Pushing the Boundaries with Illamasqua’s Kontrol Lipstick

Lately I have been feeling very run of the mill, very generic…every so often I get this way and I crave breaking the mold and doing things unlike the status quo.  I think as a whole I always have an urge to go against the grain, but when I feel these particularly strong longings, usually someone or some persons are at the root of it.

This past week, I was really moved and inspired by some of my daily blog reads – they showcase things in a unique way, and played with makeup in a fashion that really got my attention and got my brain going.  Karen at the Makeup and Beauty Blog pulled out some great looks that I really enjoyed, that were both wearable and fun.  I especially like to see the looks she creates because our skintones are so similar and it gives me a great visual to work with.  Kate at Drivel About Frivol is just an absolute genius at makeup as a whole, and seem to view it as an art (which is how I see it and want to approach it as such).  She manages to come up with ideas that are both out of the box but still pretty, and they hold SUCH interest.  I aspire to be as creative as her one day.  These are just two bloggers of the infinite number that push me to really use makeup as a way to express myself, rather than to just wear to look ‘pretty’.

Another excellent source of inspiration for my lately has been the phenomenal promotional images churning out from Illamasqua for their new Fall collection Generation Q.  I love that they’re using ‘real’ people, not models, and pushing the boundaries of age, gender, skin color…and good gracious, they look stunning!  Can you even handle how sultry and sexy Patricia looks (and that mani!!)????

So.  Full of ideas and drive to step outside my comfort zone and get a little crazy, I decided it was time to try out Illamasqua’s Kontrol lipstick – a creamy blue violet that looks pretty terrifying in the tube, I must say.  It’s very, shall we say, eye-catching!  But if I’m going to work on being unique and original, I’m going to have to learn how to be comfortable with being a bit more ‘noticed’, so no time like the present!

Natural light

Sunlight

With flash

First I tried wearing Kontrol on it’s own, with a very little made-up face – just a touch of concealer and powder, shimmering bronzed powder buffed into the cheekbones and temples, targeted glowing highlights on the brow and inner eye corners, and a whole lotta mascara.  I applied it straight from the tube to keep it a little less intense, though I find the shape of the bullet allows for fairly precise application (a quick note: be sure to cover the entire mouth including your inner lip, as it can really look stark pink and noticeable otherwise).  This shade, my friends, is BOLD.  It is not for the faint of heart or the shy and demure.  It’s definitely a color which challenges the idea of what’s ‘pretty’ – but honestly, after wearing it for a few minutes, and with the warmth from my makeup, I kind of liked it!!  Super bad-ass 😉

Above, in sunlight; below, artificial light (both with flash)

However, of course we must remember that I’m just dipping my toe into this new arena of originality, so for my first foray out of the house with Kontrol on, I toned it down and warmed it up with a bit of coral gloss.

Above, in sunlight; below, artificial light (both with flash)

I really liked the way this looked with the gloss; I think as a way to ease into wearing a shade such as this, it made for an easy transition – still edgy without feeling a bit too ‘out there’ for this against-the-grain novice. However, I don’t plan to rest on my laurels here – the whole point is to push the boundaries of what’s considered ‘normal’ and step on the other side of the line just so.  I want to find that happy place that so many can achieve with fashion (which sadly I cannot master), where they draw gazes for their unique sense of style without also going so far past the line that they look ridiculous.  I think I can get there, but I will have to take chances.  I think Kontrol is an excellent place to start, don’t you?

What is your approach to makeup?  Do you have any beauty goals you’d like to achieve?

Ridiculous face because I am, in fact, ridiculous – this was actually my effort at a ‘real’ shot, not being silly…how lame am I?!

*Product provided by the PR company/brand for my unbiased consideration

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Larie on August 5, 2012 - 3:39 pm

    I love that you’re trying to venture outside of your usual realm – makeup IS an art, for sure, and it’s how we express ourselves. I really appreciate that Illamasqua makes colors like this, because the usual red, pink, coral shades aren’t necessarily everyone’s idea of beauty, you know? I really do like their fall campaign; its message is divine.

