Throwback from Fall 2010: OPI Diva of Geneva

Good morning and Happy Monday!

While we’re being inundated with all the gorgeous nail polish 2011 has to offer, I thought I’d showcase a beautiful polish from last Fall: OPI’s Diva of Geneva from the Swiss collection.  I actually only picked this up a couple months ago – after hearing about it multiple times, I decided to check it out for myself.  Normally these kinds of colors don’t do it for me at all – I’m not a fan of berry shades, and as I’ve mentioned before, I have a dislike for middle of the road shades as they tend to look bland on my skin tone. Its teal counterpart in the Swiss collection, Yodel Me on My Cell, is beautiful in the bottle but the magic just doesn’t translate to my fingers.

Diva of Geneva is an exception to all these rules.

The shimmering tones in this polish are apparent with or without light to display it’s stunning depths.  In some lights it appears more purple, in others, more reddish.  The richness in tone elevates this polish from just a plain old berry shade to something so much more.  See for yourself:This is three thin coats, with no top coat – see how shiny it is on it’s own?? The formulation is very good, a bit thin which is why I did three coats, though if you’re less fussy than I you could definitely get away with two.  I’ve worn this on my toes and it made a terrific end-of-Summer/start-of-Fall pedicure, not flat or boring at all.  On fingers it looks equally as lovely, which as some of you know, isn’t always the case (sometimes a polish looks great on hands only to look less than stellar on toes, or vice versa).  I’m glad I picked up this polish before it was long gone – it’s a great addition to my collection!

Do you say yay or nay to berry shades?  Which colors do you gravitate the most toward?  The least?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Eugenia on September 20, 2011 - 8:43 am

    I’ve always been on the fence about berry shades too; they either look real good on me, or end up a total dud. This looks beautiful on you, Toya….you were right to pick it up! And I don’t mind the thinner formula….I find it easier to control that way!

    • #2 by Latoya on September 20, 2011 - 8:27 pm

      Thanks my dear, I really love it 🙂 And I agree Eugenia – the thinner formula isn’t a drawback for me at all…unless of course, I need like 4-5 coats! But 3 thin coats gives the polish a better depth I think, and since it dries reasonably quickly, its really a non-issue.

  2. #3 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on September 24, 2011 - 7:40 pm

    I love berry shades but I think I consciously stay away in order to keep from overdoing the whole thing. Case in point: the last time I had a love affair with purple, I found myself bedecked in purple glasses, purple blouse with purple nails. Yeah…. so although I loved this shade on the spot, I didn’t pick up this bottle.

    I recall the fantabulous mani/pedi combo! This is a great shade on you and glad you managed to get a hold of it! Now you’ve got me thinking twice about it… lol.

    • #4 by Latoya on September 27, 2011 - 7:23 pm

      Ahahahahah that visual is just too much! Hilarious. But I bet you totally rocked that look! I think you should definitely give this shade another thought, I think it’s one of those polishes that look great on every skin tone, and coupled with the fact that it was a great formulation and with amazing depth of color…I hope to see this swatched on your blog very soon 😀

  1. Swatching ain’t what it used to be: OPI Hawaii Spring 2015 Collection | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

