Festive Glitter Nails: Color Club Beyond the Mistletoe

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas and are having a great holiday!  I am having a wonderful holiday filled with family fun, and actually quite a bit of rest as well, which is a nice change.  So much time in fact, that I blew through re-reading the first and second Harry Potter books in a matter of hours – they’re impossible to put down once you start!  Tonight I’m tearing myself away from starting the third book, and heading out to my friend’s annual Boxing Day party.  As such, I needed party nails!!

What I love about this color is that despite the holiday name, it’s a non-traditional holiday shade which makes it wearable for just about any time of year.  The aqua and silver glitter contains multicolored holographic particles which make is stand out beautifully.  In any lighting, you can see the holo sparkle, though it doesn’t show as well in the photos as I’d like.  In the daytime tomorrow I’m going to try and capture it in natural sunlight (if we have any!).Here I’m wearing Witchcraft Durable Base Coat (which I’m going to soon review), one coat of Zoya’s Crystal – a shimmering icy blue polish – and two coats of Color Club.  I used the Zoya polish because the glitter is a touch sheer and I didn’t want any gaps showing.  Lastly, I have one coat of OPI’s Top Coat and one coat of Sally Hansen’s Insta-Dri Top Coat to finish ‘er off.  Sounds like a lot when I write it all out!!  I was reading in between the process so it didn’t seem so bad 😛

The polish itself applied fairly easily, though it is thicker as glitters tend to be to keep the particles suspended.  Despite my precautions with multiple top coats, this will likely start chipping in a few days – I think this happens because glitter polishes are notoriously gritty and can catch on your clothing as the top coat starts to wear down, of if you don’t have enough coats in the first place.  If this polish is any different, I’ll be sure to update you!  For now, I have to go get ready for the party, as I’m a bit behind (I blame Harry Potter!).

I hope to show you a couple neat things I got for Christmas tomorrow, so keep an eye out!

, , ,

  1. #1 by LindzSilverman on December 26, 2011 - 8:03 pm

    i love how it looks ! Definitely new years appropriate too 🙂

  2. #2 by Eugenia on December 27, 2011 - 1:28 am

    A (belated) Merry Christmas to you as well, my dearest Toya! May the New Year bring you nothing but joy! I’m soooooo happy to hear that you’re getting into the Harry Potter books! Now you definitely won’t feel left out of the “Awesome Sisters Club”, remember?! Lol!! This is such a festive polish – absolutely perfect for keeping that holiday spirit alive! Hope you’re having fun at your party 🙂

    • #3 by Latoya on December 27, 2011 - 10:06 pm

      Thanks Eugenia! Happy Holidays to you as well 🙂 I’m plowing through HP and I’m discovering even more awesomeness the second time around – hallelujah, Awesome Sisters! lol

  3. #4 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on January 7, 2012 - 4:43 pm

    Love the party nails! Bet they were a hit. 🙂

    I still haven’t started HP. *groan* Now that reality is setting in, there is SOOOO much to do. But I’ll make time for the HP series, I swear! Missing out on a big cultural moment is no fun.

    • #5 by Latoya on January 9, 2012 - 4:28 pm

      Oh MAN!! Honestly, its one of those things – you think you’ll just be better in the know about a cultural phenomenon, but truly, it’s so much more!! I am so fully immersed in Potterland at the moment, now with re-reading the books and re-watching all the movies LOL. Even if you just get a few pages in a night (which I assure you will be impossible – you’ll be finishing chapter after chapter before you can put it down), it’s well worth the effort.

      …Anyway *geek alert!* Ahem. Yes, the party nails were super-fun, but kind of annoying to take off (surprize surprize!). ‘Till next time 😛

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

