Spring Look: Pretty Pastels from MAKE UP FOR EVER

I know that in the beauty and fashion world, we’ve come to a point where shades and styles are almost season-less: we wear red lips in Summer, shorts in Winter, and bronzed skin year-round.  But I still associate certain color palettes with particular seasons, and pastels and Spring just ‘go’ together for me.

Though for most of my beauty-loving life I’ve favored rich, deep, jewel-toned shades in makeup and nails, lately I’ve been loving pops of bright color.  Every shade I’m drawn to these days are some happy forms of orange, or pink, or blue, and my stash, previously devoid of these brights, is slowly showing some change.  My starting point for make up came from MAKE UP FOR EVER with three perfectly pastel shades: Chartreuse (#57), Light Blue (#118), and Pearly Orange (#25) ($23CAD ea.).

Pearly Orange is described as an ‘apricot orange sheen’ and I think this is pretty accurate.  You can wear this shade on either eyes or cheeks – I find on eyes the shimmer is less noticeable than on cheeks.  It provides a more sheer veil of color and is a great way to wear this year’s color of the year (Tangerine Tango) in a soft, subtle way.

Chartreuse, another sheen, is not as yellow as some shades with the same name – it’s more wearable than those versions and gives a soft veil of color to the lids.  I think this color would look particularly lovely on someone with blue eyes!  The sheen in this shade is quite subtle.

Light Blue is described as ‘vibrant’ and that is the case with this sky blue shade.  Though it doesn’t specify online, I think this shade is a matte – there is no discernible shimmer to my eye that I can see.

MAKE UP FOR EVER eyeshadows/blushes are pigment-rich and wear ages even without a primer.  I did find that the two ‘sheen’ shades had less density and I had to build the color up a bit.  On a more fair skintone, this probably won’t be much of an issue.  A tip Dany (MUFE creator) suggests for darker skin is to first apply a light-colored base shade so that the following shade shows up better and allows for more dimension.  I haven’t tried this trick yet but I see it being quite effective.

Top to Bottom: #118 Light Blue, #57 Chartreuse, #25 Pearly Orange (sunlight)

Top to Bottom: #118 Light Blue, #57 Chartreuse, #25 Pearly Orange (with flash)

I found that the more sheer nature of these shades actually suited quite well, as pastels worn as a wash of color look perfectly pretty and romantic.  I’ve tried each of these colors and all wore all day without primer and with only slight fading.  I tried #25 Pearly Orange today as a blush and it was a little bit shimmery for my taste, but in the evening I think it would be lovely.

Another great way to wear these shades is a technique suggested by MAKE UP FOR EVER:

1) Apply a nude shadow from lash line to crease
2) Sweep a pastel eye color from inner corner of eyelid to the outer corner of the eye , extending just above the crease while keeping outer corner open
3) To add an extra pop of color, try also applying shadow to lower lash line
4) Add mascara!

I have yet to try out this technique, but will do so this week and post pictures!  I think it will look really fun 🙂

What do you think about pastel shades?  Have you tried them before?  How do you wear them?

*Products in this post were provided by the PR / brand for my unbiased consideration*

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by kat on May 5, 2012 - 2:42 pm

    so pretty!

    • #2 by Latoya on May 6, 2012 - 12:39 pm

      Sure is, Kat! I’m loving these pastels 🙂

  2. #3 by Liz (@Reductionista) on May 5, 2012 - 8:53 pm

    That light blue shade is so amazing in the pan. I’ve decided to skip the colours on my eyes but I bet you can make them look amazing. 🙂

    • #4 by Latoya on May 6, 2012 - 12:41 pm

      Aw, thanks for the vote of confidence, Liz 🙂 I really love the apricot-orange shade on my eyes, but have to figure out how to wear the others – the green is very subtle, and the blue is a bit tricky – I think they’d look stunning on paler skintones. I’ll figure it out though 🙂

  3. #5 by Amy on May 5, 2012 - 10:41 pm

    Oh man, that orange is so gorgeous on you!

    • #6 by Latoya on May 6, 2012 - 12:42 pm

      Thanks Amy!!!! Its really lovely on. Its great because it gives some color without being too obvious 🙂

  4. #7 by Eugenia on May 7, 2012 - 7:05 pm

    I know what you mean about loving these happy colours now that the weather’s getting warmer, although I have to say that no matter how hard I try, I can’t make these shades work with my colouring 😦 That hasn’t stopped me from picking up some spring/summer hues! 🙂 Love the orange on you, Toya!

    • #8 by Latoya on May 8, 2012 - 3:29 pm

      Thanks Eugenia!!! I think for more olive/mediterranean skintones like yours, these can be a challenge – they are for me as well, though I’ll be damned if I don’t go down fighting first!! There’s gotta be a way to make them work lol; if I find it’ I’ll be sure to share it with you my dear! 🙂

  5. #9 by makeupmorsels on May 25, 2012 - 1:08 am

    I love Chartreuse, it’s such a unique green! Pearly orange looks great too, and I definitely get what you mean about associating certain shades with certain seasons even if we are cool and go ahead and break the rules anyways. Huzzah! Looking forward to your EOTD 🙂 I wanna see that picture come to life

    • #10 by Latoya on May 25, 2012 - 4:08 pm

      Ah, I totally forgot about taking FOTD’s with these!! Must get on that. Birthday plans/condo stuff is taking over my brain….

      PS Both those shades ARE super-pretty, MM! 🙂

  1. Make Up For Ever HD Foundation Event This Weekend at Halifax Sephora! « Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

