Snowstorm = BOREDOM!

So, it’s been snowing  like mad since about 2pm and I’m house-bound, currently watching ‘Dexter’ to pass the time (well, and also because it’s AWESOME).  The funny thing is, it’s not like I’d necessarily be out running the roads, but because I CAN’T really go out, its making me a little stir-crazy!  Plus, I want to paint my nails soo bad but I gotta hold off for now so they’re fresh for the apartment crawl I’m attending Friday night.  It will be my first wear of the Lippmann polish I picked up before Christmas, Nefertiti (it’s no Across the Universe but it’ll hold me over for now).  I’m sitting here, staring at my polish and rocking back and forth slightly, and decided that to appease myself temporarily, I’m going to make a list of my polish collection.  Lists are pretty much my fave thing ever, particularly when I’m bored, so here we go (click on the photos to enlarge):

Pink/Coral/Peach

OPI Pompeii Purple, L.A. Colors Magnetic Force, China Glaze Peachy Keen

Reds

China Glaze Ruby Pumps, Rimmel Burgundy Flirt, L’Oreal Rendezvous, butter London Come to Bed Red, OPI Monsooner or Later

*FYI Monsooner or Later is more orange than the photo shows

Purples/Plums

OPI ??? (shade sticker fell off), OPI DS Extravagance, Zoya Valerie, OPI Tease-y Does It, OPI Merry Midnight, Sally Hansen Vixen, Revlon Plum Night, Lise Watier Violet Dore, Chanel Paradoxal

*The nature of Tease-Y is hard to capture, but it’s just a richly hued shimmering brown-plum.  Violet Dore is actually lighter on the nail than it appears in the bottle – a pale purple with lots of gold sparkle.

Blues/Greens

L.A. Colors Wired, MAC Ming Blue, American Apparel Peacock, OPI Yodel Me on My Cell, OPI Catch Me in Your Net (mini), L.A. Colors Atomic, Essie Pretty Edgy

Silvers/Holographic

OPI My Private Jet (new version, boo), Icing Blackout, Revlon Steel-Her Heart, H&M French Smoke, OPI DS Coronation, GOSH Holographic, Sally Hansen Urban Chic

*The above better show the holographic nature of the polishes – but see how little holo the new MPJ has?

Olives/Golds

Zoya Edyta, China Glaze Peace on Earth, Lippmann Collection Nefertiti, OPI Bring on the Bling

Browns

GOSH Golden Brown, OPI Holiday Glow, China Glaze Ingrid

Miscellaneous

China Glaze Party Hearty, Orly Space Cadet, Essie Jazz, Sally Hansen Petal Pusher, Sally Hansen Whirlwind White

As you can see, the bulk of my polishes are mainly plummy shades with a fair dash of blues.  I really only have one green, Pretty Edgy, and I haven’t worn it once – and don’t really plan to (I bought it b/c it was 1/2 off and I thought I could swap it :P).  Greens in my experience do NOT work well with my skin so I make a habit not to even give them a second glance.   Also, you’ll notice my pretty ‘summer’ shades are very limited.  This is due to my polish addiction only really beginning in late Summer when all the Fall polishes were coming out.  This year will be different 🙂

So, the tally is up to 43.  We’ll see what kind of damage I can do after the Spring collections are all out!! 

Any shades that you’ve tried or caught your eye?

,

  1. #1 by Eugenia on January 12, 2011 - 10:43 pm

    You have quite an impressive collection considering you only got into it this past summer…congrats! You also have several shades I never got around to picking up so now I have to add even more to my ever-growing list! One can never have too much of any beauty product….especially nail polish!! PS: another fellow Canadian beauty blogger…yay!!

  2. #2 by toyarosie on January 13, 2011 - 8:01 pm

    Exciting! Nice to meet you, Eugenia 🙂 I know what you mean about adding to the expanding list…I have a love/hate relationship with buying polish – there are so many great colors and I enjoy the ‘collecting’ part, but then I get a little panicky when I look at all the shades. How will I ever give them all the attention they deserve? LOL… And I’m only getting started! Ah well, there could be worse things to spend our money/time on, right?!

  3. #3 by Beauty Reductionista on January 13, 2011 - 10:06 pm

    I’ve been sorely tempted by some of the ones in your collection and still regret passing up Paradoxal! I love the purples especially as well. What do you think about the upcoming Chanel Black Pearl? Yay or nay? I’m on the fence until I check it out in person.

    Also, snowed in days with DVDs and nail polish? My dream leisure day.

  4. #4 by toyarosie on January 18, 2011 - 10:34 pm

    I feel similarly to you regarding the Black Pearl polish – I’m going to have to see it for myself. Although, from looking at swatches online, I don’t think it’ll be one I’ll pick up…though you just never know till you can see it in person!

...And what do you have to say about all this?? Dish! :)

