Review: Ole Henriksen Truth Revealed Set

For Christmas this year, my sneaky boyfriend went on the blog and did some research into what I was lemming in the holiday season.  He noticed that I kept raving about the Ole Henriksen Truth Serum, so he did one better: he gifted me the Ole Henriksen Truth Revealed Set, which contains a full size Truth Serum, a full size Total Truth Eye Crème SPF 15, an a 1oz size of the Truth Revealed Super Crème SPF15 (regular size is 1.7oz), priced at $94CAD.  It came at a good time, because I was just running out of my serum, and I’m on the last couple uses of my current SPF day cream, Clinique Super Defense.  I’ve been using the set for the past couple weeks, so here’s the rundown on this ‘truthful’ trio.

The Truth Serum Collagen Booster is the first step, and one I’ve written about in detail before.  The Truth Revealed Super Crème SPF15 is described as a ‘rich anti-aging crème [that] leaves the skin with a light sheen and luminous glow. It hydrates and soothes skin while fighting the signs of aging as it firms, boosts cell proliferation, and scavenges free radicals. Truth crème is ideal for all skin types, with SPF 15 protection.’  The crème has a lovely smell, the same as serum but a bit lighter.  I find the ‘rich’ consistency almost too thick, and bit hard to spread – it sort of feels gummy, and takes about 10-15 minutes to absorb.  The serum felt similarly sticky (but the feeling dissipates quickly) so it must be a common ingredient.  Though it says it’s ideal for all skin types (I feel like I read somewhere that it is oil-free), I think it’s better suited for combination to dry skin due to the slight heaviness of the formula – I don’t think it would be suitable for oily+ skin, or very dry.  Unfortunately, it contains fragrance in the ingredient list, but its noted last, and thankfully doesn’t seem to be causing any issues for my skin at this point.  It does not contain parabens.

Ingredients: Water/Aqua/Eau, Cocoglycerides, Glycerin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Dimethicone, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan), Plukenetia Volubilis Seed Oil, Schinus Terebinthifolius Seed Extract, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Algae Extract, Pulullan, Calcium Ascorbate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Extract, Corylus Avellana (Hazelnut) Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Meal Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus Extract, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Acer Saccharinum (Sugar Maple) Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Bisabolol, Allantoin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Carbomer, Ceteareth-20, Aminomethyl Propanol, Sodium Phytate, Citric Acid, Polyacrylate-13, Polyisobutene, Polysorbate 20, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance/Parfum.

The Total Truth Eye Crème SPF 15 is described as a ‘richly textured eye crème designed to renew and protect your eyes. [It’s] formulated with Omega 3 extracts that nourish and hydrate to diminish the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, and micro algae and tri-peptide 5 strengthen and firm. Broad spectrum UVA/UVB sunscreen protects against sun damage for total age-defying results.’  It’s also supposed to improve microcirculation to help treat dark circles.  Also containing no parabens, the eye cream has the same consistency as ‘Super’ crème but even thicker, somehow, though amazingly neither ball up under makeup despite less than ideal formula.  It takes a while to absorb as well, and leaves slightly shiny cast until it fully soaks in.  I found that it caused slight creasing in my undereye concealer due to how rich it is, and I suspect it has been effecting the wear time as well.  Again, I think this product is better for combination to dry skin, as it is heavier.  There doesn’t appear to be fragrance in this however (wise, as its to be used around the eye area!), and I notice only the slightest odor which does not resemble the other two Truth products.

Ingredients: Active Ingredients: Octinoxate, Octisalate, Avobenzone. Ingredients: Water (Aqua, Eau), Glycerin, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Dimethicone, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Stearic Acid, Stearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Glycery Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Ceteareth-20, Phenoxyethanol, Algae Extract, Pullulan, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Plukenia Volubilis Seed Oil, Potassium Sorbate, Allantoin, Schinus Terebinthifolius Seed Extract, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Alcohol, Lecithin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Sodium Hyaluronate.

My thoughts overall are not entirely favorable.  While I love the serum, the two creams don’t quite measure up.  As often happens, preventative cosmetics are hard to review, as you aren’t really going to see the benefits until much further down the road.  Unfortunately for these creams, I can’t say I’ll give them an extended run because the texture leaves much to be desired.  While not entirely problematic, I find that it is absolutely necessary to use a primer all over and under the eye in order for my makeup to stay in place – and even then, it tends to slide off my face in a much shorter amount of time.  As I noted, these products seem to be best suited for those with a drier skin type – and even then, I wonder if it’s something in the formulations which don’t allow for proper penetration?  I’m no cosmetic science geek, so I can’t say.  All I know is that the effect of these two additional products on my skin isn’t favorable – I’ll be keeping their use strictly to days in which I’m wearing little to no makeup.

Have you tried these products?  What is your verdict?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by makeupmorsels on February 2, 2012 - 12:28 am

    My goodness, what a thoughtful boyfriend you have! Haven’t tried this line before, although I did like (but not love to death) their lipbalm.

    • #2 by Latoya on February 6, 2012 - 10:09 am

      Hmm, I wanted to check out the balm, but I am still unsure. Yea, my bf did a pretty good job I think! I stumbled across a note he had made of all the NARS blushes I already had, as he also picked me up one of those. Super cute 🙂

  2. #3 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on February 3, 2012 - 9:56 pm

    Great, thorough review! I’m sorry the other Truth products didn’t work out for you. But the serum really sounds like the rockstar of the pack! Only if it had worked for me, too, darn it!

    But despite that, Ole Henriksen is still such a great, solid brand. I’d like to try out the body products at some point. 🙂

    • #4 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on February 3, 2012 - 9:56 pm

      Oh, and your BF sounds too cute. I hope he’s still reading now and then. :p

      • #5 by Latoya on February 6, 2012 - 10:11 am

        LOL I doubt it! His head would probably explode haha. But it was the nicest gesture 🙂

    • #6 by Latoya on February 6, 2012 - 10:10 am

      I think the body products look fab Liz! I hope you do try them out, I’d love to hear about them! And I guess, you can’t win ’em all – it’s just a trial and error process I guess!

  1. Beauty Low-Buy Update: Month Three – And a Little Tweaking « Beauty Obsessed
  2. Beauty Low-Buy Update: Month Six (and I’m Feeling Sort of Triumphant!) « Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

