Review: Illusion d’Ombre Long-Wearing Eyeshadow in Émerveillé

*Disclaimer: the reviews I’ll be writing in the next couple weeks are going to make you want to buy EVERYTHING.  All of the items I’ve picked up in recent weeks have been really stand-out products.*

As I mentioned before, this eyeshadow at first seemed totally dullsville to me in the pot.  I do not gravitate toward neutral shades and typically pick up something with a little pizzazz when I purchase eyeshadow.  However, I am becoming more subdued in my makeup looks and thought this product would be great used as an inner eye highlight or as a quick look just washed over the lid.  It’s warm golden tone is very flattering to my skintone and it makes my eyes look majorly bright and awake without adding color or too much flash (re: shimmer).  As it wasn’t a cheap investment ($37CDN), similar to my thought process with my Giorgio Armani Eyes to Kill Intense Shadow purchase, I figured it would make more sense to go neutral and easily wearable so as to get my money’s worth.Please excuse the fact that I was too eager and put my greedy fingers in the pot before taking photos – I couldn’t help myself!!

First of all, the texture is really lovely.  It’s sort of a gel-mousse combination and feels creamy to the touch and springs back just a bit.  I used my finger to apply but it does come with a brush which I think might be more effective if you’re looking for a more opaque application, as my finger sort of smooshed the product around and didn’t pick up too much pigment.

In natural light

Under indoor lighting

I wore this today in the inner corners of my eyes and all over the lid as a wash, and it’s giving me a seriously awesome glow factor.  I look rested and well put together – but it’s almost like one couldn’t put their finger on exactly why I look so good.  I keep looking at myself in the mirror (sort of a rare thing for me) and I’m majorly impressed.  I can see this being my go-to for most days at the office and any laid-back weekend that requires a quick makeup application.

I applied this at 7am, and it wore easily (sans primer!) without creasing or fading till 9pm. This is amazing to me because it goes on so lightly and sheer; you’d totally think it’d be long gone by lunchtime.  Again, color me impressed!

Since these are not Limited Edition, no need to break a sweat hightailing it to a Chanel counter near you to try it out.  I do, however, highly recommend at least trying them at the counter just to see how wonderful it looks – you will be converted, I have NO doubt.  Even a more outrageous makeup wearer can find uses for this shade.  It’s somewhat of an investment but if you use it everyday, which you WILL, it’s totally worth the splurge.

Have you tried Émerveillé and love it?  If you haven’t, will you give in and pick one up?  How do you view cost vs. wearability – if it’s something you’ll wear often, does that make it worth a higher price tag, or do you tend to be stingy with products that cost more?

Update:  Something crazy happened to this product when it was in a warm environment – note that it wasn’t outside or anything, just taken with me on a vacation where it sat in my cosmetic bag in a trunk, then was sitting on a bathroom counter at a cottage I stayed at.  It was fairly hot – 34 degrees with the humidex – but it wasn’t left outside and it wasn’t particularly hot inside.  But check out what happened!:It totally smooshed to one side!  I guess it makes sense since it’s such a mousse-like product, light and spongy, but I was still a bit surprized when I opened it yesterday to find this happen.  So, just a heads up – probably a good idea to keep it in a cooler environment!!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Eugenia on August 25, 2011 - 8:53 pm

    It’s funny, but the two I DIDN’T buy from these shadows, were the one you reviewed here, and the white one. After reading your review, however, I know without a doubt, that I MUST pick this one up (oh heck…may as well complete the set, am I right?!). I love the idea of a simple wash of colour, one that can be worn just as easily during the day as at night, and that adds that certain “je ne sais quois” factor! Thank you for this detailed report, my dear! You really helped!

    • #2 by Latoya on August 25, 2011 - 9:33 pm

      LOL Obviously just buy them all, so we can eagerly anticipate your awesome, drool-worthy reviews afterward! 🙂 I really think you’ll love this shade, it’s well worth owning and would look absolutely beautiful on you, I just know it!

      • #3 by Eugenia on August 25, 2011 - 10:34 pm

        Awww…..thank you, my friend! Now if only I can sneak it into the house without my husband freaking out over “yet another Chanel eye shadow”……, but he always comes around!

  2. #4 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on August 26, 2011 - 1:18 am

    I was bleeding inside when I decided not to get these shadows. They are sumptuous and amazing… but hearing that they’re permanent made me think twice!! Out of all the shades, I’m most in love with Mirifique, shortly followed by Illusoire. I’m sure I’ll cave at some point but in the mean time, I’ll just enjoy seeing you have a blast with these!!! Can’t wait to see what’s next! 😀

    • #5 by Latoya on August 26, 2011 - 11:24 pm

      If I were just a touch less responsible, I would have picked up a few more of these shadows….but thankfully I was able to control myself 😛 I do hope that you pick one up eventually though, I think you’ll get a lot of use out of it which is the name of the game when we have so many products! 🙂

  1. Wild & Chic Best of Make Up For Ever Kit, Part Three: Aqua Eyes #0L and Aqua Cream #13 « Beauty Obsessed
  2. A Year’s Worth of Favorite Products: My Top Ten of 2011 « Beauty Obsessed
  3. The Fabulosity That Is Chanel Abstraction (And I Was Doing So Well…) « Beauty Obsessed
  4. Empties abound! | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

