Summer Polish Combo: Ocean Hues

Yesterday I pulled from my stash all of the polishes I own that I consider ‘Summer’ shades, as well as all the shades that I have yet to swatch.  I try very hard to at least show one new shade each time I do a polish combination so that I’m keeping you guys interested – I don’t want to bore you with the same old.  However, I am getting down to the wire when it comes to untried colors that are also Summer-appropriate.  I know that the way nail polish is viewed now, all shades are considered seasonless, and I agree with that to a point – but I still love pastels in Spring, brights and aqua blues in the Summer, and deeper, more moody hues in the Fall and Winter.  I just do!  I find for myself, it’s less about ‘following trends’ and more about getting bored with what I have and having my interest captured by the new shades of the coming season.  Call me fickle.  I know it’s true 😛

After staring at my polishes for about half an hour yesterday, trying to make a pairing I was satisfied with, I came up with a combo that says Summer, while still managing to show a shade I haven’t before.  Its a bit deeper than I’d like for the season, but I think it still works.  OPI’s ‘Yodel Me on My Cell’ (on my fingers) was the only polish I picked up from the Swiss Collection this past Winter.  I tend to only choose a shade or two from each collection rather than the whole thing, because I still have an issue with amassing too many ‘dupes’ (or ‘near dupes’) in my collection – I haven’t yet gotten to the point where a shade that’s a hair different than another is considered totally different and therefore I must buy.  I am forever waging the war against my intensely consumerist nature, and my aversion to having too much choice – it stresses me out!

Anyway, I found the other shades in this collection were either too close to what I already owned, or just not flattering for my skin tone.  And I’m also not huge into reds, of which there were 4 or 5 in this collection as I recall.  I somewhat regret not picking up ‘Diva of Geneva’ because I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it, but oh well (*Edit: Picked it up today when I happened to find it at a local salon 🙂  Swatches to come).

YMOMC seemed like an amazing shade when I bought it.  The depth of color in this shimmering aquamarine shade is phenomenal.  Actually, I think DoG is probably the berry pink counterpart to YMOMC – glorious.  That ‘lit from within’ glow that seems to be the catchphrase for these types of polishes. However, after wearing it a few times this Winter, somewhere along the line my love affair abruptly ended.  For whatever reason, it just wasn’t doing it for me anymore.  It seemed boring, and darker than I liked.  So I put it aside, and even put it up on Makeupalley for swap.I hoped this time around maybe my feelings had changed.  I wanted to give it another chance to ‘wow’ me.  Unfortunately, I’m still left unimpressed – something about this color on me seems sooo boring!  I think I dislike middle of the road shades – either be super bright, or very deep, or shimmery, or holo, or…something.  It looks nice enough but I feel like changing it the instant I put it on, it just doesn’t do it for me.The shade on my toes requires less lead-in than YMOMC, as you’ve seen it before – MAC’s Mischevious Mint from Spring’s ‘Quite Cute’ collection.  Still with the same application issues – a bit thick and draggy – but in the end applies fine and I’m still a fan of the color.  Looks great against tanned skin, I think!  And quite complimentary to the aqua hues of my mani, though being ‘Mint’ I guess it’s actually considered a green.  Regardless, I like the pairing.

Details: Manicure – One coat of butter London’s Nail Foundation, three coats of YMOMC, one coat of Seche Vite.  Pedicure – One coat of Sally Hansen Age Correct No Chip Base/Top Coat, two coats of Mischevious Mint, one coat Sally Hansen Insta-Dry Top Coat.

Size & Price:  OPI nail lacquers are 0.5 oz and typically retail for around $9.95CDN.   MAC nail polish are 0.34 oz and retail for $15.00CDN.

Where to Buy: YMOMC is Limited Edition, but I’ve still seen it being sold online and at some salons around Canada/US  (Chatters Salon has one of the larger collections of OPI I’ve seen).  MAC nail polish can be purchased at MAC stores across Canada (here in Halifax, that’s either at The Bay Dartmouth, or Halifax Shopping Centre), or online at Maccosmetics.com. This particular shade is also Limited Edition.

