Couleur du Jour: Deep Teal Green Eye Shadow

Due to the fact that I’m limiting my purchasing power over the next year, one thing I’m becoming more and more aware of are repeat shades in my stash. If I can only buy so much a month, I want to make sure it’s something good, not something I already own in another interpretation.  In going through all my eyeshadows recently, I realized I had several deep teal-greens – all acquired in the past year.  Two are from a palette, and one from a shadow duo, so that’s a saving grace, but even so – how often do I even wear teal-green?  And so, I thought I’d take a closer look at them to see just how similar they were.

First, we have one half of NARS Rajasthan, which was released with their Fall 2010 collection and an instant must-own  (the other half, a shimmering golden shade, is to die – it complements the green half perfectly).  This is a deep, dark blackened teal-green with some shimmer:I find the formulation of this shade just a touch stiff; its a bit difficult to pick up on a shadow brush and requires a bit of extra effort to get the depth of pigmentation I’d like.

Next, I bought Urban Decay’s Book of Shadows III shortly after Rajasthan, in the Fall of 2010.   In it contained the limited edition shade Loaded -a blackened, semi-metallic deep forest green, also with teal leaning (though less so), and with more depth than the shade above:The pigmentation on this shade is lovely; rich and dense, and so ridiculously buttery to the touch.  It still requires an extra stroke of a shadow brush to get full depth of color, but it’s hardly an effort.

Last, in the recently acquired theBalm’s Balmbini Palette: Babies of the Balm, the shade Jealous Jordana was included, which is a very dark forest green with teal microshimmer, very reminiscent of UD’s Loaded but slightly lighter: The density of pigment in this shadow was best overall – in one swipe,  you get pure, saturated color – and it’s also got the most lovely soft, smooth texture (as most shades from theBalm have!).

Here are some comparison swatches (left to right – Jealous Jordana, Loaded, half Rajasthan duo):You’ll notice that Loaded pulls slightly more green than Jealous Jordana, while the half of the Rajasthan duo looks charcoal by comparison.  Also notice the density of the first two, as opposed to the NARS shadow, which I had to build up quite a bit just to get this much pigmentation.  For all intents and purposes, theBalm and the Urban Decay versions are essentially the same in both pigmentation and color.

Overall, I think if I had purchased the Balmbini palette, I’d feel a little put out because of how similar Jealous Jordana is to Loaded, but not too much as there are so many other shades/products in the palettes that you’re still getting a good value.  Since I DIDN’T pay for the palette, I feel even better 🙂  As for the NARS duo, I feel that the teal-green shade is not even comparable to the others due to how muted it is, and it’s more smoky quality, which I still appreciate even though the density of the product is somewhat lacking. I’m also not too concerned about owning three similar shades, because I really love this kind of color and feel that it looks great on just about everyone!  So they will all certainly get some use over the years.

Do you have any particularly repeated shades in your collection?  Which shade do you find yourself buying over and over?

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by k Elizabeth on January 31, 2012 - 8:07 pm

    Great comparisons. I’m consistently drawn to browns and, like you, teals. 🙂

    • #2 by Latoya on February 1, 2012 - 9:20 pm

      Thanks very much! How about teal and brown together?? It actually looks quite lovely 🙂

  2. #3 by Eugenia on January 31, 2012 - 9:50 pm

    What’s weird, is that just yesterday (I absolutely swear!) I started sifting through one of my eyeshadow containers – trying to find something specific, I might add – and noticed that I have an unhealthy & totally ridiculous amount of teal shades! Seriously! And this was in the “single eye shadow” bin…I won’t even get into the palette bin…and like you, I asked myself if I almost never wear this shade, then why do I have a bajillion of them?! The thing is, I have a total THING for teal and even though I may not wear this shade often, when I do, it’s nice having options (how do you like my justification? Lol!). From the ones you’ve shown, the only one we have in common here is Rajasthan (what a fabulous duo, you’re so right about that!) and I had practically forgotten about it…thanks for the rekindle, my friend! I really love these types of posts of yours!

    • #4 by Latoya on February 1, 2012 - 9:23 pm

      Thank you for saying so Eugenia, I like posting them – keeps me abreast of just what I own 😉 It appears we are on the same wavelength my dear! Teal is just one of those shades I think everyone enjoys – I absolutely ADORE it in a nail polish (which I think we also have in common!), it’s such a beautiful shade, admittedly. So, I totally think you’re justified in owning as many teal shades as you can get your hands on 😀

  3. #5 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on February 3, 2012 - 9:59 pm

    I feel like the three are actually quite different. And I don’t say that lightly because sometimes when bloggers pull out swatches for dupes and say they haven’t found any, I think ‘But my god, they all look THE SAME.’ So there, something else to make you feel better! And as for the quality of theBalm shadows, personally I think only Tarina Tarantino’s newer shadows compare. Both are incredibly soft and smooth and highly pigmented. *shiver of joy* lol

    • #6 by Latoya on February 6, 2012 - 10:14 am

      Argh, I really want to pick up one of Tarina’s palettes, but I gotta either use up some shadows or get rid of ’em somehow, because I’ve got more than I care to have as it is! But the look and feel sooo nice. As are theBalm’s shadows, yes! I know what you mean about seeing swatches and the most minute detail has people saying that they’re completely different LOL. I find that hilarious – but not too much so, because that could easily happen to us one day ~yikes!~

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

