Summer Polish Combo (They Just Keep Comin’!): Neon & Nude

This’ll be a quickie post as I should head to bed soon – I have another wedding tomorrow in the Valley I have to head to early in the AM.  This will be the 5th wedding I’ve done the makeup for, 4th one I’ve attended since the end of June…phew!  They’ve all been SO much fun, but I’m glad to have them almost all behind me.  It’s been a really, really busy Summer so far.

Again, this combo was done in preparation for my wedding attire tomorrow – a navy blue one-shoulder body skimming dress I got on sale at Jacob at Christmastime but have not yet worn.  I didn’t want to go too ‘standard’ since the dress isn’t too crazy, but I wanted to still look classy – just with an edge.  I wandered into American Apparel today and picked up one of their neon polishes, a pretty magenta shade called ‘Neon Violet.’  I used to have an almost identical shade from Zoya back in the day called ‘Charisma,’ which was a matte and it chipped within hours.  Drove me nuts – I swapped it away last year.  This actually has a satin finish rather than glossy, so it looks similar in that way too.

Anyway, enough chat 😛  Here’s ‘Neon Violet’ paired with OPI’s ‘San Tan-tonio’ from their Texas Collection:The second shot is more accurate, with the neon being slightly more pink in person.

Here’s a few pics of the polishes on their own:

If you notice a lil twist to San Tan., you win a prize! (No, not really.  But good eye! :))  I added a coat of CND’s ‘Copper Shimmer’ on top to give it a bit of a kick.  I have not NOT used this top coat nearly enough (or…at all.  This might be the first time) and it’s really beautiful.  As I’ve mentioned before though, typically I’m more into cremes so that’s a contributing factor.

Details:  One coat of butter London Nail Foundation and two coats of polish for both mani & pedi.  Additional one coat of Copper Shimmer over mani, and one coat of Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat over both mani & pedi.

Size & Price:  American Apparel polishes are 0.5 oz and retail for $7.50 CDN a bottle (3 for $18).  OPI polish are also 0.5 oz and ranges from $9-14 CDN.  CND polish (Effects line) is 0.33 oz and are about $14 CDN.

Where to Buy:  A. Apparel polishes can be found at – surprise! – A. Apparel stores worldwide.  OPI polish is EVERYWHERE…lol in Halifax at least you can find the best selection at Chatters Salons.  CND polishes can be a be tricky to find – your best bet in Halifax is to order them from spaboutique.ca.

I’m enjoying this pairing a lot (though I just put it on about 30 minutes ago!).  I really like ‘Neon Violet’ and I think it’s a good transitional shade from season to season – not so neon that it’s restricted to just Summer.  Application for N.Violet was pretty great – two coats easily applied, though you could almost get away with one, which is typical for A.Apparel polishes.  I’ve previously discussed my feelings on San Tan here.   ‘Copper Shimmer’ is my only CND polish, but if it’s any indication, they have an absolutely fabulous formula – perfect thickness and a dream to apply.

How do you feel about top coats that change the look of your polish?  And neon polish – awesome or too much of an 80’s throwback?

I have to get up in 6 hours and I need my beauty rest, so that’s it for now.  I hope all is well for everyone, have a great weekend!!!

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Eugenia on July 30, 2011 - 4:23 pm

    Toya, you really do have the cutest toesies, you know that?! Lol!! The combo is super – fun and elegant at the same time, and I think it’ll look smashing with that dress you described! Enjoy yourself, be sparkling & have a celebratory drink for me too! 🙂

    • #2 by Latoya on August 1, 2011 - 8:39 pm

      Wouldn’t you know it ladies, I forgot my dress at home :S So I did NOT have the outfit to back up the fun nails LOL I couldn’t BELIEVE I did that! But I had a premonition I would, which is odd. I guess I know myself too well 😛

      Thank you all for the comment on my toes! Haha 🙂 Makes me feel better about flashing them on the blog.

      @ Lavilla: Thanks for checking it out!! If you ever want to see anything, let me know 🙂 And you can borrow polish anytime lol

      @ Liz: Neon Violet is such a fun shade! And I think it’s purple enough that I can pull it off in a few different seasons and not just Summer. Knowing you, I bet your toes are totally cute and you’re being hard on yourself! But I will keep rocking out the combos, so you don’t have to lol. Although, it’s getting tricky to find new shades to show that are Summer-worthy, without buying them all the time!!!

  2. #3 by Lavilla on July 31, 2011 - 11:49 am

    I was thinking the same thing about your toes haha ; ) First time I’ve gotten to read your blog, it’s great Latoya! I really like the gold color on your nails above – will have to check it out!

  3. #4 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on July 31, 2011 - 11:37 pm

    Wow, you’re turning into quite the pro! And I love the sound of your dress – sounds smashing with the mani/pedi combo. I really like Neon Violet and think it’s such a fun shade for the toes! And I agree with Eugenia that your toes are super cute, lol. I’ve tried taking pics of my feet and they all turn out really yucky looking so I haven’t bothered after a few tries. Keep the polish combos coming! There’s still a month of summer left!! 😀

  1. Girl’s Night: Mani/Pedi Fun! « Beauty Obsessed
  2. China Glaze Summer Neons Collection: Part I (Swatches and Review) « Beauty Obsessed
  3. Nicole by OPI Coca-Cola Collection {review and swatches} | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

