First New Nail Polish in 6 Weeks! MAC: Mischievous Mint

I don’t know if its just because I’m scrambling to catch up with all the new polish releases in the past month, but I just haven’t been swept up by the polish bug like I usually am – which is especially odd considering I can’t seem to stop buying just about everything.  The only shade I’ve come across in my travels that caught my eye was from MAC’s Quite Cute collection: Mischievous Mint.  Behold:

Very Easter Egg-y/Spring-like.  The color is growing on me.  When I tried it on at the store, I liked it immediately, but once I had a whole mani in it, I wasn’t as sure.  It’s got that whole Chanel Riva thing going on, which I actually didn’t fall for in the first place.  However, I find that it’s just such a cheerful, fun shade that I can’t help but like it!  Application was a bit tricky – this is three coats and there were some areas I probably could have used a fourth.  A bit draggy.  It leveled out OK though which was the main thing.  Formula was typical MAC – somewhat thicker but still relatively easy to apply.  No complaints so far!  Top coat is my new Seche Vite, which I picked up at Sally due to high praise from Liz  of Beauty Reductionista, and happened to also be on sale 🙂  I actually am in no panic to remove this shade so it might actually last more than 2-3 days!

What do you think of this particular shade?  I seem to be gravitating toward pastel-type colors this season, rather than the brights that are popular lately – which camp do you fall in?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on April 27, 2011 - 6:35 pm

    Yay, a shoutout! And I picked up this same nail polish though nothing else from the Quite Cute Collection! Psychic friends? 😉

    I haven’t tried it yet though and am disappointed that it’s another 3-coater. But I expected as much. How did you like the Seche Vite? Is it not amazing?!?

    • #2 by Latoya on April 28, 2011 - 9:36 am

      That’s so weird!! And awesome 🙂 I am totally digging the S Vite, not a smudge or dent to be had! And oh so glossy. I held out on this for so long for whatever reason and I’m not sure why, but thank you for getting my butt in gear!

  2. #3 by Eugenia on April 28, 2011 - 11:46 am

    I picked up this one too, as well as the lavender one, “Little Girl Type”..but I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t even taken them out of their boxes yet (yikes!)…and nothing else. Somehow, MAC hasn’t been ringing my bells lately, although I feel a stirring of excitement for their upcoming “Surf Baby” collection…I agree with Liz about Seche Vite being amazing! Wish there was a Sally’s here in Montreal….sigh….!!

  3. #4 by Liz (Beauty Reductionista) on April 28, 2011 - 2:41 pm

    I’m also feeling rather “meh” on the MAC collections. I like the look of the blush in the Surfer line but that’s about it. Not crazy about the little girl packaging, either. Does it look to you guys like they’re appealing to the tweens and teenage market rather than grown adults with money in their pockets?

    Glad you’re enjoying the SV, Latoya!

  4. #5 by Eugenia on April 29, 2011 - 11:29 am

    Didn’t think of it that way Liz, but you may be on to something about MAC aiming at a younger set (PS: they don’t need the money in their pockets when mom & dad buy everything for them anyway…I have a teenage daughter so I speak from experience…lol!) But other than that, I find the quality has gone down and it’s like they’re simply regurgitating their colours…but my biggest beef is that they release way too many collections; it’s lost it’s cachet for me because of that. There’s no sense of excitement/anticipation any more….either that or I’ve become jaded!

    • #6 by Latoya on April 30, 2011 - 2:05 pm

      @ Liz – you’re right, they’re definitely catering to the younger market! 90% of the time I hate the LE packaging too, it looks so cheap and obnoxious.
      @ Eugenia – the quality has definitely decreased, which makes complete sense since they’re pumping out like, 4 collections each month! It’s absolutely ludicrous and it’s turned me off quite a bit. Aside from this nail polish, which I just happened upon because 1) I was at the counter, and 2) I hadn’t bought a nail polish in AGES, if I buy anything from MAC it’s from their permanent line. And again, I probably really only picked anything up because it had been so long. It’s overkill to the extreme, kind of like when J Lo was dating Ben Affleck – it was too much all the time and the world needed a break. MAC needs to chill out and get back to being good at what they do – making makeup interesting and fun.

      Oh, and the nail polish by the way chips a bit easily, unfortunately 😦

  1. Summer Polish Combo: Ocean Hues « Beauty Obsessed
  2. Summer Favorites (I Couldn’t Pick Just One!) « Beauty Obsessed
  3. The Times, They Are A Changin’ « Beauty Obsessed
  4. Celebrating the Arrival of Spring With New(ish) Nail Polish Pretties! | Beauty Obsessed
  5. Summer Polish Combo: Mint and Red | Beauty Obsessed

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

