Check Out How Nerdy I Am – OR, The Cost of Beauty

Beware – read at your own risk.  You’re going to get a firsthand glimpse on just how much useless information I document, just because….well, I kind of like spreadsheets.  LOL. 

I was going through my finances today, trying to make everything work for my upcoming trips (bought my flight to New Zealand – October 6th, baby!), and I found a tab on my budget spreadsheet (Yes, I have one…since 2005.  Can you say anal?) that I forgot I had created.  It contained all the possible beauty products I would typically purchase, and an average cost I spend on each.  I broke it down into an average monthly cost, and, well – see for yourself below:Before you begin to judge – either at how much I spend, or how little, depending on who’s involved (lol), some of these numbers are very conservative – if I find an awesome treatment serum and it’s $95, I’m gonna buy it, not look for a $50 version to fit my budget.  On the flip side, some of these numbers are also skewed because I haven’t paid for a moisturizer with SPF in quite a while (since I just keep getting Superdefense SPF25 from my Clinique gratis).  Basically though, this is what it breaks down to, and it’s actually pretty accurate.  I track all my expenses every month (jeez, I’m sharing all my crazy with you now), and I spend between $250-270 on average a month on cosmetics.  While you might think “Wow, you’re good!” and congratulate me on sticking to a budget…unfortunately, the budget I think is more feasible – that allows me to also indulge in a pretty stellar social life as well – hovers more around the $150/month mark.  Ouch.I’ve tried and tried to make the numbers work and get them down to where I think they should be, but damn it, without giving up everything I love (namely, all high-end cosmetics), it’s just not gonna fly.  As it is, only spending $60/month on ‘fun’ makeup each month is far less than desired.  So unfair!!  Of course, we all know how to fix this problem right??

WIN THE LOTTERY!!!!!!

Perfect, solved, that should be easy, right?!  No? Ah well.  Anyway, despite the fact that I’m not staying within the budget I’d like, it IS reassuring to know that I’m not spending above and beyond a reasonable amount (my spreadsheet says so).  All I can do is try my best to adhere to some of the guidelines I’ve put in place for myself.  I’ve stumbled upon a few other bloggers who do the same (Larie from Eye Heart It has a great system – check it out!) – I find especially once you’re well immersed in the blogging world, it gets easier and easier to give in to all the beautiful things that are out there, so we need to ensure we maintain our sanity somehow 🙂

Does anyone else bother to keep a beauty budget, or is that just me?  Do you have a cosmetics purchasing ‘system’ that works for you?  Please share – I could use the ideas!

  1. #1 by kat on January 13, 2012 - 5:11 pm

    lol so informative!

    • #2 by Latoya on January 16, 2012 - 5:59 pm

      Hehe thanks Kat…and just a touch scary, hey? LOL

  2. #3 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on January 13, 2012 - 9:00 pm

    Oh wow! That is some meticulous record-keeping. And quite brave, I might add. While I’m constantly tallying and counting up the number of products, I refuse to add up the prices. It might send me to a mental hospital for the rest of my life! I’m quite bad about setting up budgets and sticking to them but figure it evens out during the course of a year. Some months I’ll spend practically nothing and some months I’ll go off the deep end.

    Larie, Tracy and some others and I are going on a low buy/no buy starting on Jan 20. Let us know if you’re interested in joining in! I’m going to cap myself at 3 products per month starting in February but no price limit. Everyone’s doing it differently based on her needs.

    • #4 by Latoya on January 16, 2012 - 6:03 pm

      Some days I feel like I’m A-OK with it all, and then some days I look at my stash and think ‘How the frig am I gonna use all of this?’ I tend to be pretty steady with my spending habits so I can’t say I make up for splurges throughout the year :S I definitely am interested in hearing more about this low/no-buy you guys are doing!! It’s always easier when you have others joining in to keep you on the straight and narrow. I don’t want to be TOO stringent, as we know what happens there, but a little more caution and care into what I buy is definitely needed.

      • #5 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on January 16, 2012 - 7:40 pm

        It sort of fell through but Larie and I are still going to post our plans on Jan 20. I don’t know about the others. I think she’s going on a no buy for __ months while I’m capping myself at 3 products per month for the remainder of 2012 (gulp). Mine’s actually more complicated than that but that’s the gist of it. Just join in and do a post if you feel so inclined! I’ll link to you guys if/when your posts go up.

      • #6 by Latoya on January 18, 2012 - 9:47 pm

        Oh man…I have been working and re-working some kind of plan to keep my spending in check without strapping me down too wholeheartedly – it just backfires on me something fierce! I almost think I should just let myself totally go, for a couple months anyway, and just buy whatever I want and see how that goes. Like food, maybe I’ll be much more restrained just because I know if I want something, I can buy it! So you might see THAT as my post come the 20th LOL…stay tuned 😀

  3. #7 by Larie on January 20, 2012 - 7:15 pm

    Holy smokes, I just saw this, and boy are you brave, Latoya! I have spreadsheets of my budgets and expenses, too, but..I’m not sharing! LOL.

    • #8 by Latoya on January 20, 2012 - 8:00 pm

      AHAHAHA yea I know, I thought hard about posting it as it’s pretty personal…but I’ve never been one whose good at keeping things about myself quiet LOL Its so funny, I always thought I was strange having spreadsheets about budgets, or my cosmetics inventory, but the more blogs I stumble across, the more I realize that there are some very common themes among a lot of bloggers – gives me so much hope! Hehe… In any case, feel free to live through my oversharing tendencies, Larie LOL!

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

