Sneak Peek: This Month’s Beauty Hauls

Despite my great efforts to cull my stash to a more streamlined collection, I have still picked up a few beauty items over the past few weeks – some necessary, some not.  For the most part, I’ve been fairly restrained, and only my polish collection has grown bigger (which is inevitable, c’mon!) – I’m still whittling down my skincare, getting rid of samples and almost finished products, and only splashed out on one item (which I’m totally stoked about).   I thought I’d give you a sneak peek into what you can look forward to reading about over the next little while:Friday night, after going out for an awesome dinner at the Keg for our one-year anniversary, my bf and I came home and promptly fell into a food/wine coma.  I really wanted to wash my face, but OH! the bathroom sink was too far away and required too much energy.  As I struggled against sleep, I lamented how I wished I’d had some face wipes by the bed for just these sorts of occasions.  The very next day, I picked up Ole Henriksen’s Truth to Go Wipes ($7.50CDN) to save me from this fate yet again.  I also picked up another Jack Black lip balm ($8.40CDN), as my last one seems to have gone missing.

On this same excursion to Sephora, my goal was to pick up some Christmas gifts, and perhaps a little something fun (not wipes or lip balm) for myself while I was at it (natch!).  Around and around and around I paced the aisles, trying to find something that would be a treat while avoiding repetition in my stash.  Alas, it was impossible – as much as I wanted to, I couldn’t bring myself to buy anything that I didn’t truly *need* and so I left, (relatively) empty-handed.  However, right across from Sephora lies another temptation – MAC.  And it was then that I had an inspiration – it was finally time to lay down the big bucks and buy the #138 Tapered Face Brush I’ve been lemming for months.  Ringing in at $62.50CDN, this is a serious purchase, the kind I don’t make too often, but after getting home and feeling the ultra-soft bristles across my face, I knew it was going to be well worth the splurge.  Oh yea, baby!My polish purchasing has slowed down considerably since Fall began – I had already picked up all the new shades I’d wanted – and the holiday collections out are leaving my mostly wanting: I’m not into OPI’s Muppets collex at all, nor Orly or Deb Lippmann, and only want a shade or two each from Zoya, Color Club, and the two collections China Glaze has put out this season.  I’m hoping to buy them all online all at once from NailPolishCanada.com, but am waiting on Zoya (as usual) to be up for sale.  In the interim, I’ve picked up the following (from above, left to right): Quo by Orly Cuti-Prep (their version of Orly’s Cutique I think), a-England King Arthur (metallic gunmetal), OPI DS Temptation (gorgeous purple-blue glitter), Joe Fresh Twilight (a sheer black jelly with…multicolored flakies!), and Nicole by OPI Khloe Had a Little Lam Lam (deep teal creme).  I’ve worn Temptation once but with how fast glitters chip it was a short spell.  The other’s I’ve swatched a bit but no full manis – keep your eyes peeled!!Lastly, I had to buy some necessities this month: Aveda Scalp Benefits shampoo (I used up my bottle of Phyto’s Phytolactum + Intelligent Shampoo and needed something to address my majorly seasonal-dry scalp), Boscia Clear Complexion Cleanser (as my bottle of Philosophy Purity is near finished, and I wanted to try something new), Complex 15 Body Lotion (I have the face lotion, and these are just great basic, no-frills moisturizers to have on hand – and the bottle is bigger than my fave Aveeno Eczema Care cream so hopefully it’ll last longer!), and Vaseline Intensive Therapy Soothing Hand Lotion (my Eucerin has run out and I needed a replacement).

So…I think I have done reasonably well keeping the frivolous purchases to a minimum and not significantly adding to my cosmetics inventory – what do you think?  I’ll be doing another empties post in the next few weeks and I think you’ll be sufficiently impressed to let me off the hook 🙂  In the meantime, I’ll be reporting back on the products above and hoping they were worth the purchase!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on November 20, 2011 - 7:15 pm

    Oh, you scored some good deals here. And not frivolous at all! I’m most curious about the Joe Fresh nail polish of all things! Flakies!!! I never see them anywhere around here!

    I’m also interested in the Aveda scalp shampoo. Does it really work? Mine gets awfully dry in the winter as well and I thought sulfate-free shampoos might help.

    The brush is hideously expensive but a worthwhile investment, so I think you did very well. 🙂 Looking forward to that empties post! 😉

    • #2 by Latoya on November 21, 2011 - 9:06 pm

      It’s so strange that neither you nor Eugenia have managed to get your hands on any of these Joe Fresh polishes! Are they just not available at Superstore (or Loblaws or whatever it is you guys have)? Anyway, I’ll be posting this soon, I know how people love a flakie 🙂 I’ve had the Aveda shampoo for about a week now and I haven’t seen anything dramatic, but I’ve only used it twice so I’ll give it some time. I’d love to find a solution as the dryness drives me crazy! And I have a few friends with similar problems. Fingers crossed!

  2. #3 by Eugenia on November 21, 2011 - 10:40 am

    Yay….I love a good beauty haul, even if it’s not mine, lol!! This way, I get to vicariously enjoy the goodies, without feeling guilty that it was me (ok…so I feel a little guilty for having splurged like a wild woman on only 2 measly items yesterday…). I look forward to hearing your thoughts and seeing your swatches of the Joe Fresh polish; I’ve read about this shade, but have yet to come across it myself, so bring it on, please!

    • #4 by Latoya on November 21, 2011 - 9:04 pm

      Oooh I can’t wait to hear about what you splurged on 🙂 And it’s always the best living vicariously, I wish I could do that more often rather than giving in to the urge LOL Definitely keep your eyes peeled for the Joe Fresh polish, I’ll be posting pics soon!!

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

