Another Oldie: Zoya’s Edyta

Though my true love affair with nail polish started about a year and a half ago, I wasn’t as good at posting swatches and reviews of shades until more recently.  Because of this, there is somewhat of a backlog of polishes in my stash that are from previous collections that never got any love – until now.  Only 15 more shades to go! 😛

Here’s (another) polish from Fall 2010 – Zoya’s Edyta, a deep shimmering olive with some serious luminosity goin’ on. With the olive/khaki/army green trend going strong, this still fits the bill, but with a little extra punch – some major shimmer/glitter action!  In the swatch below, it reminds me a bit of a green version of Graphite!Edyta is fairly reflective, and looks almost metallic here, but with the added shimmer particles it steers clear of that territory altogether on the nail.  Gold and green micro-shimmer punctuates the shade and give it more depth than expected at first glance (click the above photo to really see the various colors!).  In the right light, the luminosity really comes to life.As per usual, formulation was Zoya-awesome: two easy flowing, thin coats to opacity – no streaking, pulling, or patchiness.  Removal is a touch of a chore due to the high shimmer content, but nothing truly off-putting.

While Edyta is a beautiful polish, no doubt, my interest in the shade has waned considerably as newer shades have crossed my path.  There are only so many colors that have captured my heart indefinitely – otherwise, they’re just like that quote about friendships coming into your life for “a reason, a season, or a lifetime.”  In this case, it was just a season – and it gave me a lot of joy at that time!  And now……I’m kinda over it 😛

Are there any polishes in your stash that you once loved but now have lost the love?  Do you keep these shades or pass them for other people to appreciate them?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Eugenia on October 17, 2011 - 4:22 pm

    If there’s one shade I would have chosen from that collection, then this one was it! I loved how the colours seemed to meld together in a subtle, yet so utterly sophisticated way! Glad you got around to swatching and posting this one….I’ll enjoy it vicariously through you!!

    • #2 by Latoya on October 17, 2011 - 4:35 pm

      LOL I’m glad you like it Eugenia! I really loved it when I bought it. I still like it enough that I’m gonna hang on to it rather than passing it on. But for right now, there are just too many other shades I’m loving more. I might come back around one day! 🙂

  2. #3 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on October 20, 2011 - 12:29 am

    I always admire Edyta on others but lack the courage to buy it for some reason. I don’t know what it is. However, I think it’s gorgeous on you and your skin tone! The good thing about seasons is they come around again. 😉

    • #4 by Latoya on October 21, 2011 - 6:18 pm

      Thanks, Liz! 🙂 I think that you should try it out, at least look at a swatch on the nail, I think it would look great on you! On my end, I’m so strange, I do like it on my skintone too but I’m so easily bored! But, you’re right, seasons come again and that’s an awesome way to look at it – I won’t stress if I don’t wanna wear it this year – maybe next year I’ll feel differently! I can recognize that it’s a great polish, so I’ll hang on to it and see how it goes 🙂

  1. A Tale of Two (Army) Greens « Beauty Obsessed
  2. A Sneaky Duochrome (Aren’t They All?): Color Club’s Alias « Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

