Nothing Beats a Good Deal: Review of Fresh’s Sugar Lust Set

Ok, enough of my whining about having no control over myself sometimes!  I’ve made my plan, I’m working on my Beauty Resolutions, so that’s that.  You’re here to read about products, and so that’s what I’ll give you 🙂

One of the items I picked up last night in my haul was Fresh’s Sugar Lust set, which contains a 3.4oz tube of the Brown Sugar Body Cream (full-size is 6.8oz); a full-size Sugar Lip Treatment SPF15  (0.28oz), and a 0.15oz Limited Edition Sugar Lip Polish (full-size is 0.6oz) –  all of which smell like lemon cookie (yum!).  I’ve already tried both the Plum and Honey Lip Treatments, so it was nice to try the original version.   The real reason I picked up this set is because I desperately wanted to try the Lip Polish, as my lips tend to get flaky every few weeks and I’ve never tried a lip exfoliant to keep them soft and smooth.  I hemmed and hawed, but once I realized that the Lip Treatment SPF that was in the set was full-size, I couldn’t NOT get it – as the Lip Treatment itself is $26CAD, for $32CAD, you’re getting the half-size body cream and mini lip polish for $6!!  That constitutes as a pretty good deal in my books.I have tried the Brown Sugar Body Cream on various occasions, devouring the scent (I’m really into sweet lemon/verbena smells) but never taking the plunge to buy.  With my eczema, it doesn’t make scents (hehe) to spend $40CAD of something I would only wear on special occasions and in certain areas (my chest seems to have less sensitivity than everywhere else).   But to have a smaller scale version of it for cheap, well that I can justify.  It’s supposed to leave skin “super soft and supple” due to ingredients like apricot kernel, sweet almond, evening primrose, and jojoba oils, as well as shea butter.  Paraben-free, it also contains Vitamins E & C and brown sugar (for its antiseptic properties). Unfortunately, the scent doesn’t linger very long (which sort of defeats the purpose), and I can’t comment on it’s hydration abilities because I’m too scared to use it anywhere dry.  I did try it just on the palms of my hands, it soaked in well without being greasy, and seemed to keep them soft and moisturized for several hours.As for the Lip Polish, I eagerly tried it out last night and it was a relative success.  It is composed of real brown sugar crystals which are supposed to help slough off dry flakes, and contains oils of meadowfoam seed, jojoba seed, and grapeseed, along with shea butter, to nourish the lips with long-lasting moisture.  I found it gently buffed my lips to smoothness, with a delicious scent and sweet taste, and kept them feeling hydrated even after I preceded to wash my face.  Only time will tell if it’s truly effective at keeping flakiness as bay, and whether or not I’ll have a reaction, but I’ll keep you posted!

Despite my skincare/eczema fears, overall this is a great set that is well worth it’s price (also, the red bag that everything comes in is pretty much the only cosmetics bag I’ve ever gotten that I totally want to keep!!).  If you’re buying this mainly for the body cream and it’s scent, you might be disappointed with its swift dissipation – but if you’re grabbing this for either of the other two products, I think its a sound investment.  I do recommend figuring out just how much you love the Lip Polish however; seeing as it’s supposed to be limited edition, you’ll be sorry if you wait only to find that it’s since disappeared on you!

What do you think of the set?  Are you a fan of the Sugar Lip Treatments?  Which sets have you found this season to be a great value?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Eugenia on December 21, 2011 - 11:13 pm

    I’ve never tried anything by Fresh, but you make a compelling argument for me to give them a whirl! As to the scent not lingering too long, I think that that’s actually a huge plus; this way, any fragrance you spritz on after won’t be polluted by any other scents! Another tip to try for dry flaking lips (and I’ve sworn by this for what seems like centuries!), is to take a damp washcloth, and gently rub your lips with it. They feel smooth to the touch when you’re done and it actually works! That being said, your version looks and most likely smells a lot better than mine, lol! PS: the bag is the cutest!

    • #2 by Latoya on December 26, 2011 - 7:58 pm

      I somewhat feel the same way about the dissipating scent being a plus Eugenia – I always opt for perfume over anything else fragranced so for me this is a bonus. But I know how some people feel about scents NOT lingering too! As for flaky lips, I have used that method in the past – can’t beat a washcloth for gentle exfoliation 😛 – but I pretty much wanted the Fresh product for exactly the reason you mentioned – smells sooo good 🙂 I’m a sucker, what can I say!!? 😀

  2. #3 by Jordan Vanessa Doucet on December 22, 2011 - 1:37 pm

    I have extremely sensitive skin and exzema and the Fresh body cream works really well on my skin,I’ve never had any issues with it irritating my skin at all,and every cream irritates me,even baby cream!

    • #4 by Latoya on December 26, 2011 - 7:55 pm

      Wow, really!?? I will have to give it a real chance then, that’s great! It’s always nice to hear feedback from others who suffer from eczema as well (though of course I wish you DIDN’T have the hassle of it!). Thanks for letting me know, Jordan!

  3. #5 by Jordan Vanessa Doucet on December 28, 2011 - 3:15 pm

    No problem!

  4. #6 by aliciab on January 4, 2012 - 6:36 pm

    I just bought 3 of the lip treatments the other day. I loooovveee the feeling of them on my lips AND they give my lips a nice amount of color (which they don’t have due to the Halifax weather lately). I didn’t see this set at sephora when I was there… It looks like it was a really good deal though!

    • #7 by Latoya on January 6, 2012 - 11:59 pm

      I think this was a limited edition set that, once sold out, was gone – as I was at Sephora again a couple weeks after I purchased it, and it was no longer in stock. But it sounds like you have a good stash of the lippies anyway, Alicia 🙂 They are amazing, I concur. It’s so unfortunate that they’re so expensive, because I really love them and they’re gonna end up putting me in the poor house one day!! LOL

  5. #8 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on January 7, 2012 - 4:51 pm

    I love Fresh. One of these days, I’ll do terrible HORRIBLE things at the Fresh counter and become broke for life. lol

    My friend in Singapore picked up the Rose Lip Treatment at my recommendation and loves it! Frankly I haven’t met a Fresh product I didn’t like except for the Clay Bar. Enjoy your new goodies, Toya!

    • #9 by Latoya on January 9, 2012 - 4:34 pm

      LOL I know! Fresh is a devil of the line, everything is so wonderful and luxurious and absolutely yummy-smelling 😛 Once you start, it’s hard to stop (hold me back)!

  1. So Delicious: Fresh Brown Sugar Lip Polish « Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