Since I’m struggling a bit with coming up with shade combinations, I’d love to hear your ideas for my next combo!!!  If there’s anything you’d like to see, or a particular combination you know looks great, be sure to give your suggestions in the comments – I’d love to hear ’em!

What are your thoughts on YMOMC?  Do you agree that it’s somewhat lackluster?  Or are these kinds of shades just your cup of tea? 

Ciao for now, everyone!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dawn on August 3, 2011 - 4:05 pm

    Love the colour on your fingernails. Love the name too!

    • #2 by Latoya on August 3, 2011 - 4:13 pm

      Hehe yea, it’s cute. Thanks man! I’m gonna wear it for a few days and see how I feel. I keep waffling back and forth between thinking it’s nice and thinking it’s dull!

  2. #3 by Dawn on August 3, 2011 - 4:14 pm

    I think it would also be a nice end-of-summer/early fall colour for your toes.

    • #4 by Latoya on August 3, 2011 - 4:32 pm

      Definitely Fall, it’s such a nice jewel tone!!

  3. #5 by Eugenia on August 3, 2011 - 11:53 pm

    I think both shades look totally HOT on you; I’m a freak for teal anything, so you seriously can’t go wrong in my book, wearing a shade like Yodel Me On My Cell (seriously, OPI’s beginning to annoy me with these novel-long names!) and I think by putting the lighter shade on the toes, you have kept it as definitely more of a “summer” look. The reverse (dark on toes, light on fingers), may be a touch more fall-like, but let’s not go there just yet, shall we? Us Canadian gals are all too familiar with that season and we try to hang on to summer way past its due date….hence your summer combo! Love it!!

    • #6 by Latoya on August 4, 2011 - 5:58 pm

      I think you’re just so darn sweet that you’d say something nice about any polish I wear (or anyone else for that matter!) 🙂 I’m glad you like it, my dear…I am awfully hard on my polishes, it seems! And I agree, while I love Fall in a big way, I don’t want to say goodbye to Summer just yet, so if I can hang on to it one way or another, I’m gonna do so!!

      • #7 by Eugenia on August 4, 2011 - 9:53 pm

        My personal motto, is to try and find at least one positive in every situation; might sound a touch unrealistic, but I like to always look at my glass as half full, and have learned to take the time to simply “appreciate”. Life has many negatives and I won’t willingly compound that by dissing something just because I have a medium to do so. It’s much more fun being upbeat and remember: what goes around, comes around. I thoroughly enjoy all your posts, and am being 100% up front with you with all my comments, my dear….you deserve to have nice things said as who you are always shines through in your words! I appreciate YOU!! (got a box of Kleenex handy after this reply? LOL!!! I can be such a corn-ball, huh?!) Hugs!

      • #8 by Latoya on August 5, 2011 - 11:36 am

        ~Speechless~ How can I write a follow-up reply after that?? LOL I don’t think that being optimistic is ever a negative, regardless if it means that sometimes we’re unrealistic! I prefer to be happy as it tends to make everything that follows feel like a positive too, no matter what it is. So, keep on with the good vibes girl 🙂 And thank you for sticking with me and continuing to come back to read the blog…truly, I appreciate it more than I can say! I love all your comments and they mean a lot.

        Just you wait till I get to Montreal (which hopefully will be soon – I have a friend in Ottawa and we’re planning to do a lil trip to Montreal in the near future!)…we will definitely have to have a sit-down, in-person chat. Can’t wait!!!!!

  4. #9 by Eugenia on August 6, 2011 - 9:53 pm

    YAY!!! I would be so thrilled! You just keep me posted on when that day arrives, and we’ll have a chance to play and talk shop!!

  1. Throwback from Fall 2010: OPI Diva of Geneva « Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