    • #2 by Latoya on August 8, 2012 - 1:15 pm

      Thanks for supporting me Larie! I still love ‘pretty’ looks but makeup isn’t all about that for me, and since beauty is a huge part of who I am, I want it to be reflected in my style, do to speak. And I want to have more fun! 🙂

      Illamasqua’s image and ideology is really something else, it sends such a good message about being yourself and indulging in your own unique kind of beauty – love it!!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. #3 by TheMaiBug on August 5, 2012 - 4:33 pm

    Wow that is a scary colour, but it looks so good on you!

    • #4 by Latoya on August 6, 2012 - 3:34 pm

      Haha, it’s pretty intense hey?? In looking at the pictures it still shocks me a bit, but honestly after wearing it for a bit it really grew on me 🙂

  3. #5 by My Lucite Dreams on August 5, 2012 - 9:27 pm

    I think this is wonderful! I am definitely intrigued. I do love the color, I don’t think I could rock this as you did though. I would be too hesitant to try it myself, although I so very much like seeing it on you. I feel thesame way sometimes, like i want to step out and try something new… You look very beautiful!

    • #6 by Latoya on August 8, 2012 - 1:16 pm

      Thank you so much, Taylor! It’s definitely a challenging shade and I’m a bit terrified really of stepping outside the box – but it gets easier and easier, do I’ll just keep at it!! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. #7 by Becca @ The Beauty Sample on August 6, 2012 - 5:54 am

    Wow–you go girl! You actually pull it off really well, surprisingly! And I think it looks great with your minimal makeup and super pretty, feathery lashes (which i’m SO jealous of!!!)

    • #8 by Latoya on August 8, 2012 - 1:19 pm

      Haha, thanks Becca! The mascara I’m wearing here is UD’s Supercurl Curling mascara – I don’t need added curl but I really like how it applies and makes my lashes look!

      As for the lippie, I’m glad you approve – it’s majorly intense eh?? I’m going to have to keep at this ‘edgy’ bit, because it’s intimidating!!

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. #9 by Liz (@Reductionista) on August 6, 2012 - 8:54 pm

    Bad-ass indeed. Go, Toya! If Illamasqua had sent me that, you know what I’d do with it? (A lot of things but NOT review with an FOTD, LOL.) I know I say this whenever you review an Illamasqua product but what is the delay with getting the brand into Canada? I don’t get it. And when they do, it’d be nice for them to take a stand for standard unfair Canadian pricing the way they decided to for the Australians!

    • #10 by Latoya on August 7, 2012 - 6:43 am

      Yea, really! I just got that email update – I know in Oz they pay crazy prices, but we pay a pretty penny here too (hello G.A. ETK shadows!) and we’re *right next door* – and our exchange is almost the same. And YES as well to the brand coming to Canada already! I agree on all accounts, Liz!

      As for the lippie – haha, well, I’m making a valiant effort to ‘edge’ it up a bit…this might be too bad-ass for me just yet, but it helps to dive in feet first nonetheless 😛

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. #11 by Amy on August 12, 2012 - 7:13 pm

    AWESOME! I don’t know if I could ever pull something like that off, but I really love it on you! And with the gloss, it’s much more wearable for everyday. Thanks for sharing! Now perhaps I should go off and try something outside my comfort zone…

    • #12 by Latoya on August 13, 2012 - 3:47 pm

      It’s tough Amy – a strong part of me is leaning toward more natural makeup on the whole, but there’s a resistance too because I really admire those gals with an edge and strong aesthetic that so appeals to me too. Bah! The dual-natured gal that I am is making it awfully hard on me 😛

      I’m glad you’re digging the look nonetheless Amy – it might not be *pretty* but it’s eye-catching to say the least, right??

      Sent from my iPhone

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

