Random EOTD’s For Your Viewing Pleasure

I’m having a bit of a moment lately; I’m rather uninspired to write, or even read blogs the past couple weeks.  Part of that is due to the fact that I’m trying to not buy anything: with my trip to New Zealand less than a week away (so crazy!!), I just can’t justify buying any pretties, especially just to have them sit there for over a month unused while I travel.  I know there are plenty of things I could write about, but the new stuff is always the most fun, am I right?  The other part is that anything that’s giving me the lemming itch doesn’t come out until after I leave, and will likely be sold out when I return, so what’s the point of getting excited for nothing?  It’s a sad state of affairs, my friends.

Wearing Chanel Abstraction Illusion d’Ombre over Clinique’s Rum Spice Color Surge Eyeshadow. As beautiful as Abstraction is, it can be tricky to get the true shimmering beauty to translate on the eye.  The deep warm bronze of Rum Spice helped give it a solid base to build upon.

What’s weird about this is that I’ve actually been more inspired than ever to play with makeup – almost every day I try a new ‘look’ and end up actually loving it.  It seems that while I’m having an ‘off’ month with respect to blogging, nevertheless I’m clearly having a makeup moment, in which I’ve figured out truly how to wear it.  That sounds kind of ridiculous considering I’ve been blogging for a while (with FOTD’s) and I have been doing wedding and event makeup for like, 10 years.  But truly – I’ve JUST GOT IT.

After a breakup, there’s often that feeling of wanting a change, to start fresh.  Naturally, my feeling was instantly related to beauty, and I decided to start focusing more on just one feature rather than overwhelming my face.  While I generally stick to that rule in theory, I would often do a smoky eye and neutral lips – but then add just a touch too much blush.  Or bold lips but then add a bit of shadow, which would end up looking ‘too done.’  I’ve really toned it down this fall, and now if I do a strong lip then I wear just the barest hint of blush and mascara.  Or I’ll wear a fierce flush and keep everything else very minimal (though sometimes I will go for a juicy matching pout).  I find the effect has been MUCH more satisfactory to me, and I’ve actually gotten a lot more compliments on how I look.

A look I did before going out last weekend, using MAC Vex shadow and Dark Soul pigment.  I find silver notoriously hard to wear, so this was a great achievement for me!

The real reason for this change was that I really want to make a statement.  My wardrobe is relatively basic, with only a few outfits that make me feel on-trend; makeup is really where I shine.  If I can’t generate attention via my closet, I can surely make something happen with my beauty approach, right?  And it seems that I’ve just about nailed it 🙂

Though the looks I’m showing in this post are all focused on eyes, believe me when I say that I’ve been having quite the time with dramatic lips this season as well – it’s just that I’ve already on one of the shades (Ellis Faas Creamy Lips in L102, which I love more every day!), and I’m planning on posting the other shade I’ve been rocking lately (keep your eyes peeled!).  What pleases me about these eye looks specifically is that not only have I gotten the rest of the makeup down pat, but I’ve managed to blend and layer my shadows much better than usual, which has made some previously hard-to-wear shades, actually quite wearable!

L’Oreal’s Golden Mahogany Infallible shadow, using MAC’s Vex once again as an inner eye/lid color.I was inspired this week on Refinery29 about pairing reddish eyeshadow with silver, so I had to try it out – and I absolutely LOVED it!  New favorite right here.

In any case, while I’ve been somewhat absent around these here parts, don’t you think for a second that I’m not still living and breathing beauty.  I just seem to have a combination of writer’s block, decreased funds, and a mega-trip on my mind – but I think when I get back in November, I’m going to be chock full of energy to get back on the horse again.  I’ve been particularly desperate to do some swatching series, but as my hands and forearms have been having serious eczema breakout for two months now, it’s just not going to happen until that clears up 😦  I’m hoping the fresh NZ air will fix me – both my skin and my brain 🙂

Which look is your favorite?  Do you ever go through ‘slow’ spells with makeup and/or blogging?

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Larie on September 30, 2012 - 8:07 pm

    You look amazing, Toya, and I definitely hear you on blogging woes and creativity and all of that. I’m glad you’re coming up with new looks – I think putting one’s self on a low-buy type of thing tends to accomplish that, which is always really fun. Have fun on your trip, my dear! I want to see photos and hear stories and I hope you stay safe and happy.

  2. #2 by Amy on September 30, 2012 - 11:22 pm

    Oh my gosh, so much awesome here! Your eye looks are all amazing, and I’m so impressed by your color combinations! And very pleased to hear that you feel like you’ve “got” makeup down––I’m definitely not there yet, and it’s inspiring to know there are people out there who are 🙂 Have an awesome time on your trip, and I’m so excited to hear all about it 😀

  3. #3 by Liz (@Reductionista) on October 1, 2012 - 12:46 am

    Totally hear you. I’m loving my stash but it’s been difficult to blog about it. I think a break’s good for everyone and we just need to focus our attention on other aspects of our lives for a while. Don’t feel any pressure — just do what you gotta do!

    I’m loving that second look because I’m into dark smouldering eyes lately and the red/plum tones still scare me. But you’re looking awesome and I’d like for you to show us some more EOTDs once you’re back and ready. 🙂

  4. #4 by Buggsiebee on October 1, 2012 - 3:25 am

    Loving both looks….blended to a T!!!
    Burgundy/plum shades also scare me but there are so many divine shades of them out this Fall/Winter that I think it’s time to play & find a way to make friends:)
    Wishing you a fantastic stay in NZ! It’s not a makeup hotspot so your funds should be safe in that regard.
    I’m not sure if you’re a wine drinker but imho they produce the most delicious Sauvignon Blanc in the world!
    Have a ball!!

  5. #5 by Eugenia on October 1, 2012 - 1:21 pm

    Love the smokey look on you … then again, love all these looks on you and I find you’ve inspired me to try a few things of my own, or at least to tweak what I normally wear. I’ve had Vex for years (one of my earliest MAC shadows) and rarely give it the attention it deserves; your combos here are brilliant and make me want to bust mine out, lol! As to the writer’s block, my advice to you is to not think about it, do NOT feel guilty about it either (after all, you’re blogging because you want to and not because you’re being paid to or have some crazy deadline to meet) and focus on what makes YOU happy. The rest will follow, more naturally and easier than before. Plus, you have that fantastic trip coming up!!! So excited for you (and dying that I can’t go along too!!!)

    • #6 by Latoya on October 2, 2012 - 12:10 pm

      It would be so lovely for you to join me, Eugenia!! I can wait to share my adventures with everyone 🙂

      I’m so glad you liked the looks, and definitely pull out Vex – its so easy to wear with just about anything! I initially was not wowed as its chameleon qualities are subtle, but its really wormed its way into my regular routine.

      Also, wise advice about blogging. I know we all get that way from time to time. It never lasts; beauty is my bread and butter!! 😛

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. #7 by makeupmorsels on October 1, 2012 - 8:18 pm

    You’re so right haha, new makeup is definitely the most fun to write about! I love all these looks on you, you gorgeous lady, although the smokey one might be my favorite…hard to say. Glad to hear you’re still enjoying that Ellis Faas lippie 😀 Feel like I’ve done some good in the world lololl. I definitely go through slow spells with makeup and blogging, but they always pass eventually. Hope you have a fantastic NZ trip!! Say hi to the hobbits for me!

  1. Holiday Color Pairings « Beauty Obsessed
  2. Alternative Bridesmaid Makeup Look | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

