Something to Amuse You While I’m Gone: My Blush Collection (Part II!)

Hello my dears!  I hope this Tuesday finds you very well 🙂  By now, I’ve gotten into the groove and I’m hopefully nice and relaxed (all the free booze doesn’t hurt!).  Today I have some more of my blush collection for you: ‘reds’ and plums.  I put red in quotations because they’re not exactly red, but their of that variety so lets just go with that (anyone else find categorizing blush shades super-difficult!?).

We’ll begin with the questionable ‘red’ shades:

Clockwise from left: NARS Turkish Red, MAC Early Morning, CoverFX Garnet

Notice anything about my MAC blush?  Like the fact that it’s BROKEN!?!  I dropped it back in February, after I’d only had it for about a month, and you know there isn’t anything worse than dropping makeup and it breaking.  I was pissed. It makes me not even want to use it much, but I’m trying to get over that!!

Anyway.  Even though MAC’s Early Morning is described as a ‘peachy-pink,’ I find on me it looks much more like a peachy-red, and more of a burnished shade, so I pulled it in with this group.  It’s probably fairly close to NARS Torrid when worn, but I wanted things to look pretty and complimentary in the product shots, so… 😛  NARS Turkish Red is a deep red cream blush, which I received in a swap last Fall – it’s now discontinued.  CoverFX Garnet is probably my oldest blush, as showcased by -*GASP!*- PAN!!  It’s part of the BronzedFX collection, but I feel it’s far too reddish to be considered a bronzer.  Its a great shade though; it looks fantastic with tanned skin in the Summer and great for a windblown flush in the Fall.

All swatches taken with flash.  Left to right: NARS Turkish Red, CoverFX Garnet, MAC Early Morning

As you can see, these blush aren’t exactly ‘red’ but they definitely have red tones in them.  Turkish Delight is a bit tricky to make work sometimes, but when it does, it truly looks stunning!  Garnet is just a great tone all-around with it’s brick-red qualities, and the shimmer isn’t so much that it’s gaudy.  Early Morning is a very wearable shade as well, as it IS coral (which works for most skintones) but with a faded, dusty tone to which you can wear very soft and subtle, or with a heavier hand to give the face a windburned look (which sounds weird but looks kinda great!).

Next, let’s take a gander at some of the plummier tones I have in my stash, which aren’t always the most popular picks because it can sometimes give a bruised quality, but can also be terribly flattering:

Clockwise from left: NARS Sin, Tarte Blushing Bride Cheek Stain, Bobbi Brown Velvet Plum

Plum blush actually looks quite lovely on my skintone, but like many I don’t gravitate toward them very often.  My first experience with plummy tones was with Tarte’s Blushing Bride Cheek Stain, a sheer deep plum, which I actually used first while staying with a friend in Toronto.  I loved it’s natural and glowing effect – but I find it’s lasting power and the stickiness leave something to be desired.  I also find it’s a bit too muted to show up much my skintone.  The other two shades here are just perfect though; NARS Sin, described as a ‘berry tone with gold shimmer,’ was a recent acquisition this year and it’s gives a great warmed-up look to my paler Winer face, and Bobbi Brown’s Pot Rouge in Velvet Plum is one of my favorite natural-looking blushes to use in the Summer.

All swatches taken with flash. Left to right: NARS Sin, Bobbi Brown Velvet Plum, Tarte Blushing Bride

I haven’t been wearing Velvet Plum much, which I hope to change when I come back from Jamaica – it really gives my skin a glow and looks super-natural and fresh.  Unfortunately, it looks like it’s been discontinued since the update to the packaging, so if you love it – you’re outta luck!  Sin will likely take a back seat until next Fall when my tan fades, as I suspect it won’t show up much on my darker skin.  As for the Tarte stain…I think it’s days are numbered.  It looks fantastic on my fairer-skinned counterparts, so perhaps I’ll leave it with someone who’ll give it a better home.  It just doesn’t get any attention and there’s still quite a bit left.

Part II finished on my blush collection!!  Be sure to check out Part I – Pinks and Peach/Corals – as well!

What are you’re thought so far?  See any glaring gaps in my shade selections, and particular products that I absolutely MUST own??

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Larie on April 10, 2012 - 12:17 pm

    Velvet Plum is beautiful! I love both reds and plums, and I agree – there aren’t enough options for either in the beauty world. MORE PURPLE BLUSH, PLEASE, MAKEUP GODS.

    • #2 by Latoya on April 16, 2012 - 4:02 pm

      Right!? I actually spent some time today investigating some plummy shades, and I think I’m going to buy buxom’s True Hue in Shangri-la-la and MAC’s Fever (totally Rae’s fault!!).

  2. #3 by awkwardcelebrity on April 10, 2012 - 12:22 pm

    great pigments!

    • #4 by Latoya on April 18, 2012 - 9:31 pm

      Thank you!! I love them all 🙂

  3. #5 by Eugenia on April 17, 2012 - 10:42 am

    Oh God…I so hate it when I break a powdered product, and the fact that you only had Early Morning for a month — let’s just say that I felt your pain, lol! That being said, I love how that blush works on your skin tone but in these swatches, I’d have to say that the Bobbi Brown is my favourite – what a versatile shade! The Nars – that THAT’s colour! Don’t think I’d ever be able to pull off anything like that, but hats off to how lovely it looks on your skin!

    • #6 by Latoya on April 17, 2012 - 12:13 pm

      Thanks so much Eugenia 🙂 It is a shade that may not work for everyone, but its softer so don’t write it off just yet!

      I was sooo beyond pissed that Early Morning broke, and I know every fellow beauty addict can sympathize – its gotta be the worst ever! Oh well… 😦

      The Bobbi Brown is lovely and I gotta remember to give it more love – I have so many shades now (for me) that some really great ones that are ‘older’ go by the wayside. Constant rotation is key!

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

