China Glaze Midtown Magic

Let’s keep the momentum going here – another Fall polish for your viewing pleasure: China Glaze Midtown Magic from the Metro collection!

This was one of my most coveted shades this season, and really the only one I wanted from ‘Metro.’  It’s a deep, dark, rich-looking plummy brown with amazing greeny-gold shimmer throughout.  It does a great job of imitating the way a city looks at night, with all the golden lights shining against an inky sky.  Magic indeed 🙂  Unfortunately, my photos don’t do it justice at all.  Although…I don’t know if the weather happened to be dreary while I was wearing this shade, but in person it didn’t look as magical as it did in other people’s swatches.  But then, on occasion, it would REALLY come to life.  It’s hard to explain exactly what I mean here, I guess ultimately it was a somewhat tempermental shade and didn’t always show it’s best side, though it most certainly has one!

Anyway, here are some pics:In the right lighting, the sparkle is much more intense and gorgeous.  Regardless of my poor photos / bad lighting, this is a great shade that is very wearable with just about anything, and adds a bit of glamour due to the shimmer.  The formulation was good, thicker but flowed easily – however, I did find that it chipped faster than normal on me.  Not too seriously, but just something to note.

Despite me not selling this shade all that well, it really is quite pretty and I think a definite shade to add to anyone’s collection.  It’s relatively unique and perfect for the Fall season (and into Winter, really).  If you can still find it (because it was the one shade that was sold out the first time I went to pick it up), it’s at Chatters salons across Canada, for $6.49 CDN.

I hope everyone had a great weekend!!  Thanks for reading 🙂

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Eugenia on October 4, 2011 - 9:26 am

    You described it so well, Toya! The city at night, indeed…that’s exactly what it looks like! I love how this shade can basically transcend wardrobe styles and how it perfectly melds into the cooler months we’re looking at now; it’s vampy but sophisticated, don’t you think?! No matter what, it looks great on you, girlfriend!

    • #2 by Latoya on October 5, 2011 - 8:00 pm

      Thank you so much Eugenia! I agree, its got a level of sophistication I love! Its got so much going on I think it really works with just about anything. I think this is going to be one of those shades people that didn’t pick it up will be lemming in a big way down the road – glad it won’t be us! 🙂

  2. #3 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on October 5, 2011 - 1:20 am

    I found it at Winners for $5.99 and couldn’t resist despite vowing to resist the entire CG fall collection. We were nail twins for a while, you and I — I was wearing it last week and meant to do a post but time got away from me and a nail broke during a chore, so I just rubbed the whole thing off. But anyway, it’s a FANTASTIC shade. I thought it might be another one of the dark moody shades with a bit of shimmer but there’s depth and complexity to it that had my eyes riveted. I love it and it looks great on you! Great pick!!

    • #4 by Latoya on October 5, 2011 - 8:02 pm

      What was it about the CG collection that you wanted to resist Liz?? Just because its one more thing to tempt us?? LOL I bet this looks awesome on you too, I can just imagine it. I feel like it’s a shade that would look good and striking even in dim lighting, which really appeals to me. It’s definitely just not another dark moody polish!

      • #5 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on October 7, 2011 - 12:04 am

        I think upon first glance I thought the shades weren’t all that unique and kind of repetitive. But I was wrong! And you’re right — this one looks good on everyone. It can’t go wrong! 😀

  1. Nicole by OPI Coca-Cola Collection {review and swatches} | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

