *sigh* I think I have a problem….:P

    • #4 by Latoya on December 20, 2012 - 8:05 am

      I think our nature as bloggers means we all have a problem lol. That’s why we band together, cause we all totally get it! If I have to ‘try’ to use all my products…yea, we’ve got problems lol. There’s just so much pretty stuff! But how nice it is that you’re also rediscovering some gems, Becca! I definitely was happy to play with the illuminator again! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. #5 by Liz (@Reductionista) on December 17, 2012 - 10:09 pm

    The glow definitely shows better in the far shots! I’m never sure that highlighters went on properly until I catch myself in the mirror from a distance under a certain light. LOL @ FB comments btw. New profile pics!!!

    Rediscovering old goodies are the best. Glad you found this before it was too late!

    • #6 by Latoya on December 20, 2012 - 8:06 am

      Seriously. This was coming close to getting tossed – I can’t believe it. I have my love documented now so I won’t forget again 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. #7 by Amy on December 17, 2012 - 10:48 pm

    So pretty!!! I haven’t really gotten into illuminators/highlighters, just because my skin is soooo oily it’s always seemed counterproductive, but I’ve started to get more interested in the idea. This one is just gorgeous on you! I’ll be keeping it (and Blush, ooh la la) in mind 🙂

    • #8 by Latoya on December 20, 2012 - 7:57 am

      I always felt the same Amy, so my highlighter/illuminator stash is fairly tiny – but now that it’s winter and my skin is less ‘naturally dewy’ – and I’ve also seemed to find the magic key in which my skin is really great right now – I like them a lot more. This one ranks right up there as near perfection 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. #9 by makeupmorsels on December 18, 2012 - 11:32 pm

    omg I totally thought the snow on your blog was some very flat round bug so I just spent a really long time spazzing out trying to catch it…..NEED SLEEP LOL. You look so glowy I can’t even believe it! It looks totally unassuming in the tube but absolutely amazing on your face your faceee I can’t even take it. Definitely a good rediscovery 🙂

    • #10 by Latoya on December 20, 2012 - 7:55 am

      Hahaha ‘I can’t even take it’ lol. That exactly how I feel wearing it though, MM! It’s effing awesome. Score one Clinique!

      And yea…if you’re chasing screen snowflakes my dear – you NEED some sleep lol

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. #11 by BeautyReflections (@BeautyReflectTS) on December 20, 2012 - 12:57 am

    This is absolute perfection on you girl! Don’t stop using it again! 😉

    • #12 by Latoya on December 20, 2012 - 7:50 am

      I won’t, Tracy! It’s way too pretty!!! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

