The Perfect Holiday Polish: Misa’s Red Pumps at the Nordstrom

As mentioned yesterday, I’m wearing a gorgeous new red polish that I’m excited to show you – my very first Misa polish, too!  The shade is ‘Red Pumps at the Nordstrom,’ a metallic red that has a beautiful glow in pretty much all lighting.  I find it leans a touch warm but not so much that cooler skin tones can’t wear it.  For that reason it looks quite flattering on my hands, as very blue-based reds can look a bit garish.  I feel like this shade is my version of Chanel’s Rouge Carat, which has shimmering blue undertones and wouldn’t have looked nearly as nice on my skin as it does others.I’m not usually a fan of metallic finishes in a polish – I like shimmer, and overall favor cremes, but metallic always reminds me of old school nail polish, like those pink frosts everyone wore in the 80’s – yuk!  This is not at all that kind of polish – it’s super classy and tasteful, while still being pretty attention-grabbing.  I’m not partial to reds, but during the holidays its always fun to be festive and do something extra special.   I’m really loving it!!The formula on this polish was quite nice – not too thick or thin, and flowed easily, achieve opacity in two coats (those in a rush could even get away with one).  However, if you didn’t move relatively quickly, I found it pulled a bit if you fussed with it too much, so my advice is to make sure you get enough on the brush in the first place and just get ‘er done.  A positive though, is that it’s wearing quite well – after a few days, only one small chip because I was trying to pull off a bunch of price stickers on Christmas gifts (LOL) and hardly any tip wear at all.I picked up this bottle at Trade Secrets in the Rideau Centre in Ottawa.  We don’t have a Trade/Glamour Secrets here in Nova Scotia unfortunately (though aside from Misa it carries a lot of similar products as Chatters), and I haven’t seen Misa sold anywhere in town.  I haven’t found anywhere online yet that sells it but I’ll keep a lookout!  Does anyone have any suggestions?

I hope the holidays are treating everyone well so far and that no one is getting too stressed out 🙂

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Eugenia on December 20, 2011 - 10:49 am

    Oooh.this does have a ‘Rouge Carat’ look to it, although perhaps a touch more gold-leaning! I’ve only tried 3 Misa polishes to date, and so far, I do like the formula! Looks lovely on you, my friend and absolutely perfectly festive! Hope your shopping has gone as planned and that you’re ready for Christmas! I can’t believe it’s 5 days away – I still feel like I need to do a ton of things!!!

    • #2 by Latoya on December 20, 2011 - 10:13 pm

      Its been a weird holiday season, that’s for sure – at least here it is, as we’ve only had one snowfall all Winter long. I need a little of the white stuff to feel properly festive!! lol I hope you’re not stressing yourself out, my dear. I’m ready to rock and roll for the most part 🙂

      As for the polish, yes, it’s got more of a golden feel to it than Rouge Carat, which is what makes it work for me! I really wanted a polish *like* Rouge Carat but I knew it would need to be warmer-toned. Found it! I totally loved this shade and it’s one of the few reds I own that I feel that way about! And the polish formulation? As I mentioned, application was pretty good, and removal was AWESOME – no staining or any hardships, which is unusual for a red. Perfect!!

  1. Quelling a Burning Desire with Deborah Lippmann’s Through the Fire « Beauty Obsessed
  2. Nicole by OPI Coca-Cola Collection {review and swatches} | Beauty Obsessed
  3. OPI Starlight collection for Holiday 2015, Part III: The reds and the rest | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

