A Sneaky Duochrome (Aren’t They All?): Color Club’s Alias

This is going to be a photo-heavy post, so get comfy!

I bought Color Club’s Alias last month from Nail Polish Canada, but am just getting around to trying it out now (I was in a major holiday nail phase, and this wasn’t part of it).  It’s a stunning violet shade packed with shimmer that looks lovely on it’s own, but has a hiddle duochrome effect that turns it’s edges golden-green.  Duochromes, like some holos or polishes with ‘secret shimmer,’ are notoriously difficult to photograph, as you need just the right light in order for it to appear.  Unlike those polishes though, duochromes actually are better seen in the shade, rather than sunlight.  I tried my best in the shots below, and I think I captured it just about as well as you can see it in real life (which is to say, not a whole lot).

Under both natural and indoor light, straight-on you can’t see the duochrome.  Shown below on my thumb, is four coats (!) of just Alias (it’s quite sheer):At the right angle however, you can see the greenish tinge at the edges of the polish. 

I thought I would play around with the polish a bit, and try to bring out the greenish cast.  Initially I tried Illamasqua’s Baptiste, but it merely made the purple tones more intense.  Then I thought perhaps Zoya’s Edyta – a sparkling deep olive – would pull out the green in Alias, and I was right.  Below, two coats of Alias is painted over one coat of Edyta (with my middle finger painted in just one coat of Edyta):The green is pretty similar, no?

Here are some shots with all nails painted with the Edyta/Alias combo, with the last shots highlighting the duochrome effect:

The shot above was taken under indoor lighting.

In some of the shots, you can really see the duochrome at the edges of the bottle, which is generally the way – visible on the bottle but much more elusive on the nail.

Despite the fact that I find the unique nuances of Alias hard to catch, I still think it’s a beauty of a shade, and the duochrome, however minimal, gives is a depth it would otherwise lack.  The sheerness of the polish is a bit annoying, as I don’t fancy having to apply 3+ coats to get to full opacity, but it dries fairly quickly, and is great for layering.  It is often sold out online, so it must be doing it for some people, anyway!

Are polishes with effects (such as holographic/prismatic, secret shimmer, and duochrome) worth the trouble?  What kind of polish formulations are your favorite?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Loodie on January 9, 2012 - 3:05 pm

    I do love duo-chromes even if they play hard to get!

    • #2 by Latoya on January 9, 2012 - 4:46 pm

      Hey Anna!! I know what you mean ~sigh~ I won’t be one who gives them up, that’s for sure!

  2. #3 by Eugenia on January 9, 2012 - 6:35 pm

    So pretty! Just up my alley too: a moody, mysterious dark shade, with a playful side….best of both worlds! Looks great on you, Toya….and the photography skills are most definitely looking good!! 😉

    • #4 by Latoya on January 10, 2012 - 9:43 pm

      Aw, thanks Eugenia! I’m starting to think it’s not my photography skills that’s entirely the problem – I desperately need a new camera! LOL Which I will have to invest in before my trip next Fall, so hopefully all my photos will improve too 🙂

      As for the polish…you called it right, moody with a playful side. I think if there was more sun out right now, I’d be staring at my nails a whole lot – it’s REALLY got some awesome sparkle!

  3. #5 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on January 9, 2012 - 8:36 pm

    I think at heart I’m a creme-lover. Sometimes I get all giddy about a new innovative finish or sparkles but I always go back to the basics eventually. There are certain duochromes that appeal to me more than others but generally not a huge fan. Having said that though, this is quite pretty and I like anything on the purple side of things!

    • #6 by Latoya on January 10, 2012 - 9:45 pm

      I am on the same wavelength as you Liz, I’m definitely a creme-lover at heart, but I DO love a good duochrome or a holo. But more often than not, the shades I gravitate toward are cremes, they just look so smooth and delicious!

    • #7 by Eugenia on January 11, 2012 - 9:23 am

      Just a little side note here – about the camera, while I can understand you wanting to possibly upgrade, especially with a vacation looming, I think maybe for your swatches you may want to consider the lighting you’re presently using. For example, halogen tends to add a bluish cast to everything, while a regular incandescent bulb definitely makes everything look on the yellow side. A simple light change could make all the difference in the world!

      • #8 by Latoya on January 12, 2012 - 10:29 pm

        Very true Eugenia! I have two spots in the house I generally take shots in, and I do a lot of my photo-taking at night when it’s dark and I lose the sunshine, which affects photos a lot. I’ve decided to try and get most of the photography out of the way on weekends when I’m home and can take advantage of better lighting. Hopefully you’ll see the quality of photos improve moving forward 😀

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

