So Delicious: Fresh Brown Sugar Lip Polish

There’s just something about having products that are somewhat of a luxury item – something you don’t need but have nonetheless, just because you want it.  Fresh’s Brown Sugar Lip Polish is definitely one of those products, and I have to tell you – I am LOVING IT!  I reviewed this briefly last month, and since I’ve been using it, I’m finding I’m becoming more and more infatuated with it.  It’s true, I could probably just mix some olive oil and brown sugar and it would have a similar effect – or even easier, rub some Vaseline on my lips, then buff it away with a damp wash cloth.  Both are tried and true methods of keeping my kisser soft and smooth – but oh how delicious this indulgence is!  And looks infinitely prettier in my medicine cabinet 🙂 A full-size of the Brown Sugar Lip Polish (this is a deluxe sample) is the same price as the Lip Treatments – $26CAD – and worth every penny.  Even though this, like the lip treatments, are a ridiculous indulgence, it’s one I take great pleasure in every single time.  I’ve been using it every few days, and it’s really helped keep my lips soft and smooth – this time of year especially, they take a beating from the cold weather, and tend to get flaky on the regular.  Since using this product, I have yet to have that issue, which is a real bonus in my books as I hate the feeling of rough and chapped lips!Woo, look at that meaty fist!  I wasn’t going to post this shot because it makes my hand look like a man hand or something – but I kind of liked the visual with my bathroom sink in the background, so I left it.  Never let it be said that I’m too vain! 🙂 You can see all the little granules of real brown sugar in the close-up.  The benefit of the sugar as well, is that it slowly dissolves as you buff, so that it works itself down to next to nothing and then rinses away – leaving lips soft, and hydrated through the jojoba, grape, and meadowfoam seed oils, and shea butter.

This is a product I normally wouldn’t shell out before, because as I said, it IS an indulgence, and I can find items in my kitchen that could probably produce similar effects.  But I just feel special using this, I’m sorry.  I love the cute little container; I love the smell of it; and the effects are indisputable.  Will I buy it again when I run out?  Maybe not right away – but as soon as I feel like treating myself, I know exactly where I’ll be headed!

Do you have any guilty pleasures that you stand by, regardless of how unnecessary?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Eugenia on January 12, 2012 - 6:13 pm

    I’ve wondered about this whenever I came across it in Sephora, but hadn’d read any decent reviews on it — until now! True, it’s pricey and you can probably whip up something similar at home but us gals know how absolutely brutal Canadian winters can be, so if this works (and it looks so pretty…plus it smells great!), then I say “bring it on”!

    • #2 by Latoya on January 12, 2012 - 10:24 pm

      I’m not one to just buy something to buy it, especially when it’s not needed, but I get a little thrill every couple days when I go to use this – it really works, plus its such a treat with the yummy smell and taste! I hope you try it out at some point Eugenia, you’ll be hooked 🙂

  2. #3 by kat on January 13, 2012 - 5:12 pm

    Wow! I’m convinced I need it!! I finally got the Fresh sugar and rose sugar lip balms, and I am in love!! they feel so good, never tacky! and the rose one…such a beautiful tint! i want to stockpile a few lol. I just hate that they are so pricey for lip balms sigh 🙂

    • #4 by Latoya on January 16, 2012 - 6:00 pm

      I know, they hurt my heart a little too at the price, Kat. I console myself in knowing that I tend to use these more than any other lip products I own, so it’s kind of like buying two-in-one, since I use it as a balm AND my lip color 🙂 Definitely check out the polish if you can though – its awesome!

  3. #5 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on January 13, 2012 - 9:03 pm

    I definitely consider lip scrubs an indulgence, so I say if you are going to indulge, go for the one that makes you feel as happy as this Fresh one does! It’s on par with stuff like candles, I think. Some consider it a necessity and some don’t think about it at all.

    Personally I won’t pay for lip scrubs anymore. I once splurged on a Sarah Happ that was over $40 which is insane, though the jar was quite big. Ended up giving it away to a friend and never bought a lip scrub again.

    • #6 by Latoya on January 16, 2012 - 6:05 pm

      I never really though about a lip scrub until I read a review of it online and then decided I had to try it – now I’m hooked :S However, it will definitely be a splurge/treat and not a regular occurrence, because it’s not a necessity. It sure is lovely though!

  4. #7 by Barb on January 14, 2012 - 9:20 pm

    I Keep this little pot on the edge of my tub!! using it in the shower is less messy and it’s right there as a part of my daily shower routine especially during our dry winter months!!

    • #8 by Latoya on January 16, 2012 - 6:06 pm

      Wow, that’s really diligent of you Barb, I wish I could be better with routines like that. I always promise myself I will and then get lazy lol. But it would be easier if I had it right in the shower – if I had more room (we have a claw-foot tub which isn’t ideal for having all your products on hand) I’d definitely do that!

  1. Epic Empties (As Per Usual) | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

